We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL, GREAT STAFF, GOOD LOCATION”
Review of Grande Albergo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Albergo
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL, GREAT STAFF, GOOD LOCATION”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I stayed with our three teenage boys for three nights. I really agonized over where to stay on the Ligurian coast. I made a good choice with this hotel in this town. The staff were kind and very patient with all of our questions. In particular, a young man with a nice beard, I think his name was Andrea, spent quite a bit of time arranging a morning of mountain biking for two sons in Porto Fino. Roof top pool was clean if a bit shallow for teens. A very happy man takes care of the bar up there. Hobiecat rental is right out front. Hotel suggestion to eat at Don Luigi was great. Our room, with a "lateral" view had enough of a view to be quite pleasing. Hotel is nice, breakfast was good in a nice garden. I also liked that Sestri Levante as it was not too small of a place with an easy train to the Cinque Terra.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    104
    67
    34
    13
See reviews for
64
135
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Feels like an old hotel that has been done up, approx 20years ago, rooms were clean but tired. It might have been 4 stars years ago, but now had lost a star!!. We went there the last week of May, and the swimming pool was closed, did not open until the 1st of June, the day we were leaving. It did have a good view of Sestri.

Room Tip: We had a dual aspect room on the first floor, which was reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GennyCope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have been so many times in Sestri Levante and slept in lots of Hotels.
At the end of the day I decided this is the best place. The rooms are nice, the staff very friendly and the location is simply strategic...facing the sea, 20 meter from the carrugio and close to the station. You do not really need to bring your car if you sleep here.
And, last but not least, the prices are good compared to the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here recently.

The place I originally booked, which was expensive, was a total let down and i was looking for somewhere, desperately, when I stumbled upon the Grande Albergo. Its position and facade made me think it would be more expensive than the place I was at. It was a pleasant surprise to find they had a room to accomodate me and at a much cheaper rate. Great! I changed hotels and my holiday just went from bad to better and better.

The staff here were unbelieveably helpful, friendly and accommodating. My room was very comfortable, well appointed, lovely little balcony overlooking the park. Breakfast was great with a good assortment of food. The roof top pool was an oasis with magnificent views of the sea and the town. The complimentary bikes were a great way to get out and explore this wonderful little village. (What a magnificent building the police station is) The train station was great and staff there helpful with train tickets and info etc.

I would like to think I will visit Sestri Lavante again and if I do I will be sure to stay at the Grande Albergo, thank you for saving my holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandealbergo, Direttore at Grande Albergo, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Wendy W,

thank you for your wonderful review.
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again next year.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
836 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,420 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Not exactly grandiose as its name would suggest, just big... The building is nice and quite imposing, but its lobby is very very small. The check in process was slow and not that professional but staff made it up during check out in which they were pretty helpful with infos on trains and transport. The room I was given is minuscule, with no view at all and the shower did not work properly. Breakfast... closes at 10 AM, which is VERY early for a weekend / holiday place and I had no chances to try it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sestri Levante hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pietrasanta, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

For the price (over $200.00) a lot left to be desired: View from the room? a black covered cement structure perhaps a vent system, moldy shower curtains and mold smell in the room, no air conditioning, a tiny bar of soap, thin cotton towels like napkin material (one bath one for a couple), one small garbage can, slippery bathroom floor, very small bathroom with no place to put things, TV did not work.
Positive? great town, great gelato places, great Mediterranean Sea, wonderful narrow streets without cars, good pasta and beer everywhere.

Room Tip: upper floor, with a view especially with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandealbergo, Direttore at Grande Albergo, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest,

i'm sorry for the problems you have found.
For the view, probally, you have booked a standard or economy room, only 4/5 rooms have this particularities. It is a cupola in iron and glass, nothing in cement.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just returned from hol with Gret Rail Journeys. Hotel much better than expected from overview of previous reviews. Room was cleanest hotel room have been in. Kept window closed at night so no trouble with Mosquitos, but if had been very hot weather may have been an issue as air con not working. Bed large and comfy, clean linen every day, housekeeping staff and reception staff very friendly. Breakfast OK. Orange juice as reported previously was from machine that occasionally ran out of concentrate - hence wateriness. Just had to ask staff to replace - no problem. Coffee fine too. Biggest lack was fresh fruit. Only tinned available!! Standard of evening meals excellent though service poor when restaurant busy. Swimming pool great and views from roof superb. Didn't use beach but at 24 euros per day for two sunbeds felt it was a bit pricey! Sadly the bay of Sestri is spoilt by the bathing huts which fence off any view of the sea for anyone not paying to use a private beach.

Room Tip: If want to use pool area easily further floor allows quick access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandealbergo, Direttore at Grande Albergo, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest,

thank a lot for your review.
I hope to see you again at Grande Albergo for your nest trip.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#6 of 22 in Sestri Levante
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
#13 of 22 in Sestri Levante
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#2 of 22 in Sestri Levante
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#4 of 22 in Sestri Levante
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#7 of 22 in Sestri Levante
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo

Property: Grande Albergo
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 2, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Grand Albergo Hotel! Overlooking the sea promenade of Sestri Levante, The Grande Albergo is now a landmark in tourism and the Gulf of Tigullio. Completely renovated in 2003, this late '19th Century historic building, has 70 rooms including 4 junior suites, all equipped with modern amenities such as internet Wi-Fi. A great base to discover the most striking places of Liguria, such as the beautiful Cinque Terre and the timeless Portofino, The Grande Albergo offers the resources to spend a relaxing holiday, whether enjoying cocktails from the panoramic swimming pool, located on the roof of the building, or simply from the balcony of one's room. The different types of rooms, from sea view to overlooking the peaceful garden, will satisfy all types of requests and our staff will be only too happy to liase and organize all the extra activities available, such as cultural visits, excursions and sports. Don't hesitate to book your holiday now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Albergo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Sestri Levante Hotel Sestri Levante
Grande Albergo Hotel Sestri Levante
Sestri Levante Grande Albergo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing