We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Spectacular Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Our family of 6 stayed at the Palazzo Leti from August 6th to August 10th 2008. We could not have been more pleased with our visit. The hotel is set in historical section of Spoleto with beautiful views of the surrounding town and Mountains. The rooms are large and well furnished. The Hotel is located at the highest point of old Spoleto and was within easy walking distance of all points of the town including many good restaurants/trattorias.

Our morning started with a wonderful continental breakfast on the patio overlooking a garden setting. The Palazzo Leti is family owned and you are provided with hands on care. Anna Bartocci, who owns and manages the Hotel, was very gracious through out our stay and always available to provide recommendations for dinner or on sights to see.

The town of Spoleto is very beautiful and was a wonderful end to our 16 day trip. Walking the town during our 4 day stay, I had the opportunity to see many of the other Hotels we considered booking, and while many were nice, I can say without hesitation that the I am very pleased I selected Hotel Palazzo Leti.

I would recommend the Hotel Palazzo Leti to all!

Steven Smith

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ssmith44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2008

Palazzo Leti is simply a glorious small hotel that exudes delicious, understated charm and quiet, country elegance, which is very much true of the town of Spoleto itself - quiet, elegant, small and irresistible. It is ludicrous to complain about parking. I'd give Palazzl Leti an A- for parking; it has free guest parking right outside the entrance. Spoleto is a gorgeous old hillside town made for walking, but there is precious little, if any parking along its narrow medieval streets. Walking into the garden of this hotel is a singularly spectacular, breathtaking moment - every time. And everything about Palazzo Leti sustains that sense of stunning beauty.

The Palazzo Leti is a pleasure and so gently appealing. Admittedly we only used the Internet for a short time and it couldn't have been easier, but then we came to Italy in the first place to escape the frenetic pace of our daily existence in California. We loved the garden and ate outside every morning where the view is magnificent and hypnotic. Breakfast was everything we hoped it might be and more. We felt profoundly fortunate to have found such a perfect and serene location for visiting Umbria.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank billwxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Palazzo leti in Spoleto for a few days in July 2008 and we were a bit under-whelmed by the whole experience.

Some of the reviews here on Trip Advisor gave gushing praise for the hotel but it seemed no more than average to us.

It is nice and elegant and refined and no doubt the owners are very hospitable but the whole experience was a lot less than we expected perhaps because some of the reviews here were so postive we were expecting a lot more.

The rooms are quite small but well appointed. On our 3 week trip round Europe they were without doubt the smallest of all the rooms we stayed in. We tried to pay more for a larger room but were told it was not possible at that time.

The car parking if you have a car is a nightmare and getting in and out of Palazzo Leti will test the nerve of the most experienced driver - you have been warned!

Finally the access to internet services in the hotel is less than satisfactory and seems to be a bit of an afterthought for the owners.

Perhaps the guests they get at Leti have rarely asked for these services and therefore it means that internet access is not a great priority but for those of us who need to stay in touch with business even when on vacation the Palazzo Leti is a bit behind the times.

The postives for us was the location overlooking the Umbrian hills and the quiet refinement of the Palazzo and the charming owners.

The negatives were the small size of the rooms, the car parking access and unsatisfactory internet facilities.

More than all of that is a lesson that I have learned is that not every review on Trip Advisor ends up being helpful. We took so many of the positive reviews of Palazzo Leti here on Trip Advisor at face value and ended up being disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank sweetville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We got an auction deal at this hotel and it was defo worth what we paid ($400 for 4 nights). Worth it for a v nice stay in umbria. Spoleto isn't necessarily where I wld return as there is loads of scaffolding/closed buildings and it just seemed pretty dead in the evenings (no doubt much better during the festival). Must have a car to visit countryside.

Pros: great room, nice bathroom, ok breakfast (cld do with more types of ham and cheeses perhaps), friendly staff, fantastic terrace for enjoying wine in the evening with views

Cons: see above breakfast comment, wld have also been lovely to have been able to have dinner on the terrace (maybe have a set menu guests have to say in the morning whether they want it - wld be a good income earner for the hotel.)

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We spent 4 nights here in early October and felt it was the best hotel during our 3 plus weeks in Italy. The room was very nice, the staff wonderful, breakfast sumptuous, and the location within Spoleto excellent. The only downside was, if you have a car, be very careful getting in and out of the hotel as the roads are very narrow. Beyond that, take the time to see Spoleto and saty at this very nice hotel.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Palazzo Leti for eight nights. We were visiting Umbria and found Spoleto to be a good jumping off point for day excursions in the area. The hotel has everything that makes a stay memorable: beautifully appointed rooms, charming public spaces, excellent breakfasts but above all else a superb staff. Laura Bartocci and her husband, Gian Paulo, are outstanding hosts who make all visitors feel welcome and pampered. They were extraordinarily helpful with day trips and went to great lenghts to deal with our car rental company after rental car broke down in another town.
The courtyard of the hotel is an exquisite garden with fountains and a perfect place to have breakfast and relax after the day's journey. We look forward to staying at the Palazzo Leti again and would highly recommend it to anyone seeking a glorious spot from which to tour Umbria.
Margaret P., Greenwich, CT

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mecmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

My wife and I spent 6 very pleasant nights at the Palazzo Leti. The owners and staff at this small hotel were all charming and helpful, whilst being totally unobtrusive. The hotel is centrally situated in Spoleto, so ideal for evening strolls around town or for getting back from a restaurant. As others have mentioned, getting in and out of the small parking area with a car can be an interesting experience but once again the staff are very helpful. The panoramic view from the terrace is wonderful and the hotel is set in a peaceful location, there being hardly any traffic noise.
My one issue is with Spoleto itself. The town resembles a construction site in parts, and with not a lot of evidence of builders getting on with the job. Clearly the historic nature of this city requires constant restoration and maintenance-but I wonder if anything is ever finished. Also take care if you are interested in visiting some of the churches in the area. Several are closed owing to lack of staff or for building works, and for one I had to make special arrangements through the tourist office

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank globetrotterfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#2 of 29 in Spoleto
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#1 of 29 in Spoleto
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#8 of 29 in Spoleto
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 29 in Spoleto
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#6 of 29 in Spoleto
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#14 of 29 in Spoleto
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca

Address: Via Degli Eremiti 10 | Angolo Via Brignone, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
#3 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range: £93 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful residence of the noble Leti family is located in the historic center of Spoleto. According to various sources, it seems that this was the first residence of the Leti family who arrived in Spoleto in 1500 but the family name became extinct at the beginning of the XIX century. due to a lack of male heirs. The Residence was built shortly after the medieval city walls were constructed (1292) using, in part, a pre existent Roman structure which you can still see walking along Via delle Felici. Recent restoration has revealed an important architectural, environmental and historic heritage not to mention a garden that has been restored in classic "Italian garden" style. From the garden one can admire the beautiful view of Monteluco and some of Spoleto's most important monuments including the Rocca Albornoziana, and St. Peter's Church. Rooms: The Historical Residence consists of 12 rooms, all of which are decorated with warm lightly coloured fabrics and organza. Each room, with its unique architecture, colour and decor is reminiscent of a noble room of the past. All rooms have a view of the sacred mountain of the Spoleto valley "Monteluco", which evokes the peace and the harmony of the hermits that once lived there. Facility: Soundproof, safe, mini bar, air conditioning, TV sat, internet access free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leti Hotel
Palazzo Leti Spoleto
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca Spoleto, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing