We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pianciano
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Spoleto
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campello Castle(Campello sul Clitunno)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Umbria Valnerina(Vallo di Nera)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
73
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We just returned from a two-week stay at Pianciano. Six of us shared Casa Della Rocha. The villa is just as pictured and I wasn't one bit disappointed by what I found. Francesco greeted us and showed us around the property -- the villa, the pool, the sauna, the amazing garden and, of course, the dogs and cats. The views are breathtaking -- I never tired of looking down the valley toward Spoleto, across to Silvignano, and up to the mountains. We enjoyed preparing our meals with fresh vegetables from the garden and dining al fresco. It was pure heaven.

The highlight of our stay was the tour Francesco gave us of his mother's villa and property across the road. It was truly amazing to see such an amazing historic structure lovingly described with detail and history by Francesco.

We took all of Francesco's recommendations and toured Norcia, Asissi, Montefalco, Trevi and Perugia. We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant atop the mountain in Pettino. "Wow" is all I can say. It was an incredible experience. The final recommendation we took was to experience the Italian Opera in Spoleto where La Traviata was being performed. This is a must if you have the opportunity.

Thank you, Francesco and Claudia, for sharing your lovely home with us and allowing us to truly experience the Umbrian culture. I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragsmyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We just loved our stay at Pianciano!
The most important plusses of the domain are to me: the quiet setting in a beautiful valey, houses restored with great respect of history and with excellent taste, beautifully set swimmingpool with breathtaking views, the playroom with table tennis for the kids, the lovely hosts Francesco and Claudia, pizza night with Azziz, the dogs to entertain the children...
We were lucky to have two other nice families with children when we were there (we just stayed one week). While the limited number of houses for rent is a clear plus if you like "peace & quiet" (as we do), it can be a disadvantage if you're with children and there are no children (of the same age) while you're there. Claudia is however very helpfull, and I'm sure she could tell you when other families with children are staying at Pianciano.
Although quite isolated, access to the main road is not too far.
There are no shops really nearby, but in Spoleto there is a Conad-supermarket with everything you need.
Normallly we don't visit the same place twice, but I'm sure we will make an exception for Pianciano. Maybe in spring, when it will be cooler to visit... As the Pianciano domain was so lovely, we had difficulty leaving it so we did not get to see what we planned for...

Room Tip: We stayed at La Roccia. It has beautiful views from the terrace and second floor. It just got a little warm on the second floor, while it stayed nicely cool at the ground floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank butterflyLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Our holidays for the last - nearly 30 years has been with our caravan for camping
This was our first year without - and with our 3 children and our sons girlfriend we
Went to Pianciano.
Amazing - it is like time is stalling - and at the same time it's running out of our hands.
You should try it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgenandreassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

To celebrate our anniversary, we traveled to Umbria and stayed two weeks at Pianciano. We learned of Pianciano from Trip Advisor and our only information came from the internet. To be honest, I was somewhat nervous about wire transferring funds to a foreign bank not knowing anything about the property or the owners. If any of you considering a stay at Pianciano have a similar worry - put it aside as the property and owners are fantastic. Franceso is a renowned architect in Rome and his wife Claudia has her medical practice in Rome as well. The Bachetoni family acquired the property I think in 1910 and over time, the property has been restored to its current state. Francesco and Claudia visit Pianciano most weekends to check on their guests and to relax.

While at Pianciano (Cassa della Roccia), we enjoyed evening meals on the terrace which overlooks a massive ancient olive grove, listened to the evening church bells from across the valley as we finished a bottle of Montefalco red and watched as a setting sun disappeared; fed Mr Rooster and his harem of hens with our leftovers and were rewarded with fresh eggs in the morning; enjoyed pizza prepared in a 13th - 15th century wood buring oven; took a cooking lesson from Maria (in Italian, but filmed on an iPad) - well the list goes on and on.

There are many beautiful nearby hillside towns that are a short drive from Pianciano - one of our favorites being Spello. If you want some relaxing time, enjoy truffles, nice local wines, great pasta etc. - this area of Italy is difficult to beat and seeing it while residing at Pianciano is a superb experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61BruceM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Perfect Umbrian Villa set in a fantastic location with stunning views! We stayed in Casa Dell' Arco villa which is the largest of the villas at Pianciano, there was ample room for the 6 of us & the villa is well equipped with books, board games, cooking utensils, towels, soap, wood for the fire etc. The villas have been restored to a very high standard & are beautifully presented. The caretakers Eva & Aziz are very friendly & helpful, we had Aziz come & cook pizza for us in our wood fire oven one night which was wonderful as his pizzas are yummy! As it was our daughters birthday whilst we were there we got Maria to come to our villa & cook a 3 course meal - the meal was amazing & one of the highlights of our stay at Pianciano. If you get the chance do the tour of the main Family Villa across the valley with Francesco as it is interesting to hear about the history of Pianciano & the main villa is stunning!
We loved our 10 days at Pianciano & exploring the local region & villages each day was wonderful we just wish Pianciano was a little closer to Australia!

Room Tip: Casa dell' Arco is the largest of the villas & was ample room for the 6 of us.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews