We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Locaton for a Ski Holiday”
Review of Hotel Du Col

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sestriere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Du Col
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Perfect Locaton for a Ski Holiday”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at Hotel du Col, Sestriere, on a half board basis, for a week in February 2014, with a large group from the Ski Club of Ireland. The front entrance is on the main street, while the ski room and garage at the back of the hotel is right at the ski school. There was no trudging through the streets carrying our ski gear, as I was able to put on my skis as soon as I emerged from the back entrance.So, for skiing, the location of this hotel is perfect.
The rooms were comfortable, though as mine was at the front of the hotel, I was sometimes disturbed during the night by the very noisy machines clearing snow from the road outside, after a heavy snowfall. The rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
Every evening, we enjoyed a self-service buffet dinner, which was quite a banquet. There was a large selection of salads and some hot starters, soup, a couple of pasta dishes and two main course options (e.g. beef or chicken, turkey or pork, veal or venison) with potatoes & vegetables on the side. The food was delicious, and really beautifully presented. The desserts were simply out of this world (e.g. tiramisu, chocolate mousse, panacotta, baked Alaska, various tarts and gateaux) and there were three choices each night, but one didn't have to make the difficult choice, as we could have a little of each if we wished. Full marks to the chef!
The staff were courteous and very helpful and the manager was most welcoming.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, there was no swimming pool, nor sauna nor fitness centre. Ask for a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    92
    27
    6
    0
See reviews for
86
96
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

It would be hard to find a more central hotel in Sestriere: the Hotel du Col is situated in the middle of the main parade, between the main road through the resort and the slopes. It advertises ski in/ski out and it was for this main reason we chose it.

The hotel itself is not new, and this is evident throughout. However, it is well maintained and comfortable. The welcome, when we arrived could not have been warmer and this continued throughout the week. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and genuine and made you feel you were truly welcome.

There are two lifts to the upper floors but we generally used the stairs as they proved quicker. Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the slopes. We had no balcony (this costs extra) but the view from the window was good, especially as it faced the morning sun.

We had a twin room (doubles cost extra) and actually had three beds to choose from! It was equipped with a dressing table and a large built-in wardrobe, adequate for most needs. A free to use safe was also provided. The TV was the only real disappointment: access by free-to-air and Sky box but little by way of any interesting channels. We resorted to Sky News, when we bothered at all.

The bathroom was well maintained, with a bath and shower in one. Water was hot and copious. The bath, unlike others we've found in other Italian hotels, was big enough to lie down in. The only disappointment was that there wasn't really anywhere suitable to hang clothes to drip-dry overnight: the towel rack at the end of the bath didn't actually hang over the bath so water from dripping clothes dropped as much onto the floor as into the bath.

The room was warm though, with more than adequate heat from the antiquated cast-iron radiators. The only strange thing was that the radiator in the bedroom was located behind the curtains! We resorted to dragging the curtains behind the radiator when we closed them at night!

A boot locker is provided in an unheated room in the basement. Not only than but the lockers are stacked on top of each other, with wire bases. Consequently, anyone with a lower locker has melt water dripping onto their boots from those in the higher lockers! Not clever! A ski room is separate but alongside the boot room, on the way to the underground car park and, from there, access to the slopes. Both boot locker and ski rack are locked with keys, available from Reception for a 10 Euro deposit, repayable on return.

It is true you can ski out, although the slope means that you will still have to punt a bit before you get to a seriously downhill section. Ski back requires you to jump on the kid's Travelator to take you to the top of the slope, when you can then ski back to where you started. There is a ski lift that also ends at the same place but it never ran at any time during our stay, like too many lifts in this area.

The hotel has no modern facilities such as a swimming pool or a spa so the only entertainment is the bar on the ground floor or the one in the basement, which is reserved for CrystalSki guests.

The food provided was excellent. You serve yourself on a buffet system for all meals, with just a few dishes, such as soup, served by the staff. You can eat as much as you like of whatever you like, so long as it hasn't run out. Carafes of wine are provided for free with dinner and, unlike previous experiences, proved perfectly drinkable.

What was outstanding about the hotel though was the quality of the service by the staff. OK, the hotel itself has seen better days but we would return here, if we ever do return to Sestriere, without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Have just returned from a week at Du Col Hotel. There are as ever good and bad points and I will try and be as objective as I can.
The Good Points:
The waiters and staff cannot be faulted.
Good ski lockers and boot room.
Exit directly onto slopes although there is a slight uphill walk to the piste or use your core muscles and push! Not a problem though in my opinion.
Plenty of hot water etc.
Food good and sufficient of it. I know some comments have said that once the food is gone its gone. well thats true but you cant expect the hotel to replace what was a lot of food in the first place by even more when probably all but a few people have eaten. Dont misunderstand me though, the dinner has 5 courses so anybody who says that they didnt eat enough porbably is eating too much for there own well-being!

Bad Points:
Unfortunately the rooms fronting on to the road are noisey. I can only truly comment on the room we stayed in which was 149. This room is directly above the entrance to the hotel so noise was suffered not only from the snow clearing of the road (which is perfectly understandable) but also from anyone coming in during the early hours and worse still anybody who decided they needed to smoke. Smoking took place at the hotel entrance and if we had our window open for fresh air then quite simply, the air stopped being so fresh!! Sadly a very noisey room and as a result very little sleep. We did ask as soon as we were allocated our room to be moved but were told that the hotel was full and that all rooms on slopside were triple rooms so we could not be accomodated. How true this is I am not sure as other guests who were got to know told us that they were slope side and the rooms were not triples.

There was plenty of entertainment on at the hotel which you either want to go to or not as the case may be. However, there was no real need for us to venture to the Pub in the lower ground as we could hear the whole thing from our room!

This may all sound like a good old moan which it is not intended to be but be warned, if you are not a deep sleeper and can sleep through anything then the road rooms and 149 is not for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRW7026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Travelled with Crystal on 26th Jan 2014. Well organised at Turin airport and we were swiftly onto our coach. Journey was uneventful to Sestriere and our rep Steph was informative and also passed welcome pack info and receipts for ski hire etc. Once in the hotel we were allocated a room on the first floor facing the road. This was a bonus as we heard a few moan about the snow ploughs in operation from 5am on the piste side! We also had shutters on the windows which helped reduce any road noise and kept the room warmer, although it was warm enough. Plenty of storage in the room with two double wardrobes, draws and a safe.

The ski hire shop was a couple of doors away and we were sorted in about 15 minutes. The hotel has a separate ski and boot room in the basement which is basically 15 metres from the snow. So you can ski out and using the 'magic carpet' on the slopes you can ski back as we'll.

Hotel bar is good with plenty of room, tea, coffee and cake at approx 1630 is a welcome treat after a day on the slopes. Live music, quiz nights and bar crawls means there is no shortage of stuff to do.

Food in the hotel is good with the added bonus of free wine in the evening with your meal which you can swap for soft drinks if required. Staff are attentive and the restaurant is very clean.

Of course the skiing is excellent, we had plenty of snow and managed to ski most of the surrounding areas. We would certainly consider returning to the area.

Room Tip: Road side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GazFM107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We've been to this hotel four times now, and have just returned from another very good skiing holiday there. The rooms are dated, but kept very clean and tidy, with crisp white bed linen. Staff are very helpful. The hotel is in an enviable position when it comes to slope access, it's a one minute walk to the nearest lift, (a small carpet lift), which then gives you ski-able access to the main lifts. You can ski back into the hotel. Food is very good, although the restaurant is busy when it opens. There was plenty of choice throughout the stay. We had a slope-side room with balcony, and they do clear the car park opposite the room early in the morning; didn't disturb me, but my wife woke a couple of times. All in all, a great skiing hotel.

Room Tip: Slope-side rooms have a great view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKH_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just got back from a week here.
Hotel is in an excellent spot you can ski in /out.
Yes its a bit dated but the location, helpful staff,plenty of hot food, and hot water for baths every night definitely make up for this.

We never had any problems some mention re noise, yes they piste buggies are out at night but they did not keep us awake.

would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms facing the piste are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanti56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Visited Sestriere and stayed in this hotel. Great room, staff were excellent, friendly and bent over backwards to help. The location was perfect for the chairlift taking you directly to some excellent reds and blues. The only issue that I had with the hotel was that at 4 am each morning that it snowed the snow clearing would begin and that meant no sleep between 4 and 7, so I advise asking for a mountain view, which is on the opposite side of the hotel. The food was fantastic and the service good. I'd definitely return to the same resort and hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestriere hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
#4 of 21 in Sestriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#7 of 21 in Sestriere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
#19 of 21 in Sestriere
3.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2
0.2 mi away
Chalet Edelweiss
Chalet Edelweiss
#17 of 21 in Sestriere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Col? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Col

Property: Hotel Du Col
Address: Via Pinerolo 12, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sestriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Du Col 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Du Col Hotel
Du Col Sestriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing