We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quaint hotel in the heart of Spoleto”
Review of Hotel Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Charleston
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Mackay
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint hotel in the heart of Spoleto”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a lovely small hotel in the heart of Spoleto close to restaurants and bars. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was adequate with one staff member going out of her way to provide me with my dietary requirements. Our checkin and checkout were handled without any time wasted . There was also a parking space available for our hire car which is a luxury in Spoleto as parking spaces are few and far between.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhondaMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston H, Proprietario at Hotel Charleston, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest thank you for your words, and we hope to see you again in Spoleto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    223
    80
    25
    15
See reviews for
100
285
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I was on my own, for one night, with two firiends/a couple, and we loved staying at the Charleston.
Very central, very easy access, wonderful location. Excellent professional staff.
Free wifi in the lobby worked well. Breakfast was lovely, and the rooms were spectacular. The bathrooms are modern and the bathtub especially huge and wonderful, the room and bed were super-comfortable, and very quiet. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard2SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great hotel in Spoleto, Italy!
Great hospitality, great room, and affordable.
Had a great experience thanks to Christiana, Attilio and Eduardo.
Attilio at the desk was friendly and very helpful!
We now consider the staff as friends.
Recommend this hotel highly.....would return in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Extremely good value and helpful staff. We got a wonderful room for our family ( 3 adults ) quiet location. Very Close to city centre.the garage is located next door. Spoleto a gorgeous town. Eh had a lovely night and day in spoleto.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had one night at this pleasant hotel. The staff were attentive and helpful and the hotel is in the old town within very easy walking distance of the sights. Breakfast on the terrace was a bonus as the hotel is on a quiet square.
We had forgotten to book the private garage but they managed to squeeze us in but my advice is - don't forget to book.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlandmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Despite a late reservation for this hotel, I got a very good price and the quality was more than I expected! Comfortable room and bed, spacious bathroom (with bathtub, which is not a given generally), obviously renovated recently. Clean altogether, and generous breakfast included on the terrace in the morning. The personnel was most helpful with tourist information and everything else. Plus, the pictures on the site reflect exactly what you're going to get.
The only thing: it gets noisy at night if your room is on the side of the alley, where the restaurants nearby have their garbage containers... But with the A/C working well and quietly in the rooms, you can always shut the window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the facade of the hotel for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Easy walking to all of central Spoleto. Decent breakfast. Our room , a junior suite, was roomy, with a large bed and good sized shower room. The hall and lift areas are looking a bit faded but this doesn't detract from the overall good feeling. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Very useful to have garaging next to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston H, Proprietario at Hotel Charleston, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
1000 thanks for your words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
0.5 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Clarici
Hotel Clarici
#9 of 30 in Spoleto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#14 of 30 in Spoleto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charleston

Property: Hotel Charleston
Address: Piazza Collicola 10, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Spoleto
#8 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Charleston Hotel is run by a team of professional staff who make your satisfaction a priority. Guests are greeted by a warm ambience with a relaxing setting. Housed in a 17th-century building, the Charleston Hotel provides the perfect blend of original architecture and modern comforts. Features include complimentary wireless Internet access, a beautiful terrace, and a library. Character oozes from the wooden beams painted with noble family stems, a lobby piano, and the antique fireplace which provides a cozy glow in the winter months. Combine this with a sauna and a lounge bar, and you have the perfect place to come back to after a day of exploring Spoleto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Spoleto
Hotel Charleston Spoleto, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing