We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel, great food”
Review of Hotel Dei Duchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dei Duchi
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel, great food”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely hotel during our tour. What a great position, right in this old, interesting town with so much to see. The breakfasts were the best we've encountered during our tour of France and Italy. Just delicious, as were the dinners we had in the hotel. Wonderful views of the Umbrian countryside from our bedroom. Well recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    200
    41
    12
    2
See reviews for
101
235
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This has to be the best place to stay in Spoleto. It is right next to the ancient Roman theater And you can walk everywhere in the beautiful old city. The rooms are large and bright and even have a mini fridge. The staff was very kind and helpful. And the breakfast is by far the best we have had in over a month in Italy. It is easy to get to by car and parking is available. The hotel has an elevator and some very nice sitting areas. It also has a restaurant. An outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We LOVED Dei Duchi! It had everything I like in a hotel- great friendly service, large no smoking rooms, a quiet location away from traffic, a good restaurant, a good price, view rooms- and nothing I don't like like construction and busy traffic. Special thanks to Patrizia who helped arrange our stay.

This hotel is located near to everything you want to see, while some other hotels will require a taxi ride each time you want to come to the old town. We just took a bus from the train station to the end of the line, which is right near the hotel.

Dei Duchi, incidentally, in no way refers to El Duchi, who was Mussolini. It just means "The Duke."

All in all, a fabulous place to stay. It was a perfect choice!

Room Tip: For a little more, you can get a view room- and what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockmktgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

There is little doubt that this hotel offers comfort, tranquillity, excellent relaxation areas both inside and out and charming service. When I expressed anxiety concerning the few number of parking places in front of the building, I was reassured by the positive responses of the staff:If you turn up and can find no space at all you are given a permit for local parking nearby. In addition, double parking appears to be allowed in the evening but at no time were we blocked in.( Did the car owners hand in their keys to staff? It was all a bit of a mystery.)I felt that if a problem arose concerning this ( or any other aspect of your stay) the staff would deal with it sympathetically and effectively. The only negative comment I would make concerns the restaurant set menu which did not do justice to this excellent hotel. There was little choice: pasta, with a sauce that tasted suspiciously as if it had come out of a packet, very fatty lamb chops with little real meat on them served with chips and a pudding. Had we not been so tired from our long journey we probably would have either paid more to choose our own meal or visited the nearby eating places. However, this did not detract from a very enjoyable three night stay, during which, inter alia, we walked to the nearby ancient bridge from which countless lovers have flung themselves into the gorge below, and rode on the spanking new system of about ten escalators which connect the old town with the new. In general, If you travel in May, look out for the Mille Milia race which brings what must be hundreds of lovely old cars chasing through the city and right past the hotel on a three day event. We were lucky enough to be among the crowds cheering on the leather helmeted drivers, many of whom paused at a local bar to quaff a glass of Prosecco provided by supporters and wave nonchalantly to the crowd before roaring off in clouds of noxious exhaust fumes that brought back memories of earlier motoring days for the writer.

Room Tip: Our room at the rear was quiet and had an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshdragon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed for two nights. We had booked a 'triple room' so were very pleasantly surprised when placed in an area with a 1 bed room and a double bed room that shared a toilet and separate bathroom (three hand-basins all together). That gave our teenage daughter extra privacy!

The hotel has an excellent location about 50 metres away from the main square in the 'top' part of Spoleto, with level walking, and access from the main SS3 road is very easy, but make sure you take Spoleto Sud, not Spoleto Nord. Plenty of good restaurants nearby.

Parking was easy too.

The hotel is very modern, and kept immaculately clean. Breakfast was tasty and generous. The staff were professional and informative. Wi-fi signal could have been better - the router on our floor was out of action (or needed resetting) but we could connect to another one in the building.

All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: 101 and 102 was an excellent choice as a 'triple room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigmadelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed for four nights in this four star hotel and did not regret it. You can reach it easily from the station with a bus that goes four times each hour. Rooms are large and provide everything you need. Personnel is service oriented and helpfull. If you want you can dine there, though we have not done so. Breakfast was unitalian: very good and well provided with lots of cheeses.
Minor problem was that in the early evening and morning you cols hear a road at a distance. However, although I am sensitieve to that, it was certainly not a dealbreaker (you could easily close the window and the problem disappeared). We can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BramNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

This was a terrific hotel. Being alone, I am used to getting a room the size of a closet. That was not the case here. I had a really spacious room and a good size bathroom. It is a really nice looking hotel, nicely appointed lounge, well kept grounds, and a good location. There was one woman at the desk that seemed to have an attitude, but I won't let that detract from my stay there. This is a really nice hotel.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank calitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#5 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#7 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#14 of 30 in Spoleto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Duchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Duchi

Property: Hotel Dei Duchi
Address: Viale Giacomo Matteotti 4, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
#5 Family Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Duchi 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dei Duchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Duchi Hotel
Dei Duchi Spoleto
Hotel Dei Duchi Spoleto, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing