We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location but poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Milani - Residenza d'epoca
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We hav booked this hotel on booking.com for one night in mid November. Location is simply fantastic with breathtaking views of Spoleto highlights (the Rocca and the bridge) and very nice gardens. Unfortunately our superior room (Altair) was at the end of a very steep staircase one floor lower than reception and was extremely cold (the front man receptionist switched on the heating in front of us) and it was snowing outside. Bathroom was ridiculously narrow and the shower cabin was a sort of vertical coffin. Furniture looked very tired with some evidences of a past glory. Television was very small (I think 15'') and all the directory and information prints looked very shabby. Breakfast has been minimal (no cheese no cold cuts no eggs etc), very limited choice of sweets and coffee quality just passable. The public rooms at the reception floor look great with nice antiques, but this is not enough to accept the unexisting service. Maybe in the past it was a great hotel,but in future it needs a big refurbishment as well as tremendous efforts to provide real hotel services.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mywayforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a fabulous villa conveniently located just outside Spoletto. The views are wonderful! The home is elegant and you feel like you are staying with friends rather than in a "hotel". The breakfasts were adequate though not noteworthy. We didn't eat any other meals in the villa but found the restaurants in Spoleto excellent. We had our own car and would not recommend this area if you do not plan to drive yourself. The only disappointment we had was at check-out...we had been charged 2 euro for a small bucket of ice (!) and the woman at the desk couldn't get our credit card to work though we used it before and after throughout our travels through Italy with no other problem whatsoever. Nonetheless, we had to pay cash for our stay which we had not expected to do nor planned for! We would definitely visit Spoletto again and would definitely stay at the Villa Milani.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smetropol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The location of Villa Milani offers the most stunning views over Spoleto and the Umbrian countryside. We stayed there in October, so we could not fully take advantage of everything this romantic, quintessential Italian place has to offer: the lovely garden and beautiful pool...The staff at the reception and breakfast room was always helpful, gracious and eager to please.
After checking in, we discovered a problem in our room. Countless apologies were offered and we were promptly relocated. To make amends, they even treated us to some wine "on the house".
















There are a few things however they could improve on: the dinner offered is rather expensive, the portions small. Why not offer half board with a typical three course menu that guests can sign up the day before? There are of course good dining options in Spoleto, but the drive up the hill especially in the dark can be daunting...
The signs to get to Villa Milani initially are rather small, a little too discreet maybe?

To fully experience everything this place has to offer, one certainly needs a car.
But if you are looking for a quiet, romantic spot with Italian flair, Villa Milani is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: Choose a room with access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We loved the peace and tranquility of Villa Milani and the beautiful surroundings. The villa is stunning. We had been to Spoleto before and weren't disappointed to return and now we can't wait to go again, we felt totally at home everyone was so kind and friendly. I would say though a car is an advantage to make the most of the beautiful Umbrian countryside although Spoleto has plenty to offer with restaurants and history in abundance and everyone so friendly and kind. The hotel staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough to make our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champabou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at Villa Milani as part of a living social deal,we paid €230.00 for a 3 night stay.

When we arrived we were greeted in reception by a young boy and showed us to our room in the cellar, room number 1. We have no Italian and he had no English,so he was unable to answer any questions that we had about the hotel,dinner times,taxi facility if we wanted to eat in town etc. Luckily we arrived by car.

We found our room & bathroom to be adequate, maybe a little tired and in need of some care. The towels were treadbare,and were not changed for the second night even though we had left them in a nice pile as they were used and wet. They had been hung up in the bathroom to dry.

The food was lovely and wine fantastic if a little over priced.

The staff were ok,but you feel as if you are staying in someone's house and are tip-toeing around. We went through to the main drawing room after dinner on the first night, and wanted some more wine and felt awkward asking for it,we were on our holidays after all. It felt like as if you were meant to go back to your room after dinner.

The next night we dined in Spoleto and had a lovely meal,we walked back to Villa Milani due to the fact that there are no taxis available in this town of almost 40,000 people ! The girl in the restaurant rang and advised none available that night. It was Thursday night 10.45pm .

We didn't stay the third night but headed off to Siena.


The views from the terrace are spectacular there is not doubting that at all. The pool area is lovely too.

It would be perfect for honeymoon couples who want to be alone, or someone seeking some solace. This is the place for you.

This is supposed to be a luxurious hotel,but the service did not live up to expectation at all.

Room Tip: The cellar rooms are dark,maybe the ones up higher were ok. You have to ask for extra pillows as onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we had a lovely 4 day break in Umbria and stayed at the lovely Villa Milani on top of a hill overlooking
Spoleto, we had arrived by train, to take a taxi to the villa was 15 euros and being on a budget had to walk up and down the hill a 25 min steep walk, to the town, the pool was lovely but the weather was a little chilly for swiming, the food at the Villa was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly,
the rooms were clean and the antique furniture was in keeping with the villa,

Room Tip: My sister and I had a twin room with double doors out to a terrace with a lovely view of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennymFalmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Check-in
When we arrived at 1330hrs the room was not cleaned. We were given some towels and brought to the pool area. Hearing nothing after an hour I went to reception to find our room was ready and the luggage had been moved in.

Weddings - beware
We found out when staying that there was a wedding coming. The grounds were decorated beautifully with marquees and gazebos, lanterns and such like. I think pool access that afternoon was probably prohibited. We were told the music would stop at 0130hrs. In the end it stopped at 0230hrs and we met some annoyed guests at breakfast.
A lovely venue for a wedding up to 150 guests, but they should have the hotel rooms dedicated to wedding guests only.

Room
We stayed in La Fenice. It turned out this is a lovely self-contained little house across the drive from the hotel. It is only 20 metres so the distance is not a problem. No risk of annoying next door if you turn on the TV late at night! The room is a good size with a window which when standing at it gives a lovely view over Spoleto. The patio is on the other side but has no great view. We moved our metal table chairs to the private triangle of grass on another side. From there we had shade from the sun and a view to Spoleto.

Breakfast
This was not bad but Americans would find the wait for coffee frustrating. On days 1 and 2 we waited a long time to order drinks, and had much of breakfast eaten. By day 3 there was a delay and I went to find the waitress, only to find her emerging from the kitchen with our regular order - a coffee and an Italian thick hot chocolate.

Setting
In many ways idyllic and peaceful. Infinity pool has views over tree-covered hills. We even had a buzzard flying at pool level one day due to the high position of the hotel. The hotel is approached by a winding road from the town which can be exciting if you meet a local coming down.

Transport - taxi?
Major problem in Spoleto if you want to leave the car at the hotel, or arrive by taxi. Despite Spoleto being a decent size, and hosting a big festival, there are just FOUR taxis in the town. One day we asked for a taxi to go to town for lunch. We waited 90 mins as there was only one working that Friday. He gave us his card to phone him direct when coming home. As we were too late for a nice lunch we stayed in town for an early dinner. When we rang the taxi he said he was out of town and couldn’t help. The restaurant couldn’t get us any taxi. At all! Not that we would have to wait an hour, but that no taxi was available that night.
The walk up the winding road to the hotel in the dark was not really an option. We started thinking about taking a room in town! Finally the restaurant said they had phoned our hotel to insist they did something to get their guests back. After a further 20 mins a friend of the hotel owners collected us and the nightmare ended. Not a relaxing end to a day in town.
So if you like a bottle of wine with dinner eating in town may be a problem, or a gamble. Dinner in the hotel is expensive at Euro 50 each. Plus wine.

TIP for getting here
Make sure you enter the town from the SS3 road at the South, not the north (that we tried!). Turn in (Viale Giacomo Matteotti) and there will be a petrol station on your right and a modern hotel on the left. From there 300m turn left, then follow the winding road to the hotel.

We would come back, and probably take long lunches in town so we could walk back in daylight if the taxis were off.

Room Tip: La Fenice has a view to town if standing at the window. Lovely being detached from hotel but very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
1.2 mi away
Albergo Paradiso
Albergo Paradiso
#1 of 2 in Monteluco
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ferretti
Ferretti
#2 of 2 in Monteluco
57 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Vecchio Forno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#2 of 29 in Spoleto
446 reviews
0 mi away
Boni Cerri Hotel
Boni Cerri Hotel
#14 of 29 in Spoleto
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#7 of 29 in Spoleto
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Milani - Residenza d'epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Milani - Residenza d'epoca

Address: Localita Colle Attivoli 4, 06049, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Spoleto
Price Range: £151 - £622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Milani - Residenza d'epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at 2 km from the historical centre of Spoleto, on top of a hill with superb panoramic view of the Umbrian valley, Villa Milani is a charming small hotel of 11 rooms with romantic names of stars and constellations. Built in 1880, the Villa still retains its original characteristics and priceless furnishings which, with the magnificent view and the warm hospitality of its owners, combine to create a refined yet informal and congenial atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Milani - Residenza d'epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Milani - Residenza D'epoca Spoleto, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing