We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Casa del Sole

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromboli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa del Sole
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We hadn't booked accommodation before arriving so got to look at a few other places before getting to Casa del Sole and choosing it. It is a bit of a walk from the ferry but if you ring ahead the helfpul owner will pick you up and drop you off. At night you might need a flashlight for some streets on Stromboli but it feels entirely safe, the only sense of danger coming from the frequent eruptions above! The rooms here are simple but nice and are clean. There is a common kitchen that guests can use and a nice outdoor area for dining or relaxing and this is sheltered from sun or rain. Some of the accommodation on Stromboli can be a bit expensive but we thought this was good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had not booked anywhere on Stromboli, but headed To Casa del Sole. The owner was out, but returned my Call ASAP. She was very welcoming.
For a reasonable price we had a triple room with en suite. It was clean but no toilet roll!! We had use of the communal Fridge And kitchen, but no breakfast.
I walked with my 2 children, And baggage, from The Port, it took around 30mins.
Using the higher Road into town took around 15min max.
Being the far side of town we were much closer To The beautiful secluded black sand beach.
The courtyard area is perfect for young children To Play, And use the hammocks.
We were also the right side of town for walking up Stromboli; I took My children (aged 4 And 11) as far as you are really aloud without a guide.
We left at around 4.30, it took us a good 1 hour 1/2.
We didn't fancy the walk down in the dark, so after seeing a big eruption, we made our way down To The Observatory restaurant To watch the sunset And night time eruptions.
We brought flash lights in town (a must) for the rest of the walk down, as it is pitch black.
Take water And warm clothes. It is a strenuous walk (especially carrying a 4yr old some of the way!!) And gets very cold after The sun goes down.
I recommend walking high enough To see the lava flow into the sea. There are 2 sets of wooden fences. Head To the top fence, then make your way down To safer paths before dark if you have young children.
It was an experience me nor my children will forget. We saw lava eruptions like fireworks, mountain goats, loads of Lizards And even a Snake!!
We miss waking up To Stromboli 's thundering eruption booms already!!

Room Tip: Ground floor with young kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Even though I was travelling in May this is not peak season so the place was empty. This was bad as I was staying on my own and had to walk back along a very long and dark road to get back at night (i.e. after doing the hike to the top of Stromboli which was an incredible experience!) If you are a girl travelling on your own I recommend not staying here as it was quite scary walking home. However if you are in a couple or more I'm sure it is fine and it was good value for money and because the place was so quiet I was given a large room - so I would still recommend it, just be aware of the walk into town.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank London_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chl0ejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank ndrake121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se sentite il bisogno del bagno privato, prenotate in largo anticipo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_sabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sara v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stromboli hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
#4 of 6 in Stromboli
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stromboli
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
#3 of 6 in Stromboli
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
102.7 mi away
La Locanda del Barbablu
La Locanda del Barbablu
#5 of 6 in Stromboli
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Gabbiano Relais Stromboli
102.6 mi away
Residence Aquilone
Residence Aquilone
#1 of 11 in Stromboli
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sole

Address: Via Giuseppe Cincotta, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Stromboli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Stromboli
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing