We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great place to escape and enjoy down time...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Ulignano

Front garden with 8m x 4m pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front garden with 8m x 4m pool.
The apartment from the garden. Villa Ulignano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
22 reviews
Front garden with 8m x 4m pool.
The apartment from the garden.
Villa Ulignano
Your Terrace
The double room
The twin room
The lounge area with TV and DVD player.
The kitchen space.
The dining area.
The shower room.
The all-new adjustable climbing wall
Fun in the pool.
Your view from the balconies
Path leading to Chiesa, Santa Maria del Lago
Sulmona's famous aqueduct
Picnic area by the spring fed San Domenico Lake
Snowshoeing in the local valley
Out on a cycle ride by the river near Bussi
Sulmona Giostra is held in the main piazza
One of the many water hydrants still used for crop irrigation
Pescara Beach
One of the beach areas at Lake Scanno
Lake Scanno as seen from the mountains above
Local pool in Sulmona (1 outdoor pool & 2 indoor pools)
The twice weekly market in Sulmona's main square
A snowshoe walk in the mountains above Lake Scanno
The immaculate streets of Pescocostanzo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
John L
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to escape and enjoy down time, beautiful surroundings and relaxation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week and loved every minute of it. Dougie and Michelle were excellent hosts - very helpful, informative and non intrustive. Very knowledgable and obliging.
Apartment was spacious, modern, really comfortable and complete with all faciliites (including outdoor bbq!).
Beautiful surrounding area - mountains, lakes, parks etc. Great place to escape and enjoy down time, clean nature and relaxation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to have you staying at Villa Ulignano. We look forward to seeing you all again one day. Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelSp...
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villa Ulignano - both thumbs up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Villa Ulignano apartment is clean and very cozy. The area is stunning and Dougie and Michelle are very friendly and helpful in every way. GREAT VACATION and we recommend this property very highly.
Michael and Ruth Spero
Jerusalem, Israel

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, it was lovely to meet you both...hopefully next time we will get out walking with you. Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George D
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb holiday which included great activities and rest, in a home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Both Dougie and Michelle enhanced our stay by being excellent hosts. Their apartment was all we expected and more in terms of decor, locality and comfort. The area around their location offers a lot to do and is in a beautiful setting especially with the views of the mountains in the morning and setting sun in the evening. There was nothing that we lacked and their unobtrusive help and support guided us to get the best from all that was available. We could not thank them enough for a memorable and wonderful holiday.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2014
Your kind comments are very much appreciated, we're glad you enjoyed your stay & look forward to you returning to Abruzzo in the future. Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart K
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Superb location, superb accommodation and superb hosts. Clean accommodation with all the facilities we needed. We loved the ruralness of the apartment, to wake up to a view of the mountains every morning is something we will never forget.

The owners/hosts couldn't be more friendly or helpful if they tried. Nothing was too much trouble for them, we asked for some basic provisions for our first night which was just right to get us in the “Italian mood”.

Sulmona is about 5 minutes by car and has supermarkets, restaurants and the usual amenities. Further afield Lake Scanno is a superb place for an afternoon (or even a day if you take a picnic) of swimming and relaxing.

All in all, a great place with great people, thank you Dougie and Michele.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Absolutely NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2013
Thank you for the kind words, it was great to have you stay & your amazing girls were fab company for our boys. We look forward to seeing you all again one day. Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roderrs
various
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A great location with superb hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a well equipped, spotlessly clean apartment in a great location with excellent views. The lovely town of Sulmona is nearby with all your needs catered for, restaurants, supermarkets, bars etc. However what makes this place is the owners' welcome. This lovely couple go well beyond expectations to look after you with a tour of their vineyard and wine making cantina, top advice on things to see and generous gifts of incredibly fresh produce from their garden. They made our holiday.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The hosts!
Liked least: A bit too hot!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, it was a pleasure to have you both here. We'd love to see you return one day, particularly if you need to 'escape' and return to Europe!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliseS123
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A most enjoyable holiday in an idyllic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our ten night stay at Villa Ulignano was one of the most enjoyable family holidays we have ever had. Surrounded by breathtakingly beautiful mountain scenery it was the perfect place for relaxing and getting away from our busy everyday life. The town of Sulmona is a very short distance away and is a stunning place to visit with shops, bars and lots of family friendly restaurants serving great Italian food. We particularly enjoyed a trip to Lake Scanno, which is less than an hour away. The car journey up to the town and lake provided some amazing scenery. The beaches of Pescara and Francavilla al mare are around an hours drive away and are well worth visiting. We found them perfect for families as they are very clean, sandy beaches and they have lots of things that children can play on.
We decided upon a brief trip to Rome by train from Sulmona station which took around 3 hours. It was a very easy journey with lovely mountain views along the way. It was nice to experience a different side of Italy, if only for a short while, with the hustle and bustle of the piazzas and shopping areas. The architecture in Rome is definitely worth seeing and it is surprising how much sightseeing you can fit in to 24 hours, even with two young children in tow!
There so are many small towns and villages to visit in Abbruzzo and winding our way up mountain roads to these places is all part of the Italian experience. There is beauty around every bend, tiny mountain top towns, distant snowcapped mountains, lush green trees and glistening lakes, I could go on...

If you love all of these things, or even if you have never been to Italy before, Villa Unlignano is definatly the place to stay. The family were extremely welcoming and always ready with advice about places to visit or eat etc. The villa and its surroundings are lovely and it was a very comfortable and relaxing stay for us all. We would highly recommend a visit to Villa Ulignano!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The setting and excellent location
Liked least: going home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, we're glad you loved Abruzzo so much. We look forward to welcoming you back here again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepnbecks
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply outstanding! Spacious fully equipped accomodation. Beautiful mountain views. The most welcoming, friendly owners.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013 for a stay in April 2012

We stayed at Villa Ulignano during 2012 while travelling around Italy. We simply cannot recommend it highly enough for anyone wanting to experience some real Abruzzo! We arrived during very cold weather and left during very hot weather,but we found the appartment to be perfectly equipped for both conditions, with central heating and a wood burner (fantastic!) for those cold times but also balcony and shuttered windows for the hotter times.
The grounds and views are simply stunning with mountain peaks literally all around you. The main sandy beach at Pescara is only 40 mins away, but there are many incredible lakes even nearer. Or you can go skiing at just 45 mins!
The appartment was equpped with absolutely everything we could possibly need, including a full collection of dvds! Plenty of storage and plenty of parking.
The town of Sulmona is only 4 km away and a really pleasant cycle (we cycled to the town almost every day with our two small children). The town has a brilliant market twice a week for all your fruits, cheeses and salamis etc - a must visit! Has some great restaurants and shops and just the best ice cream you will find!
The local people are the most friendly you will ever meet, and they really can not do enough for you.
The area around the appartment is so quiet and peaceful that we really felt we were miles from anywhere (in a great way), but in just a few short minutes we found many busy towns and could easy access motorways to take trips to find pretty much anything we wanted - waterparks, national parks, lakes, beaches, shopping mega centres, cinemas etc etc. It also has a train station with excellent links to all the great parts of Italy.
The owners, Michelle & Dougie, have really put so much thought into this accomodation, to make it such a pleasant and welcoming place to stay, and the area is such a lovely place to visit. We would recomend this rental to anyone who wants to guarantee they will get great accomodation, great location, great local people, and great owners!
We returned from our tour of Italy in September and had so many things to organise that we have only just written this review. Writing it now has brought all the incredible memories flooding back, as it was such an incredible place! - We will definately be returning to Villa Ulignano and we hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Peppe, Rebecca, Massi & Tilly

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Peaceful Location
Liked least: Having to Leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It would be lovely to see you guys & the children back out here. Thanks for looking after the place so well while we were gone.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing