We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle of the road in the middle of Stromboli Town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Carlotta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Carlotta
Ranked #8 of 11 Stromboli B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Middle of the road in the middle of Stromboli Town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is very much a one-man show and the owner is both helpful and a bit too obviously present there. It provides a good breakfast by Italian B&B standards with freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh rolls. (He also ordered fresh bread specially early on the morning we were leaving).

Spacious rooms, but be aware that one room has an unlockable door to the kitchen!

Yapping dog next door was a continual disturbance.

Needs signage to direct visitors; there is not even a sign on the house itself. We asked at the port and were directed along a route with twice as much hills and steps as the most direct route.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, gestore at Casa Carlotta, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
thank you for the comments, you were very kind. what about my presence in the house?yes i live here sharing everything with my guests trying to let them feel at home. about my neighbor's dog: my secret plan to kill him it was ready....than i decided to ask him to take less drastic measures and so far it is working!about the door im sorry you are wrong:the door is an non-opening door....btw here in stromboli we live an unkeys life(sort of life where you dont need any keys!!so thank you again and see you next time. cheeers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We choose Casa Carlotta viewing the website, our room was quite beautiful but near the kitchen so not the best for the privacy.
The place is beautiful with a great look at the volcano and with large accomodations like the garden and the big patios.
The breakfast was also great, hot bread and home marmelade made by Pasquale (the person that run the business) that gently help us every time we asked for something.
The house is near the sea and near the main square of Stromboli where all the activities related to the volcano take their start and end.

Room Tip: Ask for the room not near the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0bert064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, gestore at Casa Carlotta, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
thank you roberto, it was a pleasure met you and elisabetta. thanks for the comments and see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stapleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We have chosen this accommodation as the pictures on their website were stunning but once we got in our room on arrival we felt a bit disappointed. The room was adjacent to the kitchen which was shared so we felt we had no privacy at all having the guy who run the place basically with his ear attached to the door. Frankly speaking the worst thing about this accommodation was the odd behavior of the guy who run the business, quite rude in his ways and acting sneaky. Perhaps without it I wouldn't have minded his shoes, clothes and used shavers in our bathroom. Casa Carlotta was expensive compared to other places on Stromboli, that seemed much friendlier. We wish we hadn't made that mistake.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, gestore at Casa Carlotta, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
sometimes between people we do not create the right harmony, we do not breathe good vibes, even between hosts and guests, this was our case. Obviously i was not with my ears attached to the door and of course my shavers was not in the bathroom. However it's ok, no one is perfect(not me at all). i accept all critics, positive or negative, but i certainly do my best to make my guests feel good. One thing is true, perhaps Casa Carlotta is a little bit more expensive than other palces, but there are thousand reasons to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stromboli hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
#3 of 6 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Locanda del Barbablu
La Locanda del Barbablu
#5 of 6 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stromboli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
#4 of 6 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Giardino Segreto
Il Giardino Segreto
#11 of 11 in Stromboli
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedra Residence
Pedra Residence
#6 of 11 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carlotta

Property: Casa Carlotta
Address: Via Michele Bianchi 7, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Stromboli
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stromboli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Carlotta is located just a few steps away from Piazza San Vincenzo, Stromboli's principal square, and only 300m from the sea. Built in the famous "eolian" style, the house is cured in every detail. All rooms have a private bathroom, WiFi acces and A/C. Casa Carlotta has two big patios fully equipped and a big garden with a wonderful view of both the meditteranean and the vulcano.The two patio's are the right place for a nice chat, a nice breakfast, reading in the shade or organize a dinner with your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Casa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing