We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice garden is not enough”
Review of Residence Aquilone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Aquilone
Ranked #2 of 11 Stromboli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We booked a room by phone for 2 nights , because the reviews on TripAdvisor was nice for this B&B.
On the first day of our trip, our boat to stromboli (from Milazzo) has been canceled due to bad weather conditions .Be careful with this, sometimes boats for/from stromboli (which is a bit more farer) are canceled because the waves are too strongs and you can be stucked for the day in the port just like this.
I sent a email to Aquilone guest house to explain this bad new and ask for reschedule as soon as the weather is good.The guy (adriano) reply to me by saying that the weather is good and all that the boat are coming to Stromboli today: In brief, he treat me like a liar!Even if that was true ( which is not), I really don't see the point in treating a customer a liar?!
By arriving 2 days later in Stromboli, we finally get our room in Aquilone residence.The room is moist and aging (especially the bathroom), the tiny shower is a nightmare (a tank of 10 liters of hot water only, pouring hot and cold alternatively , you have to be very quick) and very near from the toillet (20 cm max : when you wash yourself, you wash the toilet as well).
Beside, our guest Adriano is not very smiling at all.By arriving ,I told him that since the weather conditions will change again the day after tomorrow, we can't take the risk to be stucked here and miss our plane (3 days after) and have to leave tomorrow .Again he ask me "who told me that the weather will becoming bad".!!? The information was on every weather websites and some inhabitants on vulcano said the same the day before.
Renting a room is more important for him that us missing our plane?!!

In brief, this B&B has a nice garden and a central location on the island, that's all. Rooms and staff are not value the money.They are surfing on their good rank on trip advisor for those two first reasons. That's why a lot of travelers actually meets there.
It's a pity. There are a lot of sicilian and eaolians guests everywhere that will do anything to please you but they're not all very friendly with the "Trip advisor business".
My advice: try to find them and avoid those kind of shiny "1st B&B on trip advisor" business place....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lionel_GRARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

An excellent location on the island, friendly people ready to serve you and make your stay most enjoyable, beautiful gardens, excellent conditions, privacy and a beautiful atmosphere overall. I recommend it to all people that would like to enjoy a green oasis and relaxation.

Room Tip: They have all kinds of rooms for all tastes and desires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We've been at residence Aquilone last year and enjoyed a hospitality and lovely garden. This year we stay longer and feel the same good service. Thank you to Adrian and Francesco!

Good clean rooms, lovely garden and delicious breakfast in the quiet centre of Stromboli. We will come back :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman_Gutchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We booked two double rooms for one night with a quoted price of 35 euro per person. On arrival one room was of reasonable size, pleasant decoration and included small private bath. The second room was two single beds with small alley between and one small window (1 foot square) high in the wall, and no bathroom. While a 10 euro deduction was made for this room, it was very disappointing and very warm. A very small fan was provided. The first room had air conditioning, but a 20 euro charge is incurred for using the A/C. The evenings are mild so the first room was warm but tolerable. The small room had such limited air circulation that it was very uncomfortable. Bathroom and shower were a short walk in the outdoor open common area. The owners were helpful and the breakfast was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vagab0nd_Family_0f_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Good service and a relaxing atmosphere. A cozy breakfast in the lovely garden. The owner is helpful and nice. The rooms are decent, but small and they do not have air condition (but fan). Stromboli is a beautiful place and definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sol148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

A friend and I stayed at Residence Aquilone early May, originally for only one night. It's located only a few minutes walk from the church/shops/trekking companies, about 10 or so minutes from the port (if you know where you're going! The few locals we asked knew it and directed us there) All the rooms are separate bungalows in lovely sprawling gardens... we had a basic, small but comfortable room with ensuite wetroom plus table and chairs on a covered patio. Our visit was solely about climbing Stromboli, but we had appalling weather, couldn't see a thing! We decided to extend our visit another night, which was no problem, and our host was very helpful with letting us use his internet briefly so we could cancel and rearrange our next few days' accommodation. Breakfast is in a covered outdoor area, the usual Italian-style rolls with jams etc, plus coffee or tea... and the tastiest juice! Having seen the sights of Stromboli the previous day, we spent a very relaxing day just chilling out around the grounds and gardens. Being early May, we didn't have need of heating or air-con, so was a very comfortable temperature... may be a different story in mid-summer! Overall, I'd recommend Residence Aquilone if you're looking for somewhere that's a fraction of the ridiculously expensive hotels. Oh and we had better luck with Stromboli the 2nd night. Saw a few eruptions, was amazing!!

Room Tip: Some rooms are available with a small fridge, so request this when you book if you require one. Jud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hyperdog70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just a few rooms set around a lovely garden which was kept in an immaculate state. Garden is full of lemons, oranges and grapefruit, flowers and a variety of other vegetation. Just beautiful. The host Adriano was lovely and friendly, helping us book at trip up Stromboli and collecting us from the port when the hydrofoil arrived - this is really necessary as you would never find the place otherwise! The room was small but very pretty, and had a nice patio with chairs and table for a tranquil lunch. Plenty of food for breakfast, and in the summer it looks like he can also cook dinner for you too (not easter - I guess not enough people there). The only problem is one you get everywhere on Stromboli because they need to import all their water, the shower is really weedy. This meant it was really hard to wash my hair as the pressure was not sufficient - but really this is a very minor issue. Really recommended as a quiet, restful and very attractive place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stromboli hotels
102.4 mi away
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
#4 of 6 in Stromboli
542 reviews
102.4 mi away
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stromboli
279 reviews
102.4 mi away
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
#3 of 6 in Stromboli
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
102.4 mi away
Pedra Residence
Pedra Residence
#7 of 11 in Stromboli
89 reviews
105.1 mi away
Luna Rossa Bed and Breakfast
102.2 mi away
Pensione La Nassa
Pensione La Nassa
#1 of 11 in Stromboli
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Aquilone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Aquilone

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 29, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Stromboli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stromboli
Price Range: £51 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Aquilone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing