We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Della Roccia”
Review of Pianciano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spoleto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pianciano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casa Della Roccia”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I visited Pianciano with two of my friends to celebrate my birthday and it was an amazing experience. Francesco was a wonderful host and the home was absolutely beautiful. It's even better than the pictures! We had a dinner cooked for us on Saturday and it was delicious and the views were so beautiful. We also loved the visits from the dogs and cats! I honestly cannot wait to visit Pianciano again because it's a wonderful place to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalielynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and it was just what we needed to relax and unwind. Very hard to find as not signposted but once we found it we were so delighted. We stayed in a three bed house even though there was just two of us so loads of room! We were welcomed by Francesco who gave us a delicious home made lasagne and wine on our first night and then brought us on a tour of his family home across the road the next day (a real highlight of the trip). Pianciano is off the beaten track but we ate in half the time and the other half we got great recommendations for restaurants nearby (you do have to drive though). Umbria is a fabulous place. You wont be disappointed. The views and pool were amazing. The only negative was that we suspected there might be a lot of Mosquitos in the height of summer because of all the trees but in September it was perfect. No screens on windows though so keep them shut at night! We loved it here and hope to go back soon. It would be a perfect place for a number of families to stay together in the various houses. (we stayed in cypressa).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We just returned from a two-week stay at Pianciano. Six of us shared Casa Della Rocha. The villa is just as pictured and I wasn't one bit disappointed by what I found. Francesco greeted us and showed us around the property -- the villa, the pool, the sauna, the amazing garden and, of course, the dogs and cats. The views are breathtaking -- I never tired of looking down the valley toward Spoleto, across to Silvignano, and up to the mountains. We enjoyed preparing our meals with fresh vegetables from the garden and dining al fresco. It was pure heaven.

The highlight of our stay was the tour Francesco gave us of his mother's villa and property across the road. It was truly amazing to see such an amazing historic structure lovingly described with detail and history by Francesco.

We took all of Francesco's recommendations and toured Norcia, Asissi, Montefalco, Trevi and Perugia. We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant atop the mountain in Pettino. "Wow" is all I can say. It was an incredible experience. The final recommendation we took was to experience the Italian Opera in Spoleto where La Traviata was being performed. This is a must if you have the opportunity.

Thank you, Francesco and Claudia, for sharing your lovely home with us and allowing us to truly experience the Umbrian culture. I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragsmyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leuven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We just loved our stay at Pianciano!
The most important plusses of the domain are to me: the quiet setting in a beautiful valey, houses restored with great respect of history and with excellent taste, beautifully set swimmingpool with breathtaking views, the playroom with table tennis for the kids, the lovely hosts Francesco and Claudia, pizza night with Azziz, the dogs to entertain the children...
We were lucky to have two other nice families with children when we were there (we just stayed one week). While the limited number of houses for rent is a clear plus if you like "peace & quiet" (as we do), it can be a disadvantage if you're with children and there are no children (of the same age) while you're there. Claudia is however very helpfull, and I'm sure she could tell you when other families with children are staying at Pianciano.
Although quite isolated, access to the main road is not too far.
There are no shops really nearby, but in Spoleto there is a Conad-supermarket with everything you need.
Normallly we don't visit the same place twice, but I'm sure we will make an exception for Pianciano. Maybe in spring, when it will be cooler to visit... As the Pianciano domain was so lovely, we had difficulty leaving it so we did not get to see what we planned for...

Room Tip: We stayed at La Roccia. It has beautiful views from the terrace and second floor. It just got a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank butterflyLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertslund, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Our holidays for the last - nearly 30 years has been with our caravan for camping
This was our first year without - and with our 3 children and our sons girlfriend we
Went to Pianciano.
Amazing - it is like time is stalling - and at the same time it's running out of our hands.
You should try it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorgenandreassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

To celebrate our anniversary, we traveled to Umbria and stayed two weeks at Pianciano. We learned of Pianciano from Trip Advisor and our only information came from the internet. To be honest, I was somewhat nervous about wire transferring funds to a foreign bank not knowing anything about the property or the owners. If any of you considering a stay at Pianciano have a similar worry - put it aside as the property and owners are fantastic. Franceso is a renowned architect in Rome and his wife Claudia has her medical practice in Rome as well. The Bachetoni family acquired the property I think in 1910 and over time, the property has been restored to its current state. Francesco and Claudia visit Pianciano most weekends to check on their guests and to relax.

While at Pianciano (Cassa della Roccia), we enjoyed evening meals on the terrace which overlooks a massive ancient olive grove, listened to the evening church bells from across the valley as we finished a bottle of Montefalco red and watched as a setting sun disappeared; fed Mr Rooster and his harem of hens with our leftovers and were rewarded with fresh eggs in the morning; enjoyed pizza prepared in a 13th - 15th century wood buring oven; took a cooking lesson from Maria (in Italian, but filmed on an iPad) - well the list goes on and on.

There are many beautiful nearby hillside towns that are a short drive from Pianciano - one of our favorites being Spello. If you want some relaxing time, enjoy truffles, nice local wines, great pasta etc. - this area of Italy is difficult to beat and seeing it while residing at Pianciano is a superb experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Perfect Umbrian Villa set in a fantastic location with stunning views! We stayed in Casa Dell' Arco villa which is the largest of the villas at Pianciano, there was ample room for the 6 of us & the villa is well equipped with books, board games, cooking utensils, towels, soap, wood for the fire etc. The villas have been restored to a very high standard & are beautifully presented. The caretakers Eva & Aziz are very friendly & helpful, we had Aziz come & cook pizza for us in our wood fire oven one night which was wonderful as his pizzas are yummy! As it was our daughters birthday whilst we were there we got Maria to come to our villa & cook a 3 course meal - the meal was amazing & one of the highlights of our stay at Pianciano. If you get the chance do the tour of the main Family Villa across the valley with Francesco as it is interesting to hear about the history of Pianciano & the main villa is stunning!
We loved our 10 days at Pianciano & exploring the local region & villages each day was wonderful we just wish Pianciano was a little closer to Australia!

Room Tip: Casa dell' Arco is the largest of the villas & was ample room for the 6 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
7.1 mi away
Agriturismo Rivoli
Agriturismo Rivoli
#4 of 54 in Spoleto
205 reviews
13.5 mi away
Castrum Resort Albergo Residenziale
0.2 mi away
Le Logge di Silvignano
Le Logge di Silvignano
#17 of 47 in Spoleto
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Albergo Paradiso
Albergo Paradiso
#1 of 2 in Monteluco
95 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Vecchio Forno
6.8 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pianciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pianciano

Property: Pianciano
Address: Loc. Silvignano, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient hamlet with spectacular view on countless olive trees and historical mansion. Incredibly peaceful location, in a large estate, 11km from Spoleto. Closed to Assisi, Perugia, Montefalco. Accurately restored and furnished villas.Wifi. Swimming pool, private garden, steambath. Unobtrusive custodians on spot. Possible to rent from a romantic "room with a view" to the entire hamlet (max 20). Self catering, dinner on request, wooden oven pizza on request. Cooking lessons. Tour guide, Wildlife guide. Farm products. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pianciano Spoleto, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing