We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location plus best skiing ever!”
Review of Hotel Du Col

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sestriere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Du Col
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location plus best skiing ever!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Returned from Hotel du Col and it was absolutely fantastic location-wise...right at the foot of the slopes. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there was certainly plenty of choice food-wise! We also had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the slopes but I wouldn't say that its critical to your stay. Loved having the wine brulee in the afternoon as well as the tea/coffee and cakes at 4:30pmish. Would recommend and will certainly be going again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    92
    27
    6
    0
See reviews for
86
98
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from another great stay at the Hotel du Col. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We have stayed at this hotel last year and could not fault it in any way. The food was great with a large selection to choose from every night.
The hotel is situated so that you can ski in/out and there is so much skiing that you will never get board. We travelled over to Sauze most days as the snow conditions were better with it being late in the season and the the runs were a lot quieter.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Sestriere

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolinecropper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel after reading tripadvisor comments and we were so right to do so! It is in a perfect location opposite the foot of the slopes and after leaving the ski lockers you are straight on the snow via the tunnel. The rooms at the back of the hotel have spacious balconys overlooking the slopes and are comfortable and quiet. The staff cannot do enough to make your stay wonderful-especially Toto in the restaurant! The manager was always on hand if you needed help or advise too. The buffet at breakfast and dinner could not be faulted and afternoon tea each day at 4.30 til 5.30 was a nice touch too! All in all a fantastic holiday, we travelled as a group of 8 friends and Crystal and the hotel catered to our every need.Would definitely recommend this hotel to skiers and non- skiers alike!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank debbieg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Arrived back yesterday after a week staying at the Hotel Du Col. The hotel is in an excellent location and we were lucky to have a balcony which overlooked the slopes. The food was very good with plenty of choice each night. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was every too much trouble for them. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The position of this hotel is fabulous. Out of the underground boot room, straight on to a magic carpet for beginners, or a quick shush to a main 4 man chair. Once you get your bearings you can ski home from the top of magic carpet or walk 2min from bottom of slopes. We travelled with crystal and despite booking months in advance, could not get equipment until 20hrs after arrival. Would never book equipment through them ever again. Hotel service was excellent. Staff attentive. Manager eager to please. Food pretty good. Room service great. Would recommend asking for mountain view, which I think is 50% of the rooms. The rest overlook the road. The only noise disturbance we had was from very inconsiderate guests. Not everyone has to get up at 3am for the flight home.....
Overall, great hotel due to location and the fact it is very well managed. One minus point; boot room did not dry very well, needs pokers to stack boots on.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed in hotel du col in March for a weeks ski holiday. The hotel is positioned right off the main slope areas so you can access them directly from the boot/ski room within 2-3minutes (Ideal!) The hotel pub/bar is by far the best we visited in Sestriere which makes for a short walk home after a night out drinking!

The buffet was well stocked and tasty, although as to be expected got a little tiresome after 7 days. The rooms are well portioned and although not a 'world' standard 4 star is what I would expect from a lot of 4 star classed hotels in ski resorts. Our room was at the front (roadside) on floor 1 however we had very little noise disturbance before 0800.

All in all a good hotel, location wins here however all round scores high.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pittsy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Travelled with Crystal on the 9th March for a week at the Du Col. On arrival we were allocated room 114 which was road facing on floor 1. The room was large having a double bed and 2 single beds , a fridge , television and free safe. The bathroom has all the facilities needed but the shower over the bath needed a larger shower screen to stop water getting onto the tiled floor. There is also a wall mounted hair dryer in the bathroom. We slept well and were not disturbed by any noise from the road. An improvement would be to use duvets instead of sheets.
All the staff in the hotel are pleasant, professional, helpful and try to make your holiday a good one.
Breakfast is buffet style with a multitude of options including bacon.sausage,beans and egg with the usual choice of cereal,bread , cakes and as much coffee/ tea as you can drink. Evening meal is again buffet style with an incredible array of starters, pasta dishes and choice of two main courses. Deserts are served from the buffet and there is free wine of easily drinkable quality to complete the meal. Overall the food is good and plentiful.
The ground floor bar is a quiet area to sit, relax have a drink and watch sport on the television. The pub in the basement is a great place for a drink to watch sport or listen to live music. Free tea / coffee and cakes are served in the pub area at 4.30pm everyday. A nice touch!
The boot room is separate from the ski storage area and both are in the hotel basement, The boots are stored in lockers but the temperature of the boot room could be warmer making the boots easier to get on in the morning. Skis are stored in locked racks with a 10 Euro deposit required for the key. Access to the piste is excellent.
The ski area is excellent with well groomed pistes which were relatively quiet everyday except Saturday which was very busy with long queues at some lifts.
There is a tourist tax charge of 14 Euro per couple to be paid at the end of the week.
The rooms in the hotel are in need of refurbishment but overall if you want a great location, professional staff, good food and great skiing the Du Col can provide it.
if we return to Sestriere we would have no hesitation returning to the Du Col

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DaveandFreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestriere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#9 of 21 in Sestriere
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biancaneve
Hotel Biancaneve
#7 of 21 in Sestriere
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#16 of 21 in Sestriere
87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
#4 of 21 in Sestriere
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Col? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Col

Property: Hotel Du Col
Address: Via Pinerolo 12, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sestriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Du Col 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Du Col Hotel
Du Col Sestriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing