We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”
Review of Residence Aquilone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Aquilone
Ranked #2 of 11 Stromboli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First of all, the B&B is not well indicated so quite difficult to find. The place is shady with lots of vegetation which is appreciable in summer. I found the rooms comfortable but a bit tight as the ceiling is low. The decoration is completely out of date so I personaly disliked it. The breakfast is correct. The B&B is very well located as it close to beaches and the centre of San Vicenzo, which is near the departure to climb the Stromboli. You may book two nights because if you are unlucky and that the activity of the Stromboli is too high, the access to the top of the vulcano is closed and the excursions are cancelled. If you stay 2 nights, you have more chances to get at the top. Even if you can't go atthe top, you may still get at 400m and have a stunning view of magma explosions !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missy-vip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    56
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
31
101
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swarzedz, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Perfect place to stay when visiting Stromboli island, we definitely recommend it. Friendly and helpful staff, charming place and tasteful decoration, good breakfast and services. As we couldn't climb on top of Stromboli because of a particularly sticky cloud, we will definitely be back and stay at Residence Aquilone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamousFiveLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a family quadruple room so we could climb the volcano. The room was cosy and the bathroom very small but you do get a lovely terrace in the gardens to sit out in.

The service was very friendly - when I said that we would be taking the 0715 ferry back to the mainland, we were offered an early breakfast or a packed one to take with us which we opted for. The breakfast on the other morning was good with pastries, fresh warm bread and marmalade and coffee/chocolate.

The location is central and the nearby restaurant (La Lampara) is good (far better than Lucianos).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rovers_Girl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

PROS:
-Super friendly staff (Especially Adrian and Valentin!) that went out of their way to make sure our stay was worthwhile. They both spoke English and told us everything we needed to know from where to get the best gelato, to what to do.
-The rooms are a basic, but a great value on the island and with cute decor.
-The garden where breakfast is served is lovely, and the outdoor terrace (with WiFi) is especially delightful because it has views to both the water and volcano.
-Delicious cake for breakfast!
-Great, central location.

CONS:
-Depending on what you're after, the rooms could be too basic.
-It can be a bit tricky to find so either ask someone for help or read the instructions from other reviews in advance.
-Our shower was really tiny, but this varies with the room you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_and_T_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed for one night at the Residence Aquilone so we could climb Strombolli Volcano. Nice clean room with comfy bed and perfect for the nights stay. Has a real Hippy feel to it. There is no air conditioning but there is a fan in the room. Breakfast in the morning was continental with hot rolls, jam and coffee which was very nice. Very friendly host (English speaking) who was happy to answer any questions. Isn't a 5star hotel but a nice clean B&B. Took some time to find in the first place though as we couldn't find a map on-line. Direction are: find the main Church. While facing the front of the Church take the street on the right past Magmatrek tours and along the side of the hill (Emanuele III). Take the first alley on your left (just before a small bar/shop). Walk along to the end of the small alley and you'll see a sign for Residence Aquilone. If the door isn't open just keep following the path round to the right (then left) and there is a small reception desk in the far corner of the courtyard area. Remember to return the key when you leave as it's easily forgotten !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKRobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The place is very nice, with small bungalows scattered over a beautiful garden.

The major drawback for us was that the staff happened to be very susceptible, which I don't consider as being professional in this case.
So beware their mood ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

It´s a charming place, hidden between the main street and the volcano. There is very nice and helpful people ! The room was lovely with a kitchen, it was pleasant to cooked outside.

We will come back with pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieAndHadrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stromboli hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
#3 of 6 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stromboli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
#4 of 6 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Locanda del Barbablu
La Locanda del Barbablu
#5 of 6 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensione La Nassa
Pensione La Nassa
#1 of 11 in Stromboli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Petrusa
Hotel Villa Petrusa
#8 of 11 in Stromboli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Aquilone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Aquilone

Property: Residence Aquilone
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 29, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Stromboli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stromboli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Aquilone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing