We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Skiing Great Service”
Review of Hotel Du Col

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sestriere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Du Col
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Certificate of Excellence
Polmont, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Skiing Great Service”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here in March 2014, and wanted to recommend the hotel for the fantastic holiday.

It is in fantastic location at the foot of the piste, and we had a room with balcony overlooking the slopes. There is a short walk though an underground car park, and then you are on the snow. a bit of polling required to the main lift, but then you can ski right back to the door of the garage.

Venue great for beginners and Intermediates. Some of the lifts are a bit slow, and you do have drag lifts to the two highest runs, but plenty on offer from the main chairs. Watch out for weekend in Sauze. Really long queues when we were there, which were never replicated in Sestriere.

What made the holiday was the service in the hotel. The manager and his team made everyone feel welcome from the moment they arrived, and it was noticeable how many return visitors were greeted as they arrived in the hotel.

I was nervous about the food, as there were many comments left on here about the timing and the quality. You are restricted by the timings, but we never found that to be much of an issue, and we never once found that there was nothing we could eat. in fact, although some of the dishes were on each night, you would have to be there a while before you had tried everything.

I remember a comment about the star rating of the hotel being generous, and maybe the truth is, that it is a 3 star hotel with 5 star service.

We loved it and would definitely consider returning, as long as the same team are running the venue.

Room Tip: Slope side is best. The balcony will reduce the size of the room if that is important. PS It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hevdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    92
    27
    6
    0
See reviews for
86
96
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a wonderful 7 night stay here in January. As a base for a ski holiday this hotel must be one of the best in Sestriere. The rooms are well furnished and equipped, with ample room for ski wear etc. -( eg good sized bathroom, tv with Sky news, phone, sockets for chargers etc) The restaurant has a great range of food served in a buffet self-service system, catering for all tastes. Breakfasts are extensive in the options available and evening meals left us spoilt for choice most nights. Complimentary wine and drinks were of an excellent quility and just kept coming. The staff are charming, helpful and friendly, the manager is on the ball and always available if needed. There are 2 bars, a cosy lounge and a larger pub type bar suitable for larger groups and longer sessions. A great range of drinks are available at prices to match anywhere in the town and a good selection of local beers also. Entertainment and sport is available on certain evenings making a good atmosphere for the apres ski. We didn't travel with children but those in the hotel seemed to be well catered for. It is possible, just about, to 'ski in' if you plan your route well but the 'ski out' entails a short walk to the first lift. It is handy also for neighbouring bars, rentals and shops. The boot room and ski lockers are on a par with most places and lead straight out on to the snow. We had a wonderful holiday here and would certainly return. If we did we would try to get a room on the slope side as noise from the road outside our room meant that we were sometimes awake earlier than we would have liked. The wi-fi, whilst free was a bit hit and miss and only available in certain areas of the hotel. A few other small gripes - the shower over the bath didn't seem to be very well positioned, causing some splashing and the breakfast bacon was a little under appetising, swimming in oil. However if they could move the slope about 50 metres closer to the rear of the hotel, have all the rooms rear facing and beef up the wi fi then this would be the perfect hotel. We were out every day and yet only skied half of the available piste so there is plenty left for us to explore on our return. We just hope the same staff are here whe we do. In summary, great location, food, atmosphere and comfort, in short - Ideal!

Room Tip: Top floor, rear-facing rooms have great views and are much quiter than the front-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in March 2014, and it was excellent, location, right next to the slopes.

Food plenty of choice, always something I enjoyed eating, entertainment was a group and solo artist, really good not having to go outside also.. Right next to the slopes, so good we have booked already for March 2015

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnetteWaterlooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Returned from Hotel du Col and it was absolutely fantastic location-wise...right at the foot of the slopes. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there was certainly plenty of choice food-wise! We also had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the slopes but I wouldn't say that its critical to your stay. Loved having the wine brulee in the afternoon as well as the tea/coffee and cakes at 4:30pmish. Would recommend and will certainly be going again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from another great stay at the Hotel du Col. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We have stayed at this hotel last year and could not fault it in any way. The food was great with a large selection to choose from every night.
The hotel is situated so that you can ski in/out and there is so much skiing that you will never get board. We travelled over to Sauze most days as the snow conditions were better with it being late in the season and the the runs were a lot quieter.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Sestriere

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolinecropper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel after reading tripadvisor comments and we were so right to do so! It is in a perfect location opposite the foot of the slopes and after leaving the ski lockers you are straight on the snow via the tunnel. The rooms at the back of the hotel have spacious balconys overlooking the slopes and are comfortable and quiet. The staff cannot do enough to make your stay wonderful-especially Toto in the restaurant! The manager was always on hand if you needed help or advise too. The buffet at breakfast and dinner could not be faulted and afternoon tea each day at 4.30 til 5.30 was a nice touch too! All in all a fantastic holiday, we travelled as a group of 8 friends and Crystal and the hotel catered to our every need.Would definitely recommend this hotel to skiers and non- skiers alike!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank debbieg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Arrived back yesterday after a week staying at the Hotel Du Col. The hotel is in an excellent location and we were lucky to have a balcony which overlooked the slopes. The food was very good with plenty of choice each night. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was every too much trouble for them. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestriere hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
#4 of 21 in Sestriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#7 of 21 in Sestriere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
#19 of 21 in Sestriere
3.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2
0.2 mi away
Chalet Edelweiss
Chalet Edelweiss
#17 of 21 in Sestriere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Col? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Col

Property: Hotel Du Col
Address: Via Pinerolo 12, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sestriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Du Col 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Du Col Hotel
Du Col Sestriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing