We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
State of Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
238 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I enjoyed staying at this small hotel in the historical center. The rooms are tiny, but clean and modern.
Pros: location, friendly staff, no free wifi, minibar, nice soap
Cons: parking (we parked quite far away because the area is ZTL), breakfast, shower (no water power)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4Fun_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    83
    45
    13
    8
See reviews for
31
79
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have stayed at this charming hotel many times, the staff are wonderful and the food in their restaurant is stunning.
The views from the upper rooms are stunning.
I hope we return soon

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cameraman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Don't expect luxury but enjoy a clean, spacious room. Some have balconies. My 2nd stay here. Great place and would stay here again. Nicely located in the upper town. Friendly service but don't expect a lot of English. I enjoyed using my limited Italian. Breakfast was basic but well done in the Italian way. Drive to the hotel, back into the alley, park, drop your luggage, get the parking pass, and go to the parking lot. My only issue this time was that the parking pass never worked. It was graciously replaced by the hotel but even after replacement, it did not work at the big parking lot. When I left, it even stumped the parking staff.

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

3* hotels in Italy are hit or miss. The Aurora is a very good one. The hotel is clean, bright, and obviously well-cared for. I found the rooms to be nice, clean and quiet. The included breakfast is pretty standard...rolls, cold cereal, ham and cheese. Cable TV, but no channels in any language other than Italian. Don't expect much from the bar...we were told they only had red or white wine to offer when we asked for a drink, even though all the other bottles of alcohol were plainly visible! You can't beat the location in the center of town.

Room Tip: Room 56 has a double bed and a separate twin bed in its own alcove.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FCO_SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Small 3 star hotel immediately off the piazza, within the gates, on your left. It is situated in an old building, recessed from the street and has a little garden at the front. However, Spoleto is being rebuilt (we counted 9 building sites from the "Rock") so the view from the room was not what it probably usually is.
The hotel is clean and the staff friendly however you need to be good on foot to reach the room (several flights of stairs, no room on the ground floor and no elevator).
We asked for two single beds and they gave us a family room (one double bed and one single bed) so we had a huge room and nice bathroom.
For 3 Euros you get a ticket to the underground parking. Be sure to drive up to the hotel and leave your luggage first as the entrance to the parkhouse is outside the city walls.
Breakfast includes a nice selection of pastries but also cheese and sausages. Coffee is very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichalM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I wrote a review about this hotel four years ago. I've been back several times and decided to submit an updated review. The Aurora is in a wonderful position in Spoleto - at the top of the old town. Its a hotel for the budget conscious and my (or Ireland's) finances haven't improved in the last few years. Myself and the cousin got a great price deal for our four nights stay (€260 in total). Our (fairly big) room had two double beds and was clean, comfortable, quiet and safe. Staff were all pleasant. Breakfast was grand. Hope to go back to this hotel on many more occasions. Thank you all in Hotel Aurora for another pleasant stay. G

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet. Situated in the heart of old Spoleto just off a great little piazza. Within walking distance of the marvelous cathedral and the aqueduct. We waited a long time for a taxi at the train station but after a call to the hotel one arrived shortly.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnniefromelgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#5 of 30 in Spoleto
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#3 of 30 in Spoleto
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#14 of 30 in Spoleto
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Clarici
Hotel Clarici
#9 of 30 in Spoleto
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#11 of 30 in Spoleto
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Apollinare 3, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Spoleto, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing