We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stromboli Volcano

Stromboli Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
US$4,533.80*
and up
Sicily's Volcanoes Helicopter Tour from Taormina
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Stromboli
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Herts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The volcano is amazing, you can sit and watch it erupt and day and night! you can relax and have dinner and watch, you can trek up any time day or night, but only with guides past 400M and at night.

It is truly a magical experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tragil74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    170
    56
    16
    24
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nasushiobara, Japan
Level Contributor
175 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“experience of a life time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Unfortunately I did not have the time to trek up the mountain, so I took a boat that anchored off the cost, just in front of la Sciara.
Stromboli is in constant eruption, every 15-20 minutes, as a matter of fact from Tropea you can see it fuming. It's the only vulcano presently active in Europe.
If like me you'll be watching from a boat, wait until you hear a thunder (like a jet passing overhead) and at that point turn on your recording device: in a matter of seconds you'll be rewarded with a nice eruption of fire.
As a side dish, you can shoot some breathtaking sunsets.
Go and enjoy: it is worth every Euro.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank locomotore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We did the hike up Stromboli with Magmatrek. We set off from the main Piazza at about 5.30 and made the 2 and a half hour trek to the top. I would say that you wouldn't necessarily need to be exceptionally fit to do this but certainly you would need to be somewhat fit to do it as the walk can be grueling, especially in the hot and humid conditions. The walking pace is pretty timid so you should have no problem keeping up and if you're feeling you can't do it, then the view and experience at the top should easily motivate you to keep going. At the top, you watch for about 30/40 minutes as the volcano does it's thing, it was especially active the night we were there so we were treated to some great fireworks!
The trip back down takes about 1 and a half hours and is quite steep and also very dusty. It is necessary to have proper hiking boots, torch, water (and lots of it!) and a bag to carry your stuff with you. Also good to have a handkerchief or something to cover your mouth with at least as it is exceptionally dusty on the way back down. You can hire the boots, torch, bag etc in a place called Totem trekking for very reasonable prices and they are also only a short hop from the Magmatrek office so it is very convenient.
If your planning on coming to Stromboli and you haven't booked a tour yet, do it now, this is a must see in my opinion and one that will live long in the memory!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most memorable experience of the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We climbed the mountain as part of a group with Magnatrek. It takes about 3 hours to climb up and it is tough. You need to be quite fit. However, it is worth the effort. We were at the summit at about midnight and we stayed for about 40 minutes. There were non stop eruptions. It was pyrotechnics all the way. It is an incredible experience to witness under a dark but star filled sky.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joeot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A MUST-SEE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We set off from Stromboli town at 5pm to climb Stromboli. The climb was exciting as you could hear the odd 'boom' from the hidden craters above! We arrived at the top at 8pm and spent an hour watching an INCREDIBLE show of lava as the sun set!! It was very hot during the climb, and would be difficult if you're unfit, so shouldn't be taken on lightly. The descent was fun and fast - 'surfing' down volcanic ash!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank geogrhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stromboli Volcano also viewed

 
Stromboli, Aeolian Islands
Stromboli, Aeolian Islands
 

Been to Stromboli Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing