We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Rosa, 'Villa in the village'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Rosa, 'Villa in the village'
Casa Rosa - front terrace Relax on Casa Rosas roof terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Casa Rosa, 'Villa in the village'
Casa Rosa - front terrace
Relax on Casa Rosas roof terrace
Relax on Casa Rosas roof terrace
Dine on Casa Rosa roof terrace
Inside Casa Rosa
Casa Rosa - lounge
Casa Rosa - lounge
Casa Rosa, open fireplace to compliment the full gas central heating - for a cozy night in
Fully fitted kitchen, complete with washing machine
Double bedroom with king size verdigris bed
Twin bedroom
View from both bedrooms balconies
View from Casa Rosa's roof terrace over Bugnara village
Shady courtyard just off the kitchen
Casa Rosa cottage garden
Side terrace, barbeque area, distant views of Gran Sasso
Terrace at Casa Rosa
Side terrace, barbeque area, distant views of Gran Sasso
Another terrace
Casa Rosa from the garden
View over Sulmona valley
Nearby city of Sulmona
Festival time in Bugnara
Riding nearby
Cable car in the Gran Sasso mountains
Giostra in Sulmona
Traffic jam, Abruzzan style!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Dec 2013
Mike, thank you for your lovely review. We love our holiday home and glad you and your family do too! Look forward to hearing from you again. Thanks again Jo & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leominster
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Nov 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed Casa Rosa and speak soon Jo & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OzTimes2...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Visit the Mountains”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

At Casa Rosa everything works and all of the rooms in the house are very well appointed. Access by car is easy and the village of Bugnara caters well for the basic essentials. During our two week stay, evening entertainment included a local festival celebrating cheese and truffles and an evening of music (jazz and rock). If walking/trekking in the mountains is "your thing", Casa Rosa is very well located for access to the surrounding national parks - "spoiled for choice".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything works!
Liked least: Biting insects.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Casa Rosa - our third visit!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Our 3rd visit to Casa Rosa and as before a very enjoyable, comfortable stay. Amazed at the amount of transformation Jo and Dave have made especially the garden. Sun shone every day and temperature got to 26 degress (not bad for April!) so the thought of leaving for home was not a nice one.
Eating out was as good as ever with perhaps the best meal at Ristorante da Paolino in Pescocostanzo. The new addition to Bugnara eating, i.e the Pizza Takeaway was excellent and good value at 1 euro per slice.
As Abruzzo offers everything, so does Casa Rosa we will return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The cottage garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, glad you enjoyed yourselves - see you soon! Jo and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Casa Rosa
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Rosa and look forward to hearing from you again in the future. Thanks again Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
932RSS
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent weeks stay at Casa Rosa which was a comfortable & spacious villa”
Reviewed 23 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Excellent weeks stay at Casa Rosa which was a comfortable & spacious villa providing excellent sun bathing opportunites. Quiet village however Ginos bar was very close with free WIFI & drinks at welcome prices e g Cappuccinos for 1 euro.
No car but with a little planning, early starts & a little walking we had a great introduction to this area of Abruzzo. Scenery is breathtaking and whilst we visited various towns/cities including Pescara our favorites were the nearby Sulmona & Scanno. Sulmona is a vibrant attractive town & Scanno(up in the mountains) offered different opportunities. Before reaching the Scanno itself you see a lake named after the town-great fun on a pedalo! We accessed the mountains by ski chairlift up to 1600 metres & we enjoyed the views, the cooler temperatures & the walks. Jo the owner is very helpful & provided us with local information before our departure .If you have never visited this area try it you wont be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof terrace
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2012
Thank you very much for your review, its very kind of you to take the time to do this, I know how we are all so busy especially school holidays!! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Rosa and Abruzzo. Thank you again Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UKtravell...
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well placed to explore the Abruzzo”
Reviewed 24 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Restored traditional house in a small medieval village near Sulmona (10 minutes drive). A number of British owners in the village but it felt very Italian

You would need a car (well, we did) although in theory with a bit of planning you could do this using public transport (train/bus). Easy safe parking about 2 mins walk from the house.

House very well equipped and modern with all you need - washing machine came in very handy and meant that we only really needed to have taken the equivalent of hand luggage rather than the full two suitcases we ended up taking!
.
Very well organised prior to arrival - with Joanna sending email info to whet the appetite, as well as excellent directions. Clean and tidy throughout and looked liked the pictures! Only difficulty with someone with restricted mobility might be the spiral stairs. Very useful info folders in the house with recommendations as to where to visit, eat etc. We particularly enjoyed Campo Imperiatore in the Gran Sasso Park and the Roman ruins at Alba Fucens, as well as Scanno. Sulmona great both on market days and also visiting in the evening when quieter, as well as the exhibition .

We did have a couple of visitors - small scorpions but they were easily ushered out using the dustpan and brush. Italian scorpions apparently have a similar 'bite' to a wasp in terms of seriousness, but nonetheless a little bit of a shock.

Great roof terrace, with sun loungers, and not too overlooked. Great to sit in the evening in the 30+ degree heat and watch the sun go down over the hills, and then to star gaze or watch the house martins, and then bats. Very friendly neighbours who always greeted us or waved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$73
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing