We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Grande Albergo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Albergo
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is located directly across the street from the beach.
Beautiful location indeed.

Check-in was swift and the front desk staff were friendly and professional.
The main lobby was nicely furnished with plenty of comfortable sofas and chairs.

Our room was clean and comfortable but somewhat dated.
It appeared as if the room had been remodeled sometime in the past and is due for an up-date.
The bathroom was very narrow and the shower was a step up with glass folding doors.
This presented a potential safety hazard when stepping down.

The breakfast was well stocked and nicely presented.
The Grande Albergo is conveniently located close to everything including the train station.

We were traveling with a tour group and most of our fellow travelers had a pleasant stay at the Grande Albergo Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very pleasant with my stay at this Hotel, greeting staff good service. The beach was really nice and have nothing else then good comments and thought's about Grande Albergo!we spendt a week there!the location of the hotel is perfect between the city centre and the sea!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I spent seven nights here - the Grande Albergo has style, character and a wonderful position. The staff were very helpful, the breakfast superb. Drawbacks were the towels, which were not much use, and the dinner menu. I was on a tour and we ate out every evening, but for a vegetarian like me the hotel dinner menu was not at all appealing - the only possible main dish on several evenings was fried egg! Sestri Levante is a fascinating place and the hotel staff had helpfully left some tourist information booklets in the room, which I found invaluable as a supplement to my guide-book. I would gladly stay in the Grande Albergo again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerengariaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for a week and were really pleased given some of the other reviews we read beforehand. The reception staff were helpful/friendly, the room was great (no seaview but then we weren't expecting one), the bathroom had everything we needed and the breakfast was an adequate start to the day.

The hotel's location is ideal - close to the promenade and the town centre and the public rooms were very comfortable.

Some of the lower-floor occupants complained about early morning street noise and late night disturbance from the function suite but - on the 4th floor - we were completely unaffected.

A couple of quirks: Our wardrobe contained a large collection of empty plastic bottles (which was even larger by the time we left!) and the wifi didn't seem to have much range. Neither of these detracted from the enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: Surprisingly, I would avoid the lower floors, particularly at the front. (see above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ardgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Grand Albergo is situated in a prime position on the sea-front road in Sestri Levante. Check-in was swift and efficient, and the pleasantness and efficiency of the reception staff was a feature throughout our stay.
Our room was small but adequate with a pleasant balcony. There were some surprising omissions. There was no in-room guide to the room itself or the hotel. There was a small piece of paper stuck near the telephone with some extension numbers and a few television channels, but this in no way compensated for the absence of the more comprehensive guide which has been a standard feature of hotel rooms for many years.The other unexpected omission was the absence of any facial tissues/paper hankies in the room or bathroom, again a standard provision for many years. The bedroom was air-conditioned, but the air-conditioning unit itself was extremely noisy. After two nights of very disturbed sleep we discovered how to turn it off - I'm sure the non-existant room guide would have told us this.
The bathroom was a problem. It was very compact with little space for toiletries etc. The shower cubicle was quite small, and this exacerbated the major problem with the shower, the complete lack of stability of the temperature. This would vary at random from cold to dangerously hot, and the small size of the cubicle made it difficult to avoid. This is a major problem because of the safety implications. The step down from the shower was also quite high and there was a significant possibility of slipping.
The breakfast was of average quality, but sitting in the outside part of the restaurant made it a pleasure. Unfortunately although breakfast was scheduled to start at 07.30 the restaurant was only partially set up at that time and attempting to go outside was rebuffed quite rudely.
In contrast the service in the bar was always friendly and excellent, and the prices were reasonable.
Overall this has the potential to be a good hotel but its drawbacks are very obvious at present.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanHYarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I stayed with our three teenage boys for three nights. I really agonized over where to stay on the Ligurian coast. I made a good choice with this hotel in this town. The staff were kind and very patient with all of our questions. In particular, a young man with a nice beard, I think his name was Andrea, spent quite a bit of time arranging a morning of mountain biking for two sons in Porto Fino. Roof top pool was clean if a bit shallow for teens. A very happy man takes care of the bar up there. Hobiecat rental is right out front. Hotel suggestion to eat at Don Luigi was great. Our room, with a "lateral" view had enough of a view to be quite pleasing. Hotel is nice, breakfast was good in a nice garden. I also liked that Sestri Levante as it was not too small of a place with an easy train to the Cinque Terra.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Feels like an old hotel that has been done up, approx 20years ago, rooms were clean but tired. It might have been 4 stars years ago, but now had lost a star!!. We went there the last week of May, and the swimming pool was closed, did not open until the 1st of June, the day we were leaving. It did have a good view of Sestri.

Room Tip: We had a dual aspect room on the first floor, which was reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GennyCope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 21 in Sestri Levante
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Sestri Levante
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#3 of 21 in Sestri Levante
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#7 of 21 in Sestri Levante
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
#12 of 21 in Sestri Levante
355 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#1 of 21 in Sestri Levante
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 2, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range: £126 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Grand Albergo Hotel! Overlooking the sea promenade of Sestri Levante, The Grande Albergo is now a landmark in tourism and the Gulf of Tigullio. Completely renovated in 2003, this late '19th Century historic building, has 70 rooms including 4 junior suites, all equipped with modern amenities such as internet Wi-Fi. A great base to discover the most striking places of Liguria, such as the beautiful Cinque Terre and the timeless Portofino, The Grande Albergo offers the resources to spend a relaxing holiday, whether enjoying cocktails from the panoramic swimming pool, located on the roof of the building, or simply from the balcony of one's room. The different types of rooms, from sea view to overlooking the peaceful garden, will satisfy all types of requests and our staff will be only too happy to liase and organize all the extra activities available, such as cultural visits, excursions and sports. Don't hesitate to book your holiday now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Albergo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Sestri Levante Hotel Sestri Levante
Grande Albergo Hotel Sestri Levante
Sestri Levante Grande Albergo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing