We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing dinner in Umbria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria del Matto

Osteria del Matto
Ranked #13 of 173 Restaurants in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Totton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing dinner in Umbria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stumbled on this restuarant when staying in Spoleto. The dinner is whatever 'mamma' is cooking that day. We had about 8different courses, small tasters of true Umbrian food. All homemade and delicious. Service fantastic and excellent value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    319
    73
    40
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An entertaining atmosphere with mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This restaurant may be OK if you are seeking an unusual dining experience and are not really bothered about the quality of the food. The restaurant was full of tourists rather than local Italians. There was no choice and plates of food arrived at intervals. The ingredients were cheap. A jug of local wine was also provided in the price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“As good as we remembered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We last ate in this restaurant 8 years ago and thought it was one of the best meals and best dining experiences we ever had. We shared a large table with several other couples from all over the world - it was a great night.

This time the 3 of us had a table to ourselves but due to the proximity of other diners we got chatting to a woman from Mexico (whom we then seemed to bump into everywhere we went).

Basically, it's like a tasting menu but you don't get to see the menu. There are just dishes after dishes of food (and carafes of wine) brought to your table. Philipo the owner speaks good English so we were able to be told what we were about to eat - and therefore had the opportunity to decline the tripe !! Other than that, we ate and enjoyed everything and the meal lasted about 3 hours. The cost was something like £25 - £30 each which we thought was very good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shona-Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Makes you feel good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This place gets five for the overall feel and experience rather than pure "gourmet delights".
In general, Filipo wanders round talking to people, his sister does most of the table service, and his Mum runs the kitchen, turning out Umbrian favourites. These roles can often be shifted around, and you might also get a visit from Filipo's wife and young kids.
You eat what comes, and I think I lost count at ten courses, but don't worry too much: some are very small, like some truffle paste on a square of toast. We had ample (!) house red wine, which was quite acceptable. However, If we go back (which I certainly would!), I'd ask il matto to find me a bottle of some special red.
A good, fun night cost 50 Euro for the two of us, which seemed very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great simple food served straight up in an atmosphere that's weird in a slightly disorienting and pleasant way. We lost count but about eight courses with house wine for EU25 each. All up, really satisfying for the last meal of our holiday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Matto also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Osteria del Matto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing