We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to the disco” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villaggio Stromboli

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stromboli
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcome to the disco”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

it seems that the owners have decided that the hotel is not anymore so important for them. Their core business is now the disco.
So this is the choice if you want to enjoy disco music until 3 am and then the noisy gathering of people that want to continue to enjoy the night inside the hotel.
If you are so dull to pretend to sleep for just 250 EUR per night then you should loom for something else.
Of course, if this hotel is your choice you would not care about the obsolence of the rooms and of the facilities.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    78
    44
    13
    9
See reviews for
53
79
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a family of 13 travelling together and needed 5 rooms. This place was the perfect fit. It is made up of a series of rooms around small courtyards with the main buiding in the middle. We had 3 rooms in one area and 2 in the other. This allowed us to all sit together at night while having a drink and playing games on our small decks.
The hotel has a restaurant overlooking the water for supper and lunch and another restaurant for breakfast (which is included) that has AC or you can eat on the balcony again with water views. The hotel also has a TV room so you can watch your own movies in comfort and there is a large comfy roof top deck.
It is a quick walk to all the shops and restaurants.
The beach is just down the stairs. Chairs and umbrellas can be rented for 10ER each for the day. Just make sure to bring your own beach towel.
The rooms are basic but comfortable. There is no TV or AC but you do have a fan and a small fridge.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itchintogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

The setting, just above the sea and looking out towards the lighthouse on Strombolicchio, is simply stunning. The room itself looked beautiful with antique furniture and en suite shower room. Outside was a patio area with table and chairs. Unfortunately, there was not tea or coffee facilties in the room.

Unfortunately, facilities at the hotel were rather lacking and again I support the previous reviewer's comment "B&B quality at hotel prices". The hotel is someway out from the main town - a positive benefit until you are told that the bar is closed. Not even someone with the key to a chiller cabinet! Similarly, the restaurant was not open. We were told that this was because it was out of season (mid-April). There was a fridge in the room and so we put bottles in there - good job I had a bottle opener. The reception desk was closed for much of the day but when it was open, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was simple but good with cereal, bread and croissant. Unfortunately, the coffee was from a self-service machine and was really rather unpleasant (despite the fact that there were several staff and a proper coffee maker in the room).

We very much felt that we were given our room and then abandonned. Toward the end of our stay, some other guests arrived (I think we were the only guests at first) and a lounge room was opened up. Perhaps during busier times, there is a little more atmosphere, better service and a bar.

Stunning place - but a bit more effort required, I feel, to earn their money.

Room Tip: Pay and get the Piaggio transfer from the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KFCDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

We chose Hotel Villagio Stromboli because I had worked there as a waiter 40 years ago!!! It is still run by the same family.

I think another reviewer indicated that the hotel was more of a bed and breakfast standard dressed up as a more luxury hotel (with prices to match) and there is some truth in that - but Stromboli is a heck of a long way from anywhere and still basic and unspoilt - so you should take that into consideration.

The Hotel is not "central" (Stromboli is however tiny) - so if you are elderly or disabled you really should avoid it - otherwise the stroll into "town" is lovely and all part of the Stromboli experience (maybe 15 minutes at a very gentle pace).

The Hotel location is simply gorgeous with rooms overlooking the sea, and in quiet courtyards. We had the romantic sea view - but actually that can be a drawback because the sea does (not suprisingly) make a LOT of noise - which when you also factor in that the volcano erups on average every 20 minutes (with the sound of a small atom bomb) sleep is difficult!! If we went back we would actually forego the sea view - but if you are feeling romantic it is a must!!

The rooms are OK - quite small but clean and basic (hence the "bed and breakfast" feel). Breakfast was fine (though not number one on our Italy Trip).

Staff were friendly but spoke little english and you must remember we are near Scicily here - the locals are all fairly abrupt in manner.

So - this all sounds a bit downbeat? Well - we loved it!! The location is just sensational and the Island wonderful. If you are fussy - avoid Hotel Villagio Stromboli because you WILL find fault at the price you pay - but if you are retired backpackers/hippies with the kids now flown the nest and just enough money to enjoy a basic "feel" at a bit of a price in one of the world's most extaordinary islands - then book now!!!!!

As to Stomboli generally - we you have to go!! If you are young then climb the volcano (with guides) if not then book a boat to see the lava flows at night (Frank International are safe and whilst Frank, the boatman, is a bit gruff his Missus is loveley).

Stromboli is basic - that is its charm - so don't expect a resort - but do expect to feel that you are on an extraordinary place - 40 years ago!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

Overpriced but not more than any other hotel in Stromboli.
We were given a room for 4 which was so small that we ended up staying in 2 double rooms ( so we had to pay almost double the price expected...which was already too high).
The location is perfect, there is a small beach right in front of the hotel and the view is breathtaking
We were very pleased from the food at the restaurant but breakfast was average.
The hotel staff should be able to talk English, although everyone was very friendly and eager to help.
I would recommend it to a friend only if something less expensive was not available.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stopped here for one night to climb the volcano. The room was nice, clean and the bathroom pretty modern. But you have to pay 10 Euro extra for air conditioning. It was very hot when we went so you would need to have that on.

At night I could hear the sea. Our room had a patio and sea view. The hotel has access to the beach below, which I thought seemed nicer than the main beach. The hotel isn't very central but the island is tiny. We walked from the habour slowly in the heat which probably took about 20 minutes. Its a ten minute walk into the main town square.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

We stayed here for three nights and quite enjoyed it - the rooms are small, but clean, and have nice traditional furniture. The bathroom was not very modern, but also clean and absolutely sufficient. The room was quiet, all you could hear at night was the sound of waves.

In front of the room was a seaside patio with a table and chairs which I enjoyed very much (not much privacy, though, since there are not dividers to next room's patio).

The hotel itself is very tastefully designed, lots of flowers and open pathways. Mind though that you may have to carry your luggage over several stairs (not possibility to roll your suitcase).

Breakfast was a rather simple affair, there was not a huge choice but still ok. We had lunch at the restaurant there once, and the food was very good.

The location is not really central, but since Stromboli town is quite small you can reach the center with a 10-15 minutes stroll. The seaside location made totally up for that :-)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ISW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromboli
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli
#3 of 6 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
La Sirenetta-Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stromboli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Locanda del Barbablu
La Locanda del Barbablu
#5 of 6 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel La Piazza
Hotel La Piazza
#4 of 9 in Panarea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pensione La Nassa
Pensione La Nassa
#1 of 11 in Stromboli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pedra Residence
Pedra Residence
#6 of 11 in Stromboli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villaggio Stromboli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villaggio Stromboli

Property: Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
Address: Via Regina Elena 38, 98050, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Stromboli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stromboli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villaggio Stromboli 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villaggio Stromboli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing