We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castle on the hill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Dei Castelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Castle on the hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel hit the wow factor for my husband and I. We stayed only two nights, would have loved longer. The room was sparce, but spacious, in keeping with an old castle, with a large bathroom, shower over bath. The restaurant was good, we ate there for all breakfasts and dinner. On our last night the staff advised us of lobster which wasn't on the menu, it was delicious. And the view is stunning. There is so much to explore, the gardens, the tunnels, walk around the cliff top, and the private beach. The weather wasn't kind to us, but it was still glorious. Staff are very friendly everywhere. The lift down to the street is rather cool, and the town itself is just delightful. A stay with a difference, not your typical hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank skydivergirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    110
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
58
193
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were not as impressed as others. The castle has been well restored, but some of the internal furnisihings are rather pretentious. Our room was spacious and cool, but had low quality bath products and a cheap, ill fitting jacuzzi. Very helpful and smiling staff, particularly in the breakfast room, but why are hotels in this category still serving tinned fruit and when they ran out of a small bowl of strawberries, couldn't replace them. There was a very scruffy solarium with tired looking sunbeds and no shade. Perhaps the worst aspect are the lifts which take you down to a disappointing beach and another to the town. If you are at all claustrophobic, these lifts are off limits and you have to get used to a very steep climb up and down to the town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

After a thorough search for a hotel in the town we coincidentally found this most adourable place. A historic structure that has been converted to an hotel has a magnificient view of the village. We stayed at suite nr. 66 that incorporates a large terrace situated towards north and east where you can enjoy the stunning view of the sun rising behind the mountains. The suite was clean, fairly furnished, however the sanitary equipment in the shower and bathroom needs to be checked. Service at breakfast was satisfactory, however the food served lacked the variety we are used to see at luxury hotels. Overall the hotel is worth staying especially for its ambience and magnificient location. Prices although not cheap is acceptable considering that it is the high season.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuncer-Kayalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Magnificent views, ambiance and what a location on top of the hill. Staff made us feel so welcome and couldn't do enough for us. Would recommend this hotel highly and will definitely be back as food was good and reasonably priced and we relaxed ++

Room Tip: We had a room at the front which overlooked Sestri Levanti and what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We both thought that this hotel was truly excellent. The location is magnificent, though do take a taxi if you are coming by train as the hotel is up a very steep hill on the peninsula. The staff were charming and made us feel very welcome. The views from the hotel were superb. We only ate at the hotel for breakfasts, and these were good. Again, the restaurant staff were very welcoming. All staff spoke excellent English, as we could not speak Italian. The bedroom on the top floor was very spacious, as was the bathroom. Of the five hotels we stayed at in Italy and France this was undoubtedly the best (we booked through Railbookers). Very much recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was 306, above the main entrance, so would recommend that. Cannot comment on other rooms. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were staying elsewhere in Sestri Levante but came up to the hotel for afternoon tea. Obviously the place to be. Young Italian girl and her family celebrating her first communion. Friendly staff and for the location and views great value

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is an old castle and the location and the view are just amazing. Walking inside it looks like living in a fairy tale. The rooms are big and so are the bathroom, including a Jacuzzi. A little far walking from restaurants in Sestri Levante.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renato28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#4 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#1 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#7 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#2 of 22 in Sestri Levante
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dei Castelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dei Castelli

Property: Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
Address: Via Peninsula 26, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sestri Levante
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dei Castelli 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Dei Castelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sestri Levante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing