We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Came as guests, left as friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
Living room Terrace-garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Terrace
Living room
Terrace-garden
Living room
Living-dining room
Kitchen-dinig corner
Double bedroom
Double Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Master Bedroom
'with shower'
Private Drive to Apartment
Swimming pool
Pool in privacy of the olive grove
Your Hosts, Ludovico & Francesca
Spoleto Duomo
The garden
Arriving at La Licina
Spoleto 'La Rocca '
Sunset at La Licina
view from the bedroom
Castelluccio di Norcia
La Licina panoramic view
One of the several wild orchids in the garden of La Licina
The Chapel in the main house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Spoleto, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GMummy
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Came as guests, left as friends”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We will be staying at La Licina this September for the second time. I really should have written a review when we returned from there in September of 2012 but just never got around to it. So here it is, better late than never, as they say. Our trip to Italy in 2012 was our fourth trip there together. The first week of the trip was at a small agritourismo (farm) in Tuscany. Although it was an interesting experience, it turned out to be not quite what we had expected. We had decided before we left the US that we also wanted to fit in a side trip, once we got to Spoleto, to the Abruzzo region to trace my husband's grandfather, who had been born there. However, that ended up never happening, not because of any problem though. The moment we arrived at La Licina and walked into the apartment called La Ginestra, we knew we couldn't leave it for a 2-4 day side trip. We scrapped all plans to go to Abruzzo and very happily spent 7 nights at La Licina. The views are beautiful and peaceful; the apartment is spacious and well-appointed; and the town has everything you need. What Spoleto doesn't have is too many tourists, so we were thrilled to be able to feel as if we were living in Italy for our week there and not like we were in the center of a mob of tourists. (To be fair, I know that there are many tourists there during their famous music festival, but in September, there weren't). We decided for the first time not to rent a car and were able to get by just fine without that expense. Ludovico met us at the train station upon arrival, and he or Francesca were happy to give us a lift occasionally if we asked. Sometimes they even showed up out of nowhere when it happened to be raining, even though we hadn't called them and they didn't know our schedule for the day. However, we were quite happy to walk into town to coffee shops, restaurants and shops and places of interest. We could also walk to a Conad (huge grocery/super store) where we could get anything we needed for cooking on our own in the apartment or just for breakfast. (We chose to only do breakfast). You can walk through the pasture to La Macchia, a small hotel with a wonderful restaurant, with a very friendly owner and staff. We walked to the train station in Spoleto and did day trips to other Umbrian towns like Assissi. Quite simply, it felt like we were in heaven. Our very favorite memories of our stay there are of the famous golden Umbrian skies in the early evening and of Francesca and Ludovico. We arrived as guests but by the time we left, we felt like we had gained two new friends--and we have. We can't wait to see them again in several months. Ok, now I'll admit the real reason why I didn't write this review sooner. It wasn't only that I "didn't get around to it," it was that I wanted to keep this special place a secret. But that's really not fair since reviews on Trip Advisor and information and reviews from Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay Italy helped us find it. Besides, Francesca and Ludovico deserve a wonderful review; and most importantly, we're already booked for this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners and the beautiful golden Umbrian skies in the evening
Liked least: There wasn't anything we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to town, but felt secluded.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nancy B
Sechelt, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“La Licina - a winning combination of country charm and great hospitality”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

La Licina feels like a "home away from home". The colder than average weather this stay forced us to spend more time in doors. La Ginestra was a comfortable and cozy place to relax and take meals. The beauty of this corner of Umbria and the exceptional helpfulness of Ludovico and Francesca are a balm to any traveller's soul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and helpfulness of the owners, Francesca and Ludovico. The beautiful setting.
Liked least: I was fully satisfied with my stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy_Carol
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Umbrian peace [--] tranquility”
Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This is a beautiful place in peaceful and scenic countryside. The rooms are spacious and well appointed - a trifle chilly at night at this time of year (heating is available) but lovely and cool in the days (the weather was mostly fantastic). The donkeys and cats are friendly which is a good job when crossing the fields to the fantastic nearby restaurant - La Macchia.

Our hosts Ludovico and Francesca could not have been more welcoming and helpful.

We took the train to Rome for a 1 night stay - easy journey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwineurop...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Blissful location, accommodation and wonderful care.”
Reviewed 7 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed at La Licina- Ginestra for five all too brief days recently. The location of this beautifully restored 17C farmhouse in the Umbrian hills was perfect to explore Umbrian hill towns or just to relax and enjoy local delights. Hosts Ludovico and Francesca provided fantastic support and advice with tips and bookings at wonderful local restaurants, off the beaten track villages to visit and wonderful care when my husband became ill. Our stay at La Licina is the highlight of our vacation in Italy and we will return in 2013 with our family. Perfect with stunning location, beautiful property and apartments and closeness to Spoleto with fantastic walking in the Umbrian countryside!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 1 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Beautiful cool apartment, a few minutes drive from Spoleto, which is the ideal holiday town - neither too big nor too small, lots to see, not too many tourists. The views are just as good as in the photos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa Valley, CA
Reviewed 21 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing