We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can find it, it's a great alternative to in-town”
Review of Hotel Gattapone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gattapone
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you can find it, it's a great alternative to in-town”
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We booked ahead based on on-line reviews. A bit of a struggle to get there (medieval streets and all that), but once there found the location quiet and scenic. Finding our way to the centro and back was fun, and also good exercise (Spoleto ain't flat). Very good breakfast, interesting view of the aquaduct. We walked across the valley via the aquaduct and got an interesting view of the hotel & the city. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuscanWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    55
    21
    6
    0
See reviews for
9
88
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

Wonderful hotel with the most stunning views in all of Spoleto. Staff was very helpful and graciously allowed us to store our luggage for several hours after check-out until departing for the train station. Our room had the most wonderful view of the tree-lined gorge crossed by the beautiful Ponte delle Torri bridge. Be sure to take advantage of the peaceful patio on the back of the hotel overlooking the gorge for a quick smoke or lingering glass of wine. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visitng Spoleto.

  • Liked — Perfect location with beautiful views.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisvillegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

You certainly cannot beat the location...at the overlook of the gorge and bridge, simply beautiful. Got the superior Room..it was very nice, good sized w/ a large bathroom. Tough to shower in the tub w/out getting water all over the place, though. Also, the air conditioning was mediocre at best. It was ok for me as I was traveling alone, but if my girlfriend had been along, she would not have been happy. So I would just recommend you check the a/c out as soon as you get in the room to see if it meets your needs.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — air conditioning barely tolerable
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank neruda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

We stayed in la Gattapone for four nights. The hotel is wonderfully located, close to the main sights in Spoleto. The view from the rooms at the 14th century Ponte delle Torri is magnificent. The common rooms were nicely furnished. Our room was spacious with the necessary amenities. The only problem was the airconditioning which hardly functioned. The absence of a real shower was slightly inconvenient. The hotel staff is professional and helpful, including advicing on restaurants in the area. Breakfast was fine, though nothing extraordinary.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johannes911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
281 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 562 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

This hotel is in a beautiful location and I first stayed there over 20 years ago when it was fresh, hip, the place to be. Unfortunately times have changed. It is tired, run down and a bit sad. The walls are covered in tributes from starlets and celebrities of the 60s and 70s but no one of any note seems to have stayed recently. The staff are nice and the rooms are clean and certainly there is no hardship in staying there (apart from breakfast, which was pathetic) but Spoleto surely has much better places. Incidentally, even though the Spoleto Festival was on we were one of two couples staying in the hotel.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

The other reviews are spot on. The Gattapone is a superb hotel. I was only sorry we couldn’t stay longer. It’s very European in terms of size and character – we were the only North Americans staying there. The rooms (just 15 of them) are scattered around on the various levels and all have magnificent views of the aqueduct. It gives the hotel an intimate quality. It’s almost like staying at a private home, as if you had a really cool Italian friend who was an architect or an artist. Design magazines in various languages suggest the clientele has a creative bent. The Gattapone is perhaps starting to show its age - everything was of top quality when originally installed and still works fine - but that was probably 25 years ago. Even so, its charm remains undiminished. Small, interesting touches abound – for example, the wrought-iron balconies are custom-made in the distinctive HG shape of the hotel’s logo. Not to be missed is the world’s most perfect café just a few feet away, an ideal place to while away an afternoon.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aquadotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2006

Beautiful location and town. The setting of this hotel is truly unique. At the top of the town, directly next to the Ponte delle Torri bridge and Rocca Albornoz fortress, with paved walking path and mountain hiking trails nearby. Small market/restaurant very near for last minute buys.
Room stayed in, #46, had best view of hotel with nothing between to block sight of Ponte delle Torri and rest of beautiful setting.
Custom-made coffee service is one of highlights at breakfast, with the other being great croissants and chocolate chip coffee cake. Variety given for breakfast across our 2 night stay. Of all the hotels we walked by in Spoleto, Hotel Gattapone, I'm pretty sure, can't be beat - based on the view, service, setting, and the beauty of the actual hotel.

Stayed September 2003
Helpful?
4 Thank ImOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#5 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#7 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gattapone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gattapone

Property: Hotel Gattapone
Address: Via Giro del Ponte 6, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gattapone 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gattapone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gattapone Hotel Spoleto
Hotel Gattapone Spoleto, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing