We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Locanda del Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Locanda del Borgo
Ranked #10 of 37 Sestri Levante B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Great Italian little place with English speaking owner who can give tips on what to do, where to go. The location is perfect for exploring Cinque Terre. Rooms are big and clean

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emelieochjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    78
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
16
103
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Locanda del Borgo. The room was very large and spotlessly clean. Marcello welcomed us warmly and provided us with all the information that we needed for the area. Breakfast each day was excellent. We didn't have dinner in the dining room - but it looked lovely. We found Sestri Levante to be excellently positioned for day trips to the Cinque Terre and Portofino. We had a bit of difficulty at the Riva T train station as the ticket machine was not functioning and there were no staff on-site. However, we rode the train without tickets and luckily did not encounter a conductor. :-) We would highly recommend Locanda del Borgo and thank Marcello for his hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

It was a nice B&B place but we had difficulty getting there in the first place. It's close to a local train station (forgot the name), but not the major Sestri Levante stop. We got lost and thanks to the staff of a restaurant near the main train station, we managed to reach the B&B owner by phone and he picked us up with his car. Otherwise, we would have to walk 7-8 k because it was very hard to find taxi there (almost impossible on weekends). We wish it was pointed out clearer to us about the name of the local train station next to the B&B so that we could avoid missing the stop on our way back to the hotel after a day trip to Cinque Terre. The stop is not called Sestri Levante, although the address of the B&B says it is in Sestri Levante. If you take the local train back from Cinque Terre, it is the stop before Setri. (Mind that there are not many trains that stop there during the day.) We made a mistake and found ourselves in the wrong station again just like when we first arrived. Other than the confused experience of find the place, we had an enjoyable time at the B&B. The owner also recommended a very good restaurant nearby that's worth trying.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locandaborgo, Proprietario at Locanda del Borgo, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thanks for your review Wendy, and I hope that you have a good trip to Venice! I use this occasion to clarify the train directions to us and to the Cinque Terre national park.

Sestri Levante has two train station: the “central main” for the Express/Intercity trains and the “Riva Trigoso” station for the local trains on the Cinque Terre railway line. If you stop at the main, you need a five minute taxi (about 10 euro) to reach us, or you can call us without problems for the transfer.

If you stop instead at the local station, is just at two minutes walking from us: out the station, you have to take the path "Via Gavignazzi", on the right of the square in front of you; when you'll reach the main road, turn right, you'll see us above the road.

There are fourteen trains/day from 6:43 a.m. to 10:21 p.m. for the Cinqueterre (about 20 minutes train to Monterosso) and thirteen for coming back to Locanda del Borgo. I hope that it can help other guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We were enchanted with this place. It fit nicely into our budget. The room was quite comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The owners were very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowleyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Barbara and Marcello treated us like one of the family. They went above and beyond for us.
Locanda del Borgo is located a short walk from the train station that takes you to the Chinque Terre, Santa Margherita Liqure and Portofino. A great location.
The rooms were clean and very comfortable. So were the baths.
The best part of the hotel is the food that comes from Barbara's kitchen. We ate there 3 of our 4 nights in Sestri Levante.
I would go back to visit in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maclin_63112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We did not manage to find the time to write a review but have been meaning to for the last 6 months, having seen the latest review we now feel the need to defend this hotel. This is small and very family run but this simply adds to the appeal. The management (Marcello and Barbara) really make this hotel and are so helpful and friendly, but not in an overbearing way. As mentioned below we were welcomed with a drink on arrival and given lots of infomation relavent to our stay. Throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble and they would go out of their way to answer any of our questions. They seemed to genuinely enjoy making sure we were satisfied and ensuring we were having a great time in the Cinque Terre region. We didn't eat in the restaurant (as we preferred to explore in the evenings) but were told by other guests that we had missed out. If the breakfasts were anything to go by then we're sure they were right. Located in the small village of Trigoso we found the location no problem despite not having a car. The trains are convenient and the station only a less than 10 minute walk away (albeit up a hill). There are also buses too. The rooms were well decorated and clean and we feel it particularly harsh to give a hotel a "poor rating" when you haven't even given them a chance. I'm sure any problems could have been resolved given the opportunity. We stayed for a week and loved both the hotel and the region. This is not a 5 star hotel but nor to it profess to be, but we would certainly say the service is. If you want a relaxing and friendly atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle but near enough to see everything in the region then this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandKarenReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We booked our stay here well in advance. We found the websites and advertising very misleading. There was nowhere to eat locally, so any meals required were accessible only by car. The room we were shown was sparse, the bed was draped with a net curtain that was covered in dust! At reception we were met by a very dis-interested young lady with little to no knowledge of the surroundings and only able to answer a few of our questions. We did not end up staying at the property. Certainly not value for money.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locandaborgo, Proprietario at Locanda del Borgo, responded to this review, 2 January 2010
This is an unusual review in my opinion. As you wrote, “We did not end up staying at the property”. You haven’t spent the night here, but I want to answer, never mind. About the restaurant: we offer our regional menu of the day. If you don't like it, from this season we offer also a bar service with some simple italian cold dishes. About our surroundings: if you decide to spend some time with us, perhaps we can answer your questions about our region and give to you some useful tips. But if you go away after 10 minutes...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#6 of 22 in Sestri Levante
420 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#2 of 22 in Sestri Levante
633 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#1 of 22 in Sestri Levante
280 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
#13 of 22 in Sestri Levante
322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#4 of 22 in Sestri Levante
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Borgo

Property: Locanda del Borgo
Address: Via Aurelia 249, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Sestri Levante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda del Borgo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Del Borgo is a historic building located along Via Aurelia, few yards from Riva Trigoso Train Station. The train ride to the Cinque Terre takes only 20 minutes. Locanda del Borgo is in Sestri Levante, and was originally a road inspector’s house, with thick stone walls. The building is surrounded by the Parco dei Promontori park, and features an outdoor jacuzzi and a sauna.Rooms at the Locanda feature 4-poster wrought-iron beds, and are decorated in a typical Ligurian style. During summer breakfast is served in the large grounds, with Mediterranean plants, vineyards and olive groves. The restaurant is open on reservation, and serves exclusively local fresh fish, meat, vegetables, cheese and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda del Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing