We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shh! Don't Tell Everyone...”
Review of Sud-Ovest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sud-Ovest
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Booked a last minute ski holiday package with Inghams for a party of 3 and needed a single room so Sud Ovest chose us really as only hotel available without a punitive supplement. Photo in the brochure and location at the top of the village made me think "hmmm! but, ah well at least it's a bargain."
Pleased to be proved very wrong; a lovely friendly welcome from the owner who showed us to our room which was fine, just big enough with plenty of wardrobe/hanging space. Shower in the bathroom was compact but lashings of hot water available. No duvet but bed comfortable and the room was warm enough so this wasn't a problem and spare blankets & pillows were available. We looked out over the adjoining apartments and on to the mountains beyond, maybe not chocolate box pretty but plenty of light. TV with CNN/Eurosport/BBC World/France24 as well as all the local channels and there was free wifi throughout too.
Walk to & from the slopes was no more than a 5-10 minute warm-up & warm-down stroll. We left our boots & skis in a slope-side locker as the hotel has a deal with one of the rental shops in town.
Breakfasts were OK - typical Italian buffet style and you might get bored but certainly wouldn't starve.
Dinner was great though, choice of 2 starters & 3 mains every night and everything we ate was excellent (and whilst I thought the veggie main options didn't look that inspiring - omelettes etc. this wasn't a problem for us). Fine choice of desserts to fill up any available space you might have had at the end of the meal. The wine was fabulous especially if you chose local and let Renzo guide your choice and very reasonable too.
All in all we loved it here, friendly staff, decent room, great food and fabulous wine. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Higher floors generally have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HankEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

This resort was selected since there appeared to be quite a few positive comments on the service and location. when we checked in we were taken to a room, which was described as very big and nice. It was a good size however it was anything but nice. Many of the lights didnt work and the ones which did had such a low level of light that one could barely see past one's nose. The kicker however was upon opening the curtains and less than 50cm was another building window looking onto some indoor car park. If you leaned out the window perilously then you might catch a glimpse of the sky. Only benefit was there was no need for a black out curtain to shield from the daylight. It was clean and only good if you intend to sleep and leave. Service staff were good and helpful and breakfast was good. WiFi was barely enough to read emails but certainly not enough for Skype. at least it was free. Location was not ideal either as it was on the furthest side of the resort and a 15 minute walk to the slopes. Not a place I would recommend or would visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xmuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked this hotel online last minute as most of the other hotels were full. I have to say that I found it very disappointing. When you arrive off the street ( or at any time), there is no one around at the reception desk. You have to ring a bell for someone to deal with you from downstairs on the 3rd level down lounge and breakfast room. The room we were given was large and the Wifi worked well but that is all I can say which is positive about it. We had 3 small windows with a view of an indoor car park not more than 2 meters away from our bedroom, you could not see any snow or sky, only parked cars. The beds had no duvet which one expects these days and the lighting was also very dull. I suppose maybe for €105 per night its what you get at Sestriere. I was told the hotel was recently been refurbished, they must have missed our room.

Room Tip: make sure you don't get the car park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanDeCesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel last year while planning our wedding. The staff are amazing & I loved the touch of the Owner of the hotel bringing you to your room to make sure it was ok for you. He's an absolute gentleman! He gave us discounts for ski hire, ski passes etc..and told us where to go & what to do.... a gem of a place...

Room Tip: Just ask to be kept away from the entrance as larger groups like to congregate here to smoke after d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juci_luci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sud-Ovest for the 3rd time already ( Fam. Of 2 kids, 3 adults). We had an excellent stay!!! The owner, mr. Renzo Roux couldn't be more friendly! He helps you around with everything. He is there all the time and is always willing to help around with no matter what. We had a family room, consisting of 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, with a seperate entrance of our own. This was very practical, very clean and with enough space to put all our stuff. The food is very good, local specialities, too much to eat... After a Nice day of skiing, you can relax in the seats and drink an excellent bottle of spumante at a very low price. Mr. Renzo roux knows everything about wines and will give you the perfect advice! The waiter, Ettore, is very very kind! Kids are very welcome here, the can play and walk around without having to feel emberrased as a patent. The perfect place to stay with kids!

We just love this hotel and the staff and are already looking forward to our stay in 2014! For this price, you cannot find anything better than this! Sestriere is the best ski area we know - once you came here, you will never want to go to france anymore to ski!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veerle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Very good cleaning service..... everyday we found the room very clean and our clotes well folded.
The hotel is easy to find, it s just 10 minutes away from the ski slopes and 5 from downtown.
The service is good as a cake and Ettore ( the waiter ) is the cherry on top of it.. :)))) Enzo ( the manager ) , is an helpful and kind person.
Quality price ratio is excellent
the breakfast and dinner are abbondant and good indeed.

Defenitelly a place to go.

Alex e Adry from Rome

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capitan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Basic room and breakfast for 6 days skiing and a little way from the slopes but.... W really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel. 5/6 minute walk from the action but suited our needs for the holiday (quiet and relaxing) and you can leave your skis by the slopes so don't have to carry with you to the lifts.

Staff went above and beyond to be helpful and were always friendly, I left my phone on the coach and mentioned this to to the owner who rushed me into his car to chase the coach... We missed the coach but he then took it o himself to call the coach company to recover.. I couldn't thank him enough. This was the theme for the holiday, he and the rest of the staff were always accommodating and helpful.

Breakfast was basic but plentiful and the Roos were always clean although slightly small... Just what you expect from a ski hotel.

Sestriere is limited with hotels and bars and slightly quiet during the week after 10pm.. Which was nice for us being a Middle Ages couple enjoying some relaxing time off work. Restaurants were nice and snacks good... People in tow were also friendly and happy to help.. Unlike some other places in Italy I have visited

If want a good pub.. Hotel du col has one. Resturants: bacca other square or the squirrel opposite the hole du col

Good for a quiet ski holiday.., want a busier time with a big après ski scene... Go to sauze d oulx or if you can afford t... zermatt

Hotel was excellent for the price though

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Normal30yrguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestriere hotels
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
0.3 mi away
Chalet Edelweiss
Chalet Edelweiss
#17 of 21 in Sestriere
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lago Losetta
Hotel Lago Losetta
#10 of 21 in Sestriere
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#16 of 21 in Sestriere
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#7 of 21 in Sestriere
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sud-Ovest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sud-Ovest

Address: Via Monterotto 17, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Price Range: £77 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sud-Ovest 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sud-Ovest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing