We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food”

Ristorante Garibaldi
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Sottomarina
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Every item we ordered was excellent. Mainly variety of fish preparations. Service was poor. Restaurant was crowded and only few persons to serve a large clientele.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SudhirSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    120
    36
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best crudo and seafood in Venice area”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have visited Ristorante Garibaldi several times and always with great and positive memories. This is one of the best and our favorites see food restaurants in Italy and for sure best crudo in Venice area, especially that in party style Sottomarina you can find elegant and stylish place with exceptional cuisine. To be honest it is the only reason we visit Sottomarina.

Family ran restaurant, husband is chef, wife helps him in the kitchen and last time daughter was waitress, only few tables, so reservation is required. Always very high standard of meals, always the best quality what is case of crudo is very important. Great and professional service. Place really worth recommendation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaKrk_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chioggia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Garibaldi was a great man and Garibaldi is a Great Restaurant in Sottomarina (VE)”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Buon giorno - Hello again after somewhat of a long silence .
My last review was about me enjoying a great setting for lunch in Moissac Bellevue in the Haut Var in the South of France at the Hôtel Calalou ...
change of décor , change of country - this time in the Veneto Province of Italy in Chioggia - Sottomarina on the southern tip of the Laguna di Venezia /Venice Lagoon /Adriatic .
This dates from last Friday , 26th October where I was meeting up with family for a few days to introduce them to the lovely historic canal town and beach resort ( and one of the major fishing ports in the North Adriatic )
of Chioggia Sottomarina .
The evening was not particularly inviting - it was raining heavily for hours and lo and behold -
my cousin had discovered a restaurant called Garibaldi on Via San Marco in Sottomarina.
The small entrance terrace in the front is tastefully planted all the year around and there are flowering plants too .
A communal car park is right opposite - for information there is also a cyber centre called Internet House a few doors on in the curve of the road after a garage and a dry cleaning /laundry shop . I " internet " f rom the cyber place - it is well run and the people there are well behaved .

To come back to the restaurant , the room is simply elegant and has a nice characeter about it .
There are candle lights on the tables in the evening , which are replaced by flowers/soliflor roses
at lunchtime . The roses were of excellent quality .

The menu / à la carte menu is a joy to read -
no meat but it regales with a lot of choice from the fish and sea food world .
Prices are moderate for the quality of the restaurant. The presentation of the dishes is excellent
and as for the contents , they are superb .
We had a marvellous meal and despite the rain beating down came outside feeling very elated .

Some lovely biscottini were served in a nice dish at the end of the meal - even though we did not have coffee or infusions . They were still warm .
Once again , delicious .
To end off this gastronomic delight of an evening , we were presented with some of the
biscottini to take with us .

The maïtre d'hôtel was very pleasant and efficient and Bruna was a delight .
She and her husband are now the third generation in the establishment and their daughter helps out too . Bruna and the daughter do certain things in the kitchen , which is visible from the dining room . Mamma does the bread even and desserts .
The owner chef is very elegant in his manner and courteous too .
All in all , it was an experience which we all really enjoyed and will remember .

Grazie Bruna e tutti per questa sera fantastica .
Merci Bruna et vos collègues , nous avons passé une soirée superbe .

Saro da voi , la prossima volta che mi trovo a Sottomarina .
A presto , à bientôt , see you soon .
Best wishes ,
Alan

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alainwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful discovery in torrential rain”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I found this restaurant by chance...was looking for a restaurant for dinner later and walked in torrential rain ......saw nothing that appealed and was dejected and soaked when I spotted the Restaurant Garibaldi ....I booked on my return to the hotel and my husband, cousin - who lives in France but has a house in Chioggia - and myself had the MOST amazing meal. We adore Italy and visit at least once a year but this was the best pasta I have ever tasted. Superb menu, good and modestly priced wine list. The owners ...third generation...and maitre d' were utterly charming.
We live in London and this restaurant matches the best of dining there. Worth visiting Sottomarina/ Chioggia just to eat at the Garibaldi.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 709Gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a memorable evening”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My daughter and I dined here for my daughters birthday. We had such a lovely evening. The waiter was attentive, helpful with wine and meal selection. We both enjoyed our meals. When the owner found out that it was my daughter's birthday, she presented her with a little bag of biscotti. What a very nice end to a memorable evening. I only wish we lived here so we could come more often.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank linatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Garibaldi also viewed

Chioggia, Province of Venice
Chioggia, Province of Venice
 
Chioggia, Province of Venice
Chioggia, Province of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Garibaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing