We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel San Luca at the recommendation of our travel agent and it was an excellent choice! We enjoyed 4 days at this small, family run hotel which offers spacious rooms that are well appointed and clean. Our hosts, Federica and Paolo, were most helpful and gracious. As others have mentioned, it is in an excellent location within walking distance to center of Spoleto and restaurants. We definitely recommend this hotel to others traveling to the Toscany/Umbria regions and we will most certainly stay again if we return to this area on future trips to Italy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesarina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Luca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked several rooms for our extended family and they were spotless, with large bathrooms (a bonus in Italy) and large bedrooms. Having a secure and easy to access garage was also a bonus. Service was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was the usual selection of pastries and cakes, with good coffee. A couple of downsides though. The location of the hotel is at the bottom of Spoleto and the walk to the top of the town where all the major attractions are was a very steep twenty minute walk. This caused problems for the older member of our party and led us to change our dinner bookings to somewhere lower down. Also, we found the hotel's hot water system very erratic and difficult to adjust to a comfortable temperature. Hopefully this will be a temporary problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mosquito Magnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely hotel.
Fantastic breakfast, good location, helpful staff.
We opted for the Comfort Room package, well worth it.!!
Nice sized room, a balcony with nice views, plus a bath.!
Very clean and comfortable.
A very short distance from very good cafe/restauraunts.
(Try "Novecentro" for something different)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen_Deno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_San_Luca, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Mrs Karen,
we are happy thet you loved he size of the room, its balcony as well as the view!
The distance is not a problem, if you like walking in the wonders of such a beautiful town....
Thank you again,
Federica Zuccari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

A wonderful hotel. Everything about it was a pleasure. The large and clean garage pleased my husband no end and I was delighted with our room. The hotel is in a beautifully restored building with a courtyard and views of the surrounding hills and countryside. The lounge area is decorated with taste and there is an amazing collection of tureens on shelves and in cupboards. The staff were very welcoming and Frederica extremely helpful. This is a family-owned hotel and therefore great pride is taken in everything. Breakfast was taken in a lovely room overlooking the courtyard and beware...... the lady that serves breakfast is an amazing desert/pastry cook and every morning there are different goodies that she has conjured up to NOT help your waistline.

Spoleto is the perfect Italian Medieval town to visit and two days were not enough. The streets are immaculately clean, the buildings painted in lovely colours, you can walk in any direction and find something interesting. There are some great Osterias/Trattorias to have local food. You will feel happy to be in such a special town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_San_Luca, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Madam,
to read such a review written by a frequent and expert traveller as you and your husband are, has been wonderful for us! All the attentions that you mentioned make our hotel particular, while your words make us proud of doing this job! We really hope to meet you both again!
Federica Zuccari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Adjacent covered parking, free high speed wifi, large rooms, quiet area, except for the pleasant chirping of birds, what more can you ask? This hotel has all those things and more. People are very pleasant and the hotel is within walking distance of everything, the breakfast buffet is great and it in a nice historic building. I will definitely stay here again when I visit this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_San_Luca, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Mr Jarb,
thanking you for your nice and very punctual comments, we all (and our canaries as well) hope to have you here again, as you promised!
Federica Zuccari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I have stayed in the Hotel San Luca 4-5 times over the last ten years, and it is one of our favorite places to stay in Italy. When we travel, we're always looking for small boutique hotels with excellent rooms, food, and service. But in Italy, those places are tough to find. The hotels are either over the top, or they're fusty and dark, or small and sterile. The Hotel San Luca is a family-run hotel that really cares about its guests. The rooms (even the least expensive ones) are spacious and bright, and some have terraces. Many have lovely views over a small olive grove and the hotel garden. The breakfast is fabulous. This morning, for example, they had eggs, mini-croissants with prosciutto, and assortment of cheese, yogurts, fresh fruit, muesli and other cereals, at least four different homemade cakes, seven different high-quality jams, and croissants (cream filled and regular). The staff are really gracious. The hotel lobby, as other reviewers have noted, is extremely comfortable and large, with high quality furniture. It has a few groupings of comfortable reading chairs, plants, good light, and a bar where you can have a drink in the evening. There's a lovely interior courtyard where you can sit in good weather. There is free wifi. We've never had a problem with noise in the hotel, and the beds are very comfortable with Frette linens. Our favorite room is 204, which has a small terrace with a tiny olive tree. But I'm sure there are others that are just as nice.

Spoleto is a gorgeous hill town, filled with ancient churches and good restaurants. There is great hiking--you can literally start a hike from the center of town and walk right up into the mountains surrounding Spoleto. I recommend using the town as a base for travels around Umbria. You can easily drive (or take the train) to Assisi, Perugia, Spello, Norcia, the Sibillini, and even Rome. Assisi, for example, is overrun with tourists in high season and has a lot of kitschy shops that diminish the charm of the place.

We usually fly into Rome and either take the train here (1 1/2 hours) or rent a car and drive. As for restaurants, we like Osteria Trivio and La Torretta. Both family-run and very friendly with excellent food. Make sure to visit the Basilica di San Salvatore, which I believe is the oldest church in Spoleto, outside the walls and off the beaten track. It's a beautiful, simple romanesque church, with almost no adornment, just ancient Roman columns and the vestiges of a few medieval frescoes. Simple and breathtaking. Also, you have to walk around the Rocca, which has beautiful views over the Umbrian countryside. Spoleto is great during the festival (we saw ballet in the ancient Roman amphitheatre, and flamenco in front of the duomo), but we also like it in the off season when it's quiet and you can engage in conversation with the people who live here.

Room Tip: We like Room 204, with a small terrace overlooking the town.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank proseccolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_San_Luca, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Proseccolover,
it is, and will always be, a pleasure for us all to have you here, in "your house" in Spoleto.
You described us so well, as we couldn't do it on our own!
We hope to keep being such a nice place for you in Italy, and wait for you again.
Federica Zuccari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We found a very pleasant atmosphere, quiet and welcoming: precisely what we needed for a few days of relax in one of the most beautiful Italian regions. The staff was extremely kind, helpful and competent. Our room was large, nicely decorated and spotless. Also the common area is very pleasant, with a fireplace, perfect to sit and read after a day of walking around. The breakfast was also of good quality with a broad selection of pastries and savory food. Just a few minutes walk from the main street (in the old city), the hotel is also very conveniently located to explore the town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariangela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_San_Luca, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Ms Mariangela,
it is always nice for us to receive such a good comment
from a frequent and competent traveller as you are!
This is a good part of our job! Thank you
Federica Zuccari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#2 of 29 in Spoleto
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
0.6 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 29 in Spoleto
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#7 of 29 in Spoleto
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#6 of 29 in Spoleto
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#14 of 29 in Spoleto
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Address: Via Interna delle Mura 21, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Spoleto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range: £81 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel
San Luca Spoleto
Hotel San Luca Spoleto, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing