We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five-star hospitality at Pianciano!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pianciano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spoleto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pianciano
Wageningen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Five-star hospitality at Pianciano!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

After a few weeks camping in the Marche, we - a family with 4 children in the age of 13, 14, 14 and 17, had a great time at Pianciano in Casa della Rocca. The location is wonderful. Highlights during our stay: the home-made pasta when we arrived, relaxing at the pool, Umbrian cooking lesson with Gabrielle (with truffles and meat from the estate), the pizza-evening, the amazing view,... And the great hospitality of Fransesco and Claudia! Not only their service at Pianciano was great, but also their help with our carproblem. For the hole week we could borrow the jeep of Fransesco. And the last few days of our stay we had a pleasant time in their house. So we could fortunately still explore the beautiful surroudings of Spoleto: Monti Sibillini, Perugia, visite the winery in Montefalco,...
Pianciano is a beautiful place to visit again!
Heidi K

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
guilford,CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My family and I stayed at Pianciano early last summer. We stayed there for two weeks, each day we drove to a different village/town. There are so many wonderful towns to visit within 1 1/2 hours drive. Don't miss visiting the wineries nearby. We made two day trips into Rome which was definitely doable, but made for long days. The location of Pianciano is central for visiting all of the wonderful Umbrian towns. Closest to Spoleto which we found to be one of our favorites! You most definitely need a car and we found driving to be quite easy.
As for the Pianciano property, it was wonderful! The character and charm, the views, the owners and the employees all made for a magnificent place to stay! We really enjoyed the pizza night but had we known how much there was going to be, we would have skipped lunch! If I had to give a negative, it would be that their two beautiful, sweet and adorable dogs did tend to bark a lot at night but they were just protecting their territory so I didn't have the heart to complain. Also, the tour of the Pianciano villa across the street is not to be missed!! WOW!
If you are planning on staying in Umbria, this is a wonderful place to use as your home base while exploring the beautiful Italian countryside. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife, 7-year-old son, and I stayed in Casa del Cipresso for a week in June, and had a fantastic time. Pianciano is not far from Spoleto and all it offers, but it seems a world apart -- utterly relaxing and tranquil.

At the property, our son was thrilled to have access to the pool and ping pong table, and to be able to feed the chickens each morning. Casa del Cipresso is well appointed and quite comfortable, if a bit on the dark side.

Day trips are easy from Pianciano, with many attractive destinations about 30 minutes to an hour away. In addition to Spoleto, we were able to see Trevi (a gem), Assisi, Bevagna, Spello, and Montefalco, while sticking close enough to home to accommodate our child's desire to get back to swimming.

This property is best for travelers who are comfortable getting around on their own and do not require a lot of services. Claudia and Francesco are extremely friendly and helpful, but they are typically there only the weekends. The staff in residence during the week has limited English, but they too are extremely nice and glad to help whenever you need it.

We are eager to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Italophile2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We (three couples and a teenager) rented Casa dell’Arco for a week in June and were thoroughly enchanted by our stay at Pianciano. We would go back in a heartbeat. Casa dell’Arco is even more beautiful than the pictures and is extremely comfortable. We spent most of our mornings and evenings enjoying the view from the terrace. We took day trips (you do need a car in this area) to Spoleto, Assisi, Orvieto, and Bevagna, as well as to Norcia and Castellucio as we traveled to the lovely Piano Grande natural area. There’s so much more we didn’t have time to see. We bought groceries in Spoleto and Campello sul Clitunno. On several evenings we enjoyed the refreshing pool, right by the borgo, with its incredible view. We had a great time at the pizza dinner on our last night, where we were able to visit with the families staying at the other houses in the borgo. The pizza was divine! One of the highlights for all of us was our cooking lesson from Maria! She was delightful to watch and let us practice our beginning Italian with her, and the food was simply amazing. Do arrange for this experience during your stay! We have since attempted to recreate most of the dishes she prepared, with good success! It was easy to work with Claudia to make our reservations and she was a great help in arranging to have some groceries available since we were arriving early Sunday evening and were not sure we could get to a market in time in order to have food for breakfast the next day. And the welcome lasagna and wine were truly welcomed! We’re sorry we didn’t get to meet Claudia but we enjoyed chatting with Francesco and learning more about the history of the property. We look forward to another stay at this marvelous property!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 835Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I recently rented the 4-bedroom villa at Pianciano for six weeks. We lucked out. What a great place. The house itself was beautifully restored with respect for its history. The location was amazing. The views of the mountains and valley from the house were stunning.It is centrally located to visit Umbria, while also being in a very relaxing farm setting. Umbria itself was a great discovery, with its exquisite towns and villages beautifully preserved from medieval times.
Our hosts Francesco and Claudia were wonderful. They were very helpful in providing information and tips about the region. Their respect for the land and its history was apparent throughout our stay.
They helped us organize pizza dinners at the house as well as a dinner with the Maria when friends and family were visiting. These were highlights of our trip and a must for everyone visiting.
All in all, one of our best travel experiences!!

Rachelle and Gilles
Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a truly magical place. Fabulous views, lovely houses, amazing hosts. It is difficult to think how Pianciano could be any better. If you are wondering whether to book, do not hesitate. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

After spending days looking for the perfect villa in Tuscany I found Pianciano in Umbria..it was majestic!! The pictures and description changed our minds from a Tuscan vacation to an Umbrian vacation. Pianciano is stunning, all of the villas are tastefully decorated and very comfortable.
Claudia and Francesco are so wonderful, we were able to spend time with them on our pizza night, which by the way is a "must do". The next day Francesco invited us into his beautiful family home across the street, the history of this family is enchanting. Pianciano is a perfect spot to stay and explore Umbria, we traveled to Spello, Assisi, Orvieto, Cortona and Montepulciano for day trips and then came home and made wonderful dinners with fresh Umbrian goods and fantastic Montefalco wines in front of a beautiful fire! We also had a great time visiting the wine vineyards of the region.
Eva the housekeeper was wonderful, although she does not speak a lot of english we were able to communicate whatever we needed and she was right on it!!
I cannot wait to visit Pianciano again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
7.1 mi away
Ferretti
Ferretti
#2 of 2 in Monteluco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Vecchio Forno
6.8 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Albergo Paradiso
Albergo Paradiso
#1 of 2 in Monteluco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
6.9 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
2.7 mi away
Agriturismo L'Ulivo
Agriturismo L'Ulivo
#1 of 2 in Bazzano Inferiore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pianciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pianciano

Property: Pianciano
Address: Loc. Silvignano, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient hamlet with spectacular view on countless olive trees and historical mansion. Incredibly peaceful location, in a large estate, 11km from Spoleto. Closed to Assisi, Perugia, Montefalco. Accurately restored and furnished villas.Wifi. Swimming pool, private garden, steambath. Unobtrusive custodians on spot. Possible to rent from a romantic "room with a view" to the entire hamlet (max 20). Self catering, dinner on request, wooden oven pizza on request. Cooking lessons. Tour guide, Wildlife guide. Farm products. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pianciano Spoleto, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing