We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miramare

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stromboli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stromboli
Certificate of Excellence
Den Haag
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Hotel Miramare is located just above a small beach and has beautiful views over the beach and the sea. The sea was full with jellyfish so no cooling down in the water (not the hotels fault, I guess ;) ).
Our room had its own balcony with chairs which was a great place for relaxing after a tough Stromboli climb.
Breakfast was basic, but good.
Unfortunately, the place was a bit expensive, but this applies to all of Stromboli.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dyvyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    64
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
105
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Only stayed one night in early June of this year and it was a good hotel for what we needed it for. They get you to and from the port with their own transport. The location is great- in town and across the road from the beach. Breakfast is typical continental Italian style- bread, pastries, fruit and yoghurt. Hotel is retro 70’s style- can imagine what a hot spot it would have been 30 years ago. I found it very charming in a kitch way. Room is clean and comfy, a little too crowded with furniture though. Could have done with some absorbent towels instead of those bed sheet style ones- but only a small complaint. Oh and probably a bit expensive for what it was, but I found the whole of Stromboli to be very overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmate03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Great value, lovely views of the sea from all the rooms, big sandy beach in front of the hotel, very relaxing!
It's next to the more expensive Sirenetta, which we considered staying in but decided against since the only thing that made the Sirenetta better, in our view, was their pool, but what's the point of a pool when you're surrounded by big sandy beaches?

The hotel is simple as another reviewer noted, the furniture is dated and unexciting BUT our room was spacious and impeccably clean which we loved. We would trail sand into our rooms every day and the cleaning ladies always did a fantastic job. The owner is a lovely lady that welcomed us graciously. Her family has been running the place since the beginning of the century and she can give advice on where to go and what to see, although her English is not good, just point to places on the map and smile!

The best beach on the island is Ficogrande which is right in front of the hotel. I don't reccomend staying on the other side of the island because the beaches there are full of fishing boats and debris. I was a little worried about not enjoying a black sand beach but I was wrong, the sand was soft and warm, the beach in front of the hotel is wide and you can wade in slowly and enjoy its crystal clear waters. Do bring goggles because there are lots of fish to see. Stromboli is not just an island for trekkers. Its beaches are worth the stay too. We spent a week there and loved it. Make sure you take a trip to the little island of strombolicchio and swim in the blue water there, and do go to the Osservatorio pizzeria. It's an hour walk on a dirt road but if you go in the evening you're likely to see the volcano erupting while you eat which is awsome.

Other details: Nice terrace for breakfast, the food offered is mostly bread and cakes, so no English breakfast available. There's also a small reading room which is airconditioned and has a TV connected to a satellite dish in case you absolutely need to get your news or sports events or whatever. The rooms only have very small TVs with no cable connection, so you get just a few channels and when the wind is strong not much of that either!

Last detail, the nearby and much more posh island of Panarea is easy to reach and a good daytrip. Just go into the port and buy tickets there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AllyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2008

One has to consider, that Stromboli is not a fancy or funky Island of the Eolian islands. It's more laid back, simple, back-packer style.
Therefor the Hotel Miramare is above level and offers nice and clean rooms, all with sea view and little terrace. Breakfast is simple but OK. Speed boats arrive early morning from Milazzo (Sicily main island) and the owner pick guests up at the port and drive them with a nostalgic hotel car ("Ape") to the hotel, where check-in can already be made very early, and if not you enjoy an early breakfast. Hosts/owner are polite and are always willing to help. The hotel is not in Stromboli center, which is actually not a problem. Since there is no traffic allowed (except bikes, electro-cars etc.) you can reach the island's village in an easy 10-15 minute's walk, either along the beach or through the green hinterland. Right in front of the hotel is the black lava beach, which is only separated by a small coast-road. All in all I can warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness
  • Disliked — Water plant
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matteo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromboli
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
#3 of 6 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stromboli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
#4 of 6 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Locanda del Barbablu
La Locanda del Barbablu
#5 of 6 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Cincotta
Hotel Cincotta
#1 of 9 in Panarea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pensione La Nassa
Pensione La Nassa
#1 of 11 in Stromboli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Vito Nunziante 3, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Stromboli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stromboli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 332
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Stromboli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing