We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
194
189
47
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
189
47
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enormous balcony nice swimming pool buffet breakfast is choose this hotel street level overlooking the beach beach club room was large elevator terrace sea town euro mediterranean tiles noli promenade
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Average 4 star hotel, small but clean, however the food is diabolical, set menu, waiter service, prompt 7.30pm, with no exceptions!....the dining room staff are extremely unfriendly, unhelpful, and unable to smile. What a pity in such a beautiful area.they have a private beach but at 24euros per day, we decided to stay around the small but clean pool, although there is a big shortage of loungers, and there is a charge for pool towels.

Room Tip: Small standard rooms have back yard view and tiny bathroom and tiny shower cubicle. Some rooms do have sea view, at extra cost.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Janet G, we are sorry that your holiday was not so pleasant. You were traveling with a tour group of about 50 people.
The reviews received on the holiday booked through your agency highlight a basic problem: your agency has sold you a kind of trip and has agreed with us a different one. You were convinced that you booked a holiday as individual travelers, while the agency has agreed with us and its intermediaries a group tour with fixed menus, timetables and rules previously shared and approved (table sharing included).
We are sorry to have seemed grumpy just for managing your holiday according to the budgets and directions given by your agency.

All other groups and private guests are completely satisfied with us. We had this kind of problem only with Newmarket groups. Will be there a reason?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

This hotel fell far short of four star standards.
All of the meals were average; the breakfasts were always scrambled eggs , toast and cereal. The final evening meal of our stay was disappointing and almost inedible. There were never any jugs of water on the tables and plates were taken before we had finished.
The standard of service was very poor, the staff being off hand and reluctant to make much of an effort.
As an illustration, the final breakfast was advertised as being coffee and biscuits. However, no one had bothered to put any coffee in the coffee machine.
We have never complained about a holiday before.
On the plus side, our room was pleasant, with a great view and well-kept by the cleaning staff. The reception staff were also helpful.

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank 241mog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear 241mog, we are sorry that your holiday was not so pleasant. You were traveling with a tour group of about 50 people.
The reviews received on the holiday booked through your agency highlight a basic problem: you were convinced that you booked a holiday as individual travelers, while the agency has agreed with us and its intermediaries a group tour with fixed menus, timetables and rules previously shared and approved (table sharing included).
We are sorry to have seemed grumpy just for managing your holiday according to the budgets and directions given by your agency.

One clarifications to honor the truth: the day of departure for breakfast you found automatic machines for hot drinks and a variety of cookies just because your departure was scheduled for 4.45 hours and this extra service was not included in the Newmarket contract. Our breakfast buffet usually offers more than 70 different items.

All other groups and private guests are completely satisfied with us. We had this kind of problem only with Newmarket groups. Will be there a reason?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

I stayed at this hotel for a week as part of an organised holiday with Newmarket.. Having travelled to Italy previously I was looking forward to having some delicious Italian food. However I was to be disappointed. Breakfast was adequate and for the first couple of evenings so were the dinners. But then it was all downhill. Although the pasta course was ok the meat or fish course on most days was inedible. It was impossible to tell if you were eating chicken or fish it was so tasteless. It looked like it had been boiled in water to cook and the carrots that accompanied the food were out of a tin and very sweet. The food served to the independent travellers at this hotel looked of a much better standard. The restaurant staff were surly and had no interest in our group, there was no interaction with us at all. However our room was large and airy and was kept immaculate by the housekeeping staff. I also found the reception staff pleasant too. It's a pity the food and restaurant staff let this hotel down. My husband and I will not be holidaying with Newmarket again if this is the standard of food they think is adequate for their guests.

Stayed: June 2018
3  Thank RosemaryS1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Rosemary S, we are sorry that your holiday was not so pleasant.
You were traveling with a tour group of about 50 people.
The reviews received on the holiday booked through your agency highlight a basic problem: your agency has sold you a kind of trip and has agreed with us a different one. You were convinced that you booked a holiday as individual travelers, while the agency has agreed with us and its intermediaries a group tour with fixed menus, timetables and rules previously shared and approved (table sharing included).
We are sorry to have seemed grumpy just for managing your holiday according to the budgets and directions given by your agency.

All other groups and private guests are completely satisfied with us. We had this kind of problem only with Newmarket groups. Will be there a reason?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

My Wife and I stayed here with 4 friends 11th/18th June with Newmarket Holidays. The restaurant staff did not want to know about anything you said about the food or the service they didn't have a clue how to wait a table they would just drop plate in front of you without saying excuse me or anything else very rude. I appreciate we were in Italy but the food was so bland if like me you are a fussy eater then this hotel is not for you as there is no alternative choice take it or leave it is there answer when on a group tour. They treat other guest different they will be seated by the windows and seem to have better food and service than anyone else makes you feel like a second class citizen. The furniture in the reception is beyond repair an out of date. It has a nice little pool but no hand rail to hold onto when stepping into the water this would be a welcome aid for the not so agile person. Never seen a pool attendant cleaning the flys of the top of the pool no net . The area around the pool was never washed down some sun beds need replacing and kept clean when you comment on anything the people in reception just say complain to your tour manager they are just not interested. The house keeping side of it all is first class well done if the rest of the staff and management took a leaf out of there book then this could be a great hotel. It is in a lovely location over looking the bay that's if you book a sea view otherwise you over look a car park or a fire escape. There is a lift from the main road to the hotel but if this breaks down it is a very steep climb up hill not good if you are not fit. But I must say this part of Italy is beautiful well worth a visit but keep in mind it is built into the mountains so its all up hill.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank oxolfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Oxolfc, we are sorry that your holiday was not so pleasant. You were traveling with a tour group of about 50 people.
The reviews received on the holiday booked through your agency highlight a basic problem: your agency has sold you a kind of trip and has agreed with us a different one. You were convinced that you booked a holiday as individual travelers, while the agency has agreed with us and its intermediaries a group tour with fixed menus, timetables and rules previously shared and approved (table sharing included).
We are sorry to have seemed grumpy just for managing your holiday according to the budgets and directions given by your agency.

All other groups and private guests are completely satisfied with us. We had this kind of problem only with Newmarket groups. Will be there a reason?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

The staff of this hotel are not interested in what you think of it or what you think of the food if you are part of a group. The other guests however are spoken too, seated in the window and brought coffee made by the waiters.
The food for the group was nice for the first two days and then it was tasteless chicken, watery fish with no flavour and the strangest risotto made with long grain rice(in Italy!) our coffee is from a self service machine unless we pay extra. The chef or waiters never ask if we enjoyed the food and negative comments made to them are shrugged off and I suspect not passed on to the chef. The chef never appears at all. The staff avoid making eye contact. It would be fair to say that I have enjoyed some of the pasta courses and the breakfast is nice. The rep said there had been complaints about the food so the hotel obviously have not acted on them.
The room itself (411) is very small but others in our group have larger ones and as I only booked this a few weeks ago we must have the the last room. It is clean and has a view of the roof and fire escapes. Free WiFi means I can post this while I’m here! Sky tv in the room and luckily we brought our own kettle as tea and coffee in room facilities are not available. Bring your own beach towel too as it’s 5 euros to borrow one and 14-18 euros to use their beach.
The furnicular to the road is useful as the path is very steep and it has only broken down once.
The trips included by Newmarket were all nice but all were two hours away and set off at 8am returning 7pm. My main complaint is the transfer time of 5.30am when our flight is 11.30! It’s two hours to Nice airport so we have to be up so early that what seemed a good flight time now is not! It was the same coming here some had to wait hours in the airport for other flights before coming here. (It was an hour wait before we left on arrival).
The rep did not mention the early transfer time even though I had discussed how pleased I was to going home later than we arrived! His commentary on the trips had been pedestrian, he says very little but repeats it a lot. The lady guide for Cinque TERRE was not great either, she talked too much before giving us half an hour before meeting back! Barely time to walk around or have one of the many suggested coffees!

I asked the hotel if they have a feedback form and they don’t, the receptionist said to just email them I get the feeling discussing guest feedback to try to improve things is not on their agenda and I hope Newmarket do not go with them next year.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank nanaelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Naneelaine, we are sorry that your holiday was not so pleasant. You were traveling with a tour group of about 50 people.
The reviews received on the holiday booked through your agency highlight a basic problem: your agency has sold you a kind of trip and has agreed with us a different one. You were convinced that you booked a holiday as individual travelers, while the agency has agreed with us and its intermediaries a group tour with fixed menus, timetables and rules previously shared and approved (table sharing included).
We are sorry to have seemed grumpy just for managing your holiday according to the budgets and directions given by your agency.

For your information, we tried several times to change the menu together with the tour manager and our chef in order to meet the needs of you all, but you have to know that too high expectations have been created by putting at our disposal a very limited budget. It was therefore not possible for us to serve the dishes you desired respecting the budget fixed for your group. We are sorry to had seemed surly for this reason.
Your review on the tour organization confirms how your agency managed the whole trip with you , but also with our hotel: a bad organization and information can ruin everyone's experience, customers and tourist operators.
We have many years of experience in tourism and we had this kind of problem only with Newmarket. Will be there a reason? Please I kindly ask you to reflect over this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews