We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Hotel with Excellent Staff & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dei Duchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dei Duchi
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Fine Hotel with Excellent Staff & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have stayed at Hotel dei Duchi every summer for the last four years with a wonderful organization called Umbrian Serenades, and have found the accommodations to be excellent. Hotel dei Duchi's staff is helpful and attentive, the breakfast is wonderful, and the town of Spoleto itself is an 18th century stage set. Beautiful! I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Roman Amphitheater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    197
    41
    12
    2
See reviews for
98
233
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I rated this hotel a five last year, and am happy to say it was just as wonderful the second time. Same great views, great breakfasts, and great location, at the head of the Corso, just off the Piazza della Liberta. The rooms are pleasant and well designed. But the staff is the best of all: from front desk to dining room to cleaning staff, unfailingly pleasant and helpful and efficient. And the price is reasonable. A great 4-star experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fgcouvares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night as we passed through Umbria, Italy. The hotel, room and view from our balcony exceeded our expectations. It was clean, nicely decorated and had an amazing view of the vineyards, park and surrounding hills. It was a short walk to any of the main attractions. They also had a nice breakfast and free parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Brandi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here at the last minute after canceling a reservation in Perugia and wanting to stay somewhere different. The hotel held a room for us without a deposit. When we got there, we were more than happy with the room and the hotel. It was located a short walk to the center of town and only 5 minutes from the Aquaduct. Breakfast was included in the more than reasonable price. We'd stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H2ORat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Big, extremely clean room, but this was another room reserved through booking.com....every reservation done this way we were allocated worst position in the hotel. Advertised country views...well the car park isn't the country!! The positive side was everything else about the hotel, breakfast was great.
Located just outside the historic part if city, heaps to see.

Room Tip: our room was excellent but no view...overlooked car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is just out side the sleepy little town of Spoleto a town the tourist route has missed. The hotel has an excellent restaurant all the food whether breakfast or dinner was terrific. Views were amazing from the restaurant- a wall of windows over looking the valley.
Majority of the staff were very helpful except for an older man at the reception desk who prefers to ignore patrons especially females. It can be very annoying to be ignored when you would like the key to your room or to fix up your account. Room and bathroom-were a good size for Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the valley. Rooms over the car park can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Although we had been booked into a non-smoking room, on arrival we were allocated to a stinking, non-smoking room, complete with large ash tray. When we spoke with staff at desk, we were told that room could be aired...... We declined this as totally inadequate & were then given a pleasant clean room.
Room had a very small safe loose on top shelf in wardrobe. It was very light so I moved it down a shelf. Another fellow guest found his room's safe did not work so staff carried it downstairs to replace the battery... We suggested that the safes not being fixed in position provided very limited security. Staff said that this arrangement was as per the hotel's policy.
Apart from the above, the hotel was great. Room was of a good size. Food including breakfast was excellent. Free wifi. We had 2 nights here.
Museum & ruins of Roman amphitheatre right next door was a bonus, which should be advertised more.
Spoleto is a very interesting town, not crowded with tourists & a pleasure to visit

Room Tip: If room reeks from previous smokers, insist on a new clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dstargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#5 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#7 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#13 of 30 in Spoleto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Duchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Duchi

Property: Hotel Dei Duchi
Address: Viale Giacomo Matteotti 4, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
#5 Family Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Duchi 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dei Duchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Duchi Hotel
Dei Duchi Spoleto
Hotel Dei Duchi Spoleto, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing