We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner in a warm atmosphere.”

Trattoria "La Torretta"
Ranked #7 of 173 Restaurants in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely dinner in a warm atmosphere.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Many people mentioned the same things in their reviews. We dined here several times while spending two weeks in Spoleto. The family who run the restaurant were friendly and helpful. They helped me with my poor Italian and made it a fun experience. The food and service were very good - house wines also. The figs with proscuitto and the pasta and cinghale were delicious and we had pleanty to it. We enjoyed our meals greatly. Location is good - close to the duomo and the historic places, but in a quiet area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    168
    38
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing--don't waste your money”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had lunch and dinner out in Spoleto for a week, and this was by far the most disappointing. I had a sense that this restaurant was coasting on its location and 'elegance', but there was not the proper emphasis on food or service. First, the food--it is mediocre and too expensive compared with other excellent offerings around Spoleto. We started with rather average bruschetta for 8 euro, then moved on to a thin but tasty farro soup and minestrone (barely warm), and the poorest version of strangozzi alla spoletina that had a strange aftertaste and no heat. Then a grilled lamb that was overly salted and average quality. Our side dish never arrived, but we were charged anyway. Service was brusque, bordering on rude, a far cry from the warm welcome we received at other restaurants (see my glowing review of Osteria del Trivio, where we were treated like family). And the bill for our very average bruschetta, soup, bad pasta, salty lamb and one glass of wine (which had so much sediment, a quarter of it was undrinkable)? 54 euros. Give this one a miss and eat at these much better options: Osteria del Trivio, Ristorante del Mercato, Osteria dell'Enoteca, Osteria del Matto.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dancetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schelle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food and very friendly service”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Extremely friendly service: not too much, not too less: just the right balance in feeling comfortable and feeling treated like a king.
The food was marvellous: ravioli con brancaleone, truffle omelette, tasteful wine, wonderful dessert....we enjoyed every bite of it. Recommended and another place we will return to on a next trip to Umbria.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant with good food.”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This restaurant is pleasantly situated slightly away from the main tourist routes, a little way below the cathedral and not far from the town walls. The food and service was very good and the prices are reasonable. We enjoyed it very much, but it was not outstanding.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EyesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We enjoyed lunch here on a rainy cool day. The place was quiet ( maybe due to the rain) and the food was good. Servings not to big and price reasonable. Would recommend .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jann58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria "La Torretta" also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Trattoria "La Torretta"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing