We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint hotel, fantastic terrace!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel, fantastic terrace!”
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We got an auction deal at this hotel and it was defo worth what we paid ($400 for 4 nights). Worth it for a v nice stay in umbria. Spoleto isn't necessarily where I wld return as there is loads of scaffolding/closed buildings and it just seemed pretty dead in the evenings (no doubt much better during the festival). Must have a car to visit countryside.

Pros: great room, nice bathroom, ok breakfast (cld do with more types of ham and cheeses perhaps), friendly staff, fantastic terrace for enjoying wine in the evening with views

Cons: see above breakfast comment, wld have also been lovely to have been able to have dinner on the terrace (maybe have a set menu guests have to say in the morning whether they want it - wld be a good income earner for the hotel.)

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    59
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
199
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We spent 4 nights here in early October and felt it was the best hotel during our 3 plus weeks in Italy. The room was very nice, the staff wonderful, breakfast sumptuous, and the location within Spoleto excellent. The only downside was, if you have a car, be very careful getting in and out of the hotel as the roads are very narrow. Beyond that, take the time to see Spoleto and saty at this very nice hotel.

  • Liked — Room and helpful desk staff
  • Disliked — Parking
Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Palazzo Leti for eight nights. We were visiting Umbria and found Spoleto to be a good jumping off point for day excursions in the area. The hotel has everything that makes a stay memorable: beautifully appointed rooms, charming public spaces, excellent breakfasts but above all else a superb staff. Laura Bartocci and her husband, Gian Paulo, are outstanding hosts who make all visitors feel welcome and pampered. They were extraordinarily helpful with day trips and went to great lenghts to deal with our car rental company after rental car broke down in another town.
The courtyard of the hotel is an exquisite garden with fountains and a perfect place to have breakfast and relax after the day's journey. We look forward to staying at the Palazzo Leti again and would highly recommend it to anyone seeking a glorious spot from which to tour Umbria.
Margaret P., Greenwich, CT

  • Liked — The beauty of the hotel, the wonderful owner
  • Disliked — The parking lot
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mecmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

My wife and I spent 6 very pleasant nights at the Palazzo Leti. The owners and staff at this small hotel were all charming and helpful, whilst being totally unobtrusive. The hotel is centrally situated in Spoleto, so ideal for evening strolls around town or for getting back from a restaurant. As others have mentioned, getting in and out of the small parking area with a car can be an interesting experience but once again the staff are very helpful. The panoramic view from the terrace is wonderful and the hotel is set in a peaceful location, there being hardly any traffic noise.
My one issue is with Spoleto itself. The town resembles a construction site in parts, and with not a lot of evidence of builders getting on with the job. Clearly the historic nature of this city requires constant restoration and maintenance-but I wonder if anything is ever finished. Also take care if you are interested in visiting some of the churches in the area. Several are closed owing to lack of staff or for building works, and for one I had to make special arrangements through the tourist office

  • Liked — Peaceful location and view
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank globetrotterfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
165 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

Our visit began with a warm welcome and the room and the bath were as good as expected. Breakfast was very good, delicious bread and pastries from a local bakery and fresh brewed coffee. The location on top of Spoleto is a bit difficult to reach by car, in return you have a wonderful view from the terrace. The hosts are, as mentioned in other reviews, very hospitable and give good advise for local restaurants. We tried the restaurant Pentagramma for Umbrien food and enjoyed it. If we ever come back to Spoleto, we would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Hans-Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2006

We stayed one night in November 2006. The couple who own it are very pleasant and helpful. We had a wonderful room and reliable wireless high speed internet access in our room. The location is also very good. The small grounds are very well kept up. It's a bit tricky to drive into the site, but the directions by signs are excellent. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Attractive setting; wireless high speed internet in room
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Monomoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
202 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2006

We booked a superior room after reading all the great reviews and overall the hotel lived up to expectations. The only negative comments would be the view from our room (202) which was not very nice and the colour scheme of the bathroom! Also no tea & coffee making facilities. The distance from the main shopping/eating area of the historic town is a good 10 minutes' walk downhill and then back up again. So I wouldn't reccommend it for people with wobbly legs. Driving around Spoleto is out of the question - even getting through the tiny lanes to the hotel and parking in the square is pretty difficult. Everything else was fine. The owner was very nice and friendly, the cornettoes at breakfast were excellent.
We ate in a fantastic trattoria not reccommended by the owner but by Slow Food called Osteria del Trivio. Spoleto is a lovely town but currently under major construction/restoration work.

  • Liked — The garden & exterior, the comfortable beds, the heating worked really well
  • Disliked — the price
  • Tips/Secrets — Watch out if you have a big car
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#8 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#5 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#12 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca

Property: Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Address: Via Degli Eremiti 10 | Angolo Via Brignone, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
#3 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful residence of the noble Leti family is located in the historic center of Spoleto. According to various sources, it seems that this was the first residence of the Leti family who arrived in Spoleto in 1500 but the family name became extinct at the beginning of the XIX century. due to a lack of male heirs. The Residence was built shortly after the medieval city walls were constructed (1292) using, in part, a pre existent Roman structure which you can still see walking along Via delle Felici. Recent restoration has revealed an important architectural, environmental and historic heritage not to mention a garden that has been restored in classic "Italian garden" style. From the garden one can admire the beautiful view of Monteluco and some of Spoleto's most important monuments including the Rocca Albornoziana, and St. Peter's Church. Rooms: The Historical Residence consists of 12 rooms, all of which are decorated with warm lightly coloured fabrics and organza. Each room, with its unique architecture, colour and decor is reminiscent of a noble room of the past. All rooms have a view of the sacred mountain of the Spoleto valley "Monteluco", which evokes the peace and the harmony of the hermits that once lived there. Facility: Soundproof, safe, mini bar, air conditioning, TV sat, internet access free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leti Hotel
Palazzo Leti Spoleto
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca Spoleto, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing