We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUG INFESTATION”
Review of Grande Albergo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Albergo
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We chose this hotel based on several other ratings across multiple websites, as well as the location, amenities, and the four-star rating. Unfortunately, the first night we stayed there, my husband and I woke up at 3:30 in the morning all itchy. We turned the lights on only to realize the entire bed was covered in bed bugs. We informed the receptionist and at first he said they were mosquitos, but we caught a few in a cup and brought them downstairs as proof…he quickly gave us a new room and promised things would be resolved in the morning. By the time we switched rooms, showered, and checked the new bed for bugs, it was already 6am so we didn’t get much sleep that first night. In the morning, based on the fact that in total we both had over 100 bites, it was clear that this bug problem was advanced (plus the bugs were all sizes, indicating there were multiple generations of bugs living in the bed). This brings me to the next disappointing fact about this hotel. There was clearly a lack of communication, as well as extreme passivity and avoidance of the problem. None of the hotel staff were willing to make any effort to fix the problem. They continued to say that they were ‘looking into it’ or that ‘they never had a problem like this’, but weren’t willing to offer any help or definite response to the problem. We were the ones constantly taking initiative—we were the ones going out of our way to ensure that this problem was resolved. When we asked to speak to the manager, their response every time was ‘she’s coming, we will tell you when she arrives’, yet we never heard from them nor were able to speak with her. Not only were we tired and in extreme discomfort due to these bites, but the hotel staff were unapologetic and made us fight to get any response from them. They claimed that they couldn’t offer us a refund due to ‘legal issues’, yet in the end, after several conversations, they finally agreed to refund us for one night. This seems to suggest that their initial response about their hands being tied due to legal issues was false—only to reiterate that the staff would do anything to avoid responsibility as well as attempt to intimidate the customer in hopes that they give up or go away. Honestly I hate the idea of writing bad reviews (in fact, I’ve never felt strongly enough to ever write a negative review) and this hotel is great in terms of location, but based on the bed bug infestation, as well as the way that the staff treat the guests, this hotel should barely be a 1-star rating rather than the 4. If you do choose to stay here, please please please check the bed frame and mattress before settling in. And don’t expect a hospitable response should things go awry.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeAlbergo, Direttore at Grande Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

There were some bed bugs, but has been treated by a specialist. The bed replaced.
The lady demanded a refund of € 233 otherwise she wrote on tripadvisor. We paid, but she lied, she just wanted money back. This is a scam.
We was not aware of this problem and was not aware of the nature of the insects, being the first time that we saw. We had to do some research and consult experts before understand the problem.
THE PROBLEM WAS RESOLVED.
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

My daughter and I checked in to this hotel on July 19,2014 . Our room was listed as a "courtyard view" The courtyard is actually a service corridor on the inner side of the hotel. When we entered our room we were greeted by a terrible smell of mold and mildew. I went to the front desk to ask for a different room but was told there were none other available. They sent 3 housekeeping staff to the room to check out my complaint. The housekeeper told me there was mold in the walls from poor drainage of rain water. They left us some air freshener. As we had no other place to go we stayed in the room. We hated coming back to the room at the end of the day as the smell was overwhelming. The décor was terribly out of date and worn. I would never stay at this hotel again!!
The only saving grace was the rooftop pool area which was nice. You cannot even use the beach in front of the hotel without being charged 38 euros to use a chair. if you want a beach towel it is 5 euros. Not even close to good value for the money. Avoid!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelgalBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeAlbergo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grande Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are really sorry for the inconvenience we caused, unfortunatly, the problem was produced by the heavy rains during this period.
Now the problem is solved, we did the possible to make you spend a great time, but, the hotel was fully booked in that days.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nice and clean, and have enough space for your luggage and belongings. There is also a nice pool at the rooftop of the hotel. The hotel is located close to the train station and restaurants. The hotel delivered to our expectations, and the only thing that did not deliver was the breakfast, which was a little bit to simple. However, the hotel can be recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Larsmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeAlbergo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grande Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review, we really appreciate and we will do our best for satify each preference.

Kindest regards.

Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. Italy was our final country to visit, and it began with Sestri Levante.

For starters, the area is beautiful. The water is stunning. However, the beach is mainly made up of rocks - large and small. If you intend on visiting, bring a blanket or two. The public beaches are small.

Now to the hotel. The best part was the view. We were on the left side of the hotel (when facing it) in room 315. The room was also clean when we got to it.

Yep, that's about all I can come up with for the good side for this hotel.

The negatives. The room was small. Very small. On our honeymoon we stayed in London and Paris as well, and if the rumors are true about those cities having small rooms, then it will surprise you to hear that THIS was the smallest room of all we stayed in on our 19 day honeymoon.

How this is considered a four star hotel is beyond me. It could have been that 10-15 years ago. It's simply out of date in the décor. The showers are also obnoxiously small. I'm 6'2 and about 180 pounds and I kept bumping the walls of the semi-circle shower. Not a fan.

The breakfast was nothing special. I had some (misnamed) coffee from the machine (definitely not black coffee as it claimed to be), some toast, a bowl of fruit, and some pastries. My wife, however, disliked everything but the croissants. We had to go get some more food for her afterwards at one of the local cafes.

The most bizarre part of staying here was that the whole town charges money to go on the private beaches. The hotel DOES have a beach, but it will cost you money each day you want to go to it. Also, the hotel does have a pool upstairs. It's nice. Small. Some chairs for lounging too. However, they charge you for towels! Five euroes per towel each day you want one. Insane. Anywhere else this wouldn't happen.

I wish I had a better experience here. The water and the view from our room were the best parts. Sadly, that's it. Do yourself a favor and look to one of the higher ranked hotels and stay there. My wife and I won't be back at this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeAlbergo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grande Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the critics, let me develop just some points.
In Liguria the standard width of the hotel's rooms is like our, Sestri Levante can not be compared with Paris and London in terms of size!
Moreover, in the most part of Liguria you will find private beaches and only a few free beaches, unfortunately.

Anyway thanks for the review,
best regards.

Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is very nice and the team is very welcoming. Near train station and in front of the beach. Has a swimming pool with a great view and it's restaurant is something very special! I feel in love by its hand made pasta and all the delicious food!
There is only one down point is my perspective in my whole experience: I was there with my 2 year old, which is very busy, and though the experience was great, I must say that maybe the hotel is not prepared to receive small children at this age more or less. I point specifically: shower is slippery, art pieces in the lobby without a protection or note to indicate they are pieces of art, bathroom doors with keys to lock inside (old style) and hard to unlock from the outside...
Another thing that one must watch out is that there is no indication (while doing the reservation) that the use of the Hotel beach (which is a private one) has additional costs to it.
Other than that, I felt very much home.
There is a play area for kids just behind the hotel. You can reach the main roads very easily. The city was marvelous and the hotel team very helpful.
Loved it! :)

Room Tip: The front room, facing the beach, have the main road passing by, so it can be noisy. The back rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari_Duarte2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeAlbergo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grande Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the kind review and we hope to see you again, with you baby too.

Best regards.

Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is directly opposite the promenade and beach and in the centre of the best part of the town. Traffic was not a problem as it often is in Ligurian Coastal towns. The hotel itself is understated in terms of decor. The rooms were good. Mine had a balcony to sit out on and watch the world go by. The hotel has free wifi, which is not that common on Italy. The staff were friendly and the breakfast fine. It is quiet a large hotel so beware coach parties.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Saggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeAlbergo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grande Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind review.
We hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards.

Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Probably the best position in front of the sea and the promenade, right in front of their private beach, big private secure parking 2 steps from the hotel, good restaurant with a nice veranda overlooking a small garden, good breakfast, very nice cosy bar, very good service both in the restaurant and in the hotel in general. Rooms and public spaces in a quite good condition, rooms quite spacious, a swimming pool on the upper floor (we didnt use it). They have also a nice and cosy ballroom. During our stay there was a salsa-bachata dancing private event organized one evening, the guests of the hotel could also participate of course.
Sestri Levante has a good strategic location between the Cinque Terre and Portofino, so being based in Sestri Levante it is comfortable to visit these and many other fantastic places on Ligurian seaside by a ferry, train or car. Of course ferry is more recommended.

Room Tip: Of course the best rooms are with balconies with front sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleonora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeAlbergo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grande Albergo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind comment.
We are happy to know you spent a great time in Sestri Levante, we hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards.

Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 21 in Sestri Levante
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#4 of 21 in Sestri Levante
709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#3 of 21 in Sestri Levante
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#1 of 21 in Sestri Levante
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#9 of 21 in Sestri Levante
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
#11 of 21 in Sestri Levante
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 2, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range: £126 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Grand Albergo Hotel! Overlooking the sea promenade of Sestri Levante, The Grande Albergo is now a landmark in tourism and the Gulf of Tigullio. Completely renovated in 2003, this late '19th Century historic building, has 70 rooms including 4 junior suites, all equipped with modern amenities such as internet Wi-Fi. A great base to discover the most striking places of Liguria, such as the beautiful Cinque Terre and the timeless Portofino, The Grande Albergo offers the resources to spend a relaxing holiday, whether enjoying cocktails from the panoramic swimming pool, located on the roof of the building, or simply from the balcony of one's room. The different types of rooms, from sea view to overlooking the peaceful garden, will satisfy all types of requests and our staff will be only too happy to liase and organize all the extra activities available, such as cultural visits, excursions and sports. Don't hesitate to book your holiday now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grande Albergo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Sestri Levante Hotel Sestri Levante
Grande Albergo Hotel Sestri Levante
Sestri Levante Grande Albergo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing