We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Memorable Experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Ulignano

The apartment from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The apartment from the garden.
Villa Ulignano The double room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The apartment from the garden.
Villa Ulignano
The double room
The twin room
Ensuite, self contained double room with sofa, fridge & tea/coffee making facilities
The lounge area with TV and DVD player.
The kitchen space.
The dining area.
The shower room.
The all-new adjustable climbing wall
Fun in the pool.
Your view from the balconies
Path leading to Chiesa, Santa Maria del Lago
Sulmona's famous aqueduct
Picnic area by the spring fed San Domenico Lake
Snowshoeing in the local valley
Out on a cycle ride by the river near Bussi
Sulmona Giostra is held in the main piazza
One of the many water hydrants still used for crop irrigation
Pescara Beach
One of the beach areas at Lake Scanno
Lake Scanno as seen from the mountains above
Local pool in Sulmona (1 outdoor pool & 2 indoor pools)
The twice weekly market in Sulmona's main square
A snowshoe walk in the mountains above Lake Scanno
The immaculate streets of Pescocostanzo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
romallia
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

On our arrival, we immediately fell in love with Abruzzo, thanks to Michelle and Dougie (property owners) who made us feel at home with their hospitality. The apartment is great! Impeccable clean and with all the necessary amenities for a perfect holiday. What we liked most were the mountain views from every window of the apartment. Also, excellent home made wine and jam too. Quite easy to visit Sulmona and the surrounding areas as the apartment is only a few kilometers away. Hope we will be able to visit again in the future and we're surely recommend this holiday home to our family and friends. Thanks once again Michelle and Dougie for making our holiday most enjoyable. Arrivederci!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, mountain views and hospitality of owners.
Liked least: Nothing to comment about
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we're glad you enjoyed Abruzzo as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbarasS...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful area for a holiday”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in this apartment for a week and really enjoyed discovering Abruzzo and meeting some wonderful people. Michelle and Dougie are the perfect hosts, friendly and enthusiastic about the area. The local town, Sulmona, is an easy 10 minute drive and has great value bars, shops and restaurants and cultural activities. Pescara can be reached on the train and numerous small villages are within 90 minutes drive. The Majella National Park is also close by. The apartment is comfortable with everything provided including fresh herbs from the garden. Abruzzo has much to offer as a tourist destination and deserves to be better publicised. It makes for a great value holiday - drinks and meals out being very reasonably priced compared to other areas in Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly and knowledgeable hosts, good value, historic area
Liked least: Weather a bit disappointing as cloudy with rain some of the time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Thank you very much for the kind comments about us & the region, it was a pleasure having you staying at Villa Ulignano. We look forward to you returning to Abruzzo one day in the future. Kind regards, Dougie, Michelle, Jake & Josh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and our hosts, very friendly and helpful
Liked least: Time went too fast!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words about Villa Ulignano & Abruzzo. We're very glad you liked the area as much as we do & agree that it is truly something special & undiscovered (ssshhh!). It would be lovely to see you both back one day in the future, kind regards, Dougie, Michelle & the boys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
beachbaby...
Caledonia, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tranquil & Peaceful!!”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you again to Michelle & Dougie & there 2 lovely boys for having us rent this property from Aug 16-27/15. What a beautiful setting surrounded by mountains along with being peaceful & quiet. We had such a great relaxing time, although we were constantly out with my relatives, it was so nice to come back to unwind. I am sure we will be returning. Maybe next visit, we can actually sit and have a drink together :-) The Villa had everything we needed, If we did need something, all we had to do is ask. This is definitely a rental property I would recommend for anyone travelling to this region, they provide you with directions from Rome airport that are quite easy to follow.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for the kind comments, it was a pleasure having you staying at Villa Ulignano. We look forward to you returning & having that glass of wine too, kind regards Dougie, Michelle, Jake & Josh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nocdublin
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely villa in great setting”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My daughter (16) stayed with Michelle ,Dougie,Josh and Make for 10 days this summer.The apartment was ideal- well equipped and comfortable. They were extremely welcoming and helpful.We had a teffific time as the locality has so much to offer.We are familiar with Sulmona which has jousting,mediaeval parades and opera and outdoor jazz during the summer in addition to great restaurants and bars.Climbing,walking and cycling in the mountains are truly wonderful. I hired an electric bike which was ideal for visiting mountain villages with a lot less effort.
The villa is beautifully situated in the valley and with the addition of a good sized above-ground pool which Dougie erected while we were there,it makes an unbeatable location for a wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting and welcome
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind comments about both the apartment & the local area. We look forward to seeing you in Abruzzo next year, maybe for some walking in the hills next time. Kind regards, Dougie, Michelle, Jake & Josh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzTimes2...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have been travelling across the globe for several years renting self-catering accommodation. Occasionally we find the perfect combination of outstanding hosts and an outstanding property. Michelle and Dougie and their Villa Ulignano is a prime example.

Within minutes of our arrival, we were enjoying the type of warmth and hospitality that we receive from old friends. Nothing was ever a trouble and they went out of their way to assist us in pursuing our interests and spending time above and beyond what we would normally expect. Never intrusive but always available and very generous.

For those who like rural tranquility as well as all of the benefits of a medium size town (conveniences and cultural life) within five minutes drive, Villa Ulignano ticks all of the boxes. The Villa is also beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. An added bonus is access to fresh produce from the garden ... not to mention home-made vino.

We would recommend this accommodation and these hosts for couples, singles and families. For those who enjoy trekking in the mountains (as we do), Michelle and Dougie, and their circle of friends, are extremely knowledgable of the local area; and for those who prefer personalised guided tours, these can be readily arranged.

This accommodation in the heart of the Abruzzo region is truly a gem of a find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Not applicable!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words, it was a pleasure having you both here to stay. No doubt we'll be able to share a few more glasses of wine together during some of your future visits to Abruzzo. Kind regards from Dougie, Michelle & the boys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property's views and surroundings
Liked least: Having to go home...
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words about us, our apartment & the local area. It was great to have you as guests & your children were great company for Jake & Josh. Hopefully we'll see you all again one day. Kind regards, Dougie, Michelle, Jake & Josh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing