We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mi piace”

Taverna La Lanterna
Ranked #26 of 173 Restaurants in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mi piace”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

That was my first italian restaurant to which brought me my boyfriend two years ago. Since that time we're coming back there from time to time. The place is in the center of centro storico. Very good regional food, nice and friendly stuff speaking english and very cheap prices. The interior is in charming, italian and modest style. A place to recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrillaPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    205
    77
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“great local cuisine”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had dinner upon recommendation from a local. nice place friendly waitress. Aproblem we experienced all throughout Umbria( not just here) is the selective better attention locals get. a local couple walked in after us and were doted on. Food was great. overall a good experience

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, limited menu.”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The food was good and well presented by attentive and helpful staff. We went there a number of times during our stay in Spoleto. We would have come back more often, but the menu was a bit limited. Most of the dishes on offer were variations on grilled lamb or pork - all very well cooked but there's a limit on how often you want to eat them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Prosciutto e melone to die for”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Lanterna offers much character, friendly welcome and the heartwarming and reassuring sight of two mature and very experienced-looking chefs in the kitchen.
It took a bit to decide what to have, as the menu spoils for choices. We eventually selected starters of bruschette miste and prosciutto e melone. The bruschette were very nice with various vegetable toppings, but the prosciutto e melone was awesome. The prosciutto, a local produce, was cut by hand, served generously and had a wonderful taste. Definitely the star dish of the evening for us.
The mains were meat and home made pasta, all enjoyed. Sadly the only dessert we would have forced ourself to eat at the end, the local chocolate tarte, had all gone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trepesciolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I loved this restaurant. Charming staff and great food. My wife is vegetarian and this place always had quality vegetarian food but with great meat options as well.
I ate a variety of things over 2 stays highlights were the great spelt salads and gnocchi. They also had some really good local beers and quality house wines. No hesitation in recommending this as the best place we ate in Spoleto.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyJaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna La Lanterna also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Taverna La Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing