We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Once More”
Review of Hotel Mion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mion
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Silvi Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Our 5th trip to Mion. Each trip is as good if not better than the last. The staff are superb, they are professional, helpful and friendly. The hotel is spotless and the food is wonderful. Lots of fish and the slow cooked pork was particularly good. Mion has excellent facilities and is on the beach.
Silvi is also a good starting point to exploring the rest of Abruzzo if you are driving. If not try the local tourist office for their "In Gita La Provincia" promotion where they organise tours of the Province for a nominal cost.
A testimony to the quality of the Mion experience is the number of repeat customers we meet each year. Treat yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DustyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

I stayed at the Mion hotel for 7 nights together with my two young daughters. The hotel easily outsmarts its rivals in Silvi Marina; indeed Silvi was disappointingly run-down with decrepit infrastructure and a rather threadbare feel to the amenities... hardly San Tropez. I would suggest that 7 nights was too long in Silvi, perhaps a short break to enjoy the hotel, warm Adriatic Sea and nice local pizzerias and ice cream parlors would have been better; otherwise, there is little else on offer.

Mion, on the other hand, is immaculate – beautifully maintained by its family owners and supported by a sophisticated multi-lingual staff. While the room was modestly proportioned but with plenty of storage space - but no space to dry clothes / towels, the hotel has a five star feel to it and a high attention to detail with a truly fabulous eating terrace which looks out at an immaculately clean swimming pool and private beach area.

We dined twice in the stunningly refined restaurant. The four course meals offered among the finest Italian food we had ever enjoyed with wonderfully prepared seafood complimented by a service that was second to none.

So, the Mion is worth sampling for its oasis like luxury in not so nice Silvi. But one sting in the tail. Understandably, the high level and quality of service does not come cheap, and there are a series of surprising surcharges for just about everything. However when I queried that my final bill appeared to overcharge me by around 300 euros, the reaction of the staff was hostile. Fortunately, I had kept a record of my expenditure and when I presented this they demurred and quickly rectified the bill. However, they did this very coldly and offered no apology – and the final goodbye was an uncomfortable awkward affair... not becoming of the level of service I had become accustomed to. Therefore, my overall rating reflects this unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Clarify the billing plus supplementary charges from the outset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TNfromL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Just had 2 days at the Hotel Mion and can't wait to go back. Rooms were very comfortably equipped, frette linen & towels etc and spotlessly clean - not huge but then who want's to sit all day in a hotel room when there's the Adriatic and Abruzzo waiting outside. There's a choice of by the pool or on the beach: the pool was a perfect temperature but because it isn't deep enough to dive into (about 4 foot at the deepest) there were people swimming but no kids dive bombing. The food was a definite high point - the fish was perfectly cooked and seasoned - and the wine list very reasonably priced. Service was also just right, friendly and attentive but not hovering. If you want to explore Abruzzo from the coast then Silvi Marina is a great choice (much nicer than Pescara) and if you choose Silvi Marina then there's no better place to be based than the Hotel Mion.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Copperfield27Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

My wife and I have lost count of the number of times we have stayed at the Mion. Each year we tell ourseves we will do something different but the allure of the Mion proves too strong. We have booked to go again this year!
It is difficult to find a fault with the hotel. It has been owned and operated by the Mion family for 50 years and each year there is some small improvement.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and redecorated each year. The attention to detail is quite unique for such a small hotel,from the reception through to the restaurant and beyond to the terrace,garden and private beach.
The excellent food is Italian,served by Italians. No concessions here to International fare.
The hotel is part of the Charme and Relax group which really sums it up. It is both charming and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a20hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

A four star hotel with 5 star service. This was our fourth trip to Mion. We met so many other returnees, one person was back for the tenth time. The hotel is clean, well maintained and with beautiful grounds. It sits right on the beach. After a stressful work year we were looking for somewhere to unwind and Mion delivered once more. We could not fault the service. Without fail everyone had our interest at heart. They were so attentive, friendly and efficient which broke down any language barriers. Mion sets high standards and always delivers. The food is also of a high standard with fresh fish the highlight. After 2 weeks we were sad to be leaving. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DustyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

I was staying at the Mion for one week in July 2009 with my wife and we really enjoyed our holiday. The atmosphere is elegant but the presence of charming members of the Mion Family makes everything easy and informal. They and their great staff are not simply doing their job, our immediate impression was that they were offering much more than the expected standard services. They immediately know our names and memorised our interest for oenology: The second day they arranged for us a visit at two wonderful wineries in the country. Before reaching the hotel back from our excursions we had a flat, about 2 Km. from the hotel. We are aged people and don't feel comfortable with tire changing. We called the hotel using our mobile and Roberto Mion, the owner of the hotel, sent us 2 of his guys who changed the tire in a flash. This is just an example for the sense of ospitality we could enjoy during or stay.
The hotel is incredibly clean and the restaurant is serving the finest italian cuisine: no matter what we chose, meat, fish, pasta, soups, everything tasted fantastic. We heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magellans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

I have just spent a couple of weeks at this beachfront hotel, owned and managed by the Mion family.
Its greatest strength is the food, really superb for a relatively small 4star hotel, with dinners of four courses and, at each course, the choice among five dishes almost never repeated; besides, a good selection of wines at fair prices.
All the interiors are very clean, well furnished and comfortable including the rooms even if the size of the bahrooms is terribly small.
The private beach is sandy,very broad,clean and well kept, with sunbeds and umbrellas at a reasonable distance between the relevant users.
The service is excellent at all levels inside the hotel ( reception, rooms, bar, restaurant ), while it should be improved outside, where it is carried out by the pool and beach attendants, boys who are most nice and friendly but insufficiently trained and/or supervised. In fact, at the beach they are practically invisible ( but, if you manage to find them, they are kind and helpful ); at the swimming pool they are always present but unsuited to the role. For instance, during my stay there was a group of Britons, surely not among the winners of a good manners competition, who did completely ignore the international behaviour rules to be observed at the pools, also towards the other guests, but no attendant or anybody else did ever intervene.
Other positive features of the hotel are the presence at night of an unusually good pianist and vocalist, the free use of bicycles and the free, unlimited use of a computer with access to internet.
In conclusion, the warm hospitality of the Mion family, the first-rate food, the beautiful beach and, last but not least, the fair prices, make this hotel a recommendable one.

Rinaldo Pellegrini, Milan ( Italy )

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rinaldino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silvi Marina hotels
0.5 mi away
Abruzzo Marina Hotel
Abruzzo Marina Hotel
#1 of 22 in Silvi Marina
495 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermitage Hotel Club & Spa
Hermitage Hotel Club & Spa
#4 of 22 in Silvi Marina
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cirillo
Hotel Cirillo
#2 of 22 in Silvi Marina
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#12 of 22 in Silvi Marina
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#8 of 22 in Silvi Marina
112 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elena Club Resort
Elena Club Resort
#16 of 22 in Silvi Marina
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mion

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 22, 64028 Silvi Marina, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Teramo > Silvi Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Silvi Marina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Silvi Marina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Silvi Marina
#3 Family Hotel in Silvi Marina
Price Range: £105 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mion 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fine sandy beach, a long shaded avenue, crystal clear sea reflecting the green hills: this is the context in which is set, with taste and refinement, the Mion Hotel, member of the Charme & Relax group.The Hotel, with swimming pool and garden overlooking the sea, lies deep in the dark green of Mediterranean scrub and is the ideal place for those who are looking for an holiday in touch with nature.The interiors, sophisticated and brights, directly face the sea and for those who love sport there are ample scope of fun.Mediterranean restaurant with service on the terrace by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Mion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mion Hotel Silvi Marina
Hotel Mion Silvi Marina, Italy - Abruzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing