We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run away. Not worth even one euro” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Collicola Arti Visive

Palazzo Collicola Arti Visive
Ranked #17 of 62 things to do in Spoleto
Attraction details
Istanbul
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Run away. Not worth even one euro”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I like art. I like modern art. I like contemporary, wacky, paint-spatters-on-the-wall art.

But this place is just bad and boring. Even if you have tons of time to kill and one of those "all museums in Spoleto" tickets, don't spend your caloric energy walking around this dreadful museum. And PS: don't waste your money on the all-in-one ticket. The Casa Romana and that fort on the hilltop are super boring too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank travel9873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mmmmm.... Not the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Found the modern art section to be very basic and uninteresting. I would not waste my money visiting again. The teenagers laughed that several bits of art could have been done by someone in kindergarten .... or worse... Their own mother.

The first floor, with the ancient art was better... But there was a temporary modern art exhibition housed amongst the ancient art that was completely distracting and out of place. The most beautiful room in the palace, with fabulous wall and ceiling paintings had several sets of bicycle wheels hanging from the ceiling. Yugghhhhh!

We had been to the photographic museum and exhibition in Nice a few weeks ago, and had absolutely adored it. So, I was looking forward to the temporary photographic exhibition. But the photos were all very much the same and not very inspiring.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThomasSmith876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly beautiful museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

As this is a modern art museum(usually not my thing), I kept it until the end of my stay. But I was very pleasantly surprised. The modern art is varied and interesting(a whole room by Sol Lewitt !), the museum also has the city ancient painting collection on display(interesting portraits etc) and a photo exhibition and especially : it is housed in a fantastic old palazzo refurbished in the 18th century. The painted ceilings and frescoed gallery merit a visit on their own already !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValideSultane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
235 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fantastic Collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The collection is extensive with works by modern Italian artists as well as works by Alexander Calder and Sol Lewitt. The three level palazzo itself is a beautiful building to house all of this great artwork and it is definitely worth a visit, although the 9 Euro entrance is probably a bit steep.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GourmetTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level Contributor
242 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very interesting modern art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This old palazzo has a good collection of modern art, much of it commissioned by the Festival.
There are sketches by Calder for his monumental sculpture by the railway station, and some very interesting ceramics. Well worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palazzo Collicola Arti Visive also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Palazzo Collicola Arti Visive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing