We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Rosa, 'Villa in the village'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Rosa, 'Villa in the village'
Casa Rosa - front terrace Relax on Casa Rosas roof terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Casa Rosa, 'Villa in the village'
Casa Rosa - front terrace
Relax on Casa Rosas roof terrace
Relax on Casa Rosas roof terrace
Dine on Casa Rosa roof terrace
Inside Casa Rosa - downstairs
Casa Rosa - open plan, lounge, dining, kitchen, with back door straight into the garden.
Casa Rosa - lounge area, with reading corner, full of local information, books, maps etc.
Casa Rosa, open fire to compliment the full gas central heating - for a cozy night in
Fully fitted kitchen, complete with washing machine, oven, 4 ring gas hob, fridge/freezer etc.
Upstairs - Double bedroom with king size verdigris bed, TV/DVD player for DVDS, balcony, fly screen
Close up of verdigris bed
Bookshelves with many books, TV/DVD player for DVDS, floor fan, balcony with roll down fly screens.
Twin bedroom, with TV/DVD player for DVDs, floor fan, bookshelves, chest of drawers, balcony fly scr
View from both bedrooms balconies
View from Casa Rosa's roof terrace over Bugnara village
Back door leads to a shady courtyard, which is just off the kitchen
Steps lead up from the courtyard and go to either Casa Rosa's cottage garden
Or our side terrace, barbeque area, distant views of Gran Sasso
Side terrace, barbeque area, distant views of Gran Sasso
View from the cottage garden down to the side terrace, courtyard and the back door at Cas Rosa
Casa Rosa from the cottage garden, looking up to the roof terrace
View from inside Casa Ros to the side terrace
View over Sulmona valley
Festival time in Bugnara
Nearby city of Sulmona
Giostra in Sulmona
Riding nearby in the Maiella Mountains
Cable car in the Gran Sasso mountains
Traffic jam, Abruzzan style!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suesankey...
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage!”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a wonderful holiday at Casa Rosa. Jo and Dave, the owners were so helpful, the whole experience was great, wish all other holiday owners were as good as these two. We loved the house, the garden and especially the roof terrace, this place really has it all, we will be back very soon. Thank you again for all your help.

Your age range under12
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, so glad so enjoyed your holiday at Casa Rosa, we are always glad to help in anyway possible so that you get the best out of your holiday, hope you enjoy your next stay too, thank you again. Jo and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doh S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful week at Casa Rosa. The property is situated in the medieval village of Bugnara and is well placed for exploring the region.

A really lovely and welcoming little house, a proper home from home.
We were pleased to find that the kitchen was fully equipped with more than everything you would need to try and recreate the local dishes .

The city of Sulmona, where we found many shops, bars and eateries is a short drive away.
The roof terrace is great for a quiet evening in sampling the excellent local wine while watching the sunset. The garden has 3 seating areas. Plenty of space to relax in the sun, perhaps with one of the many books provided. No internet access at the property, but the local bar has free wifi.

Would love to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thank you ever so much for your review. You will now be pleased to know that we have WiFi at Casa Rosa, so all ready for when you stay with us again. Thank you again Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanandjoe...
Poway, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Comfortable, picturesque!”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It started with a New Year's Wish that my husband and I shared, to visit Italy and reconnect with the place that my great-grandparents left years ago. That place was Abruzzo. Each of them from a medieval village not far from one another. We needed a convenient comfortable location to use as the base for our explorations. With a map in one hand and stars in our eyes, we searched the internet for a rental. One that would have a beautiful garden, for me, the painter, and a roof top terrace for my husband, the amateur astronomer. Through Google Search we found the Casa Rosa and it met both the requirements, not only that, but it's name was 'Rosa', my sister and grandmother's name. It was a good omen.
We connected with its owner, Joanna Mundy, to make an inquiry and found, to our delight, a kind, patient and helpful person who guided us through our first trip across Italy. She helped us in every aspect of our trip, providing us with maps and detailed information about our drive to the Casa Rosa and the conveniences found in Sulmona, a larger city, a few miles away. We did have a TIM card that through Google Maps helped with our navigation through Abruzzo, but nothing beat actual knowledge of the area. For that, Joanna proved invaluable. She answered our questions quickly, so that not a minute of our one week trip was wasted.
The Casa Rosa, itself, is a beautifully restored home, well appointed, with everything you need to make your vacation a good one, at any time of year. Bugnara, a picturesque village with ancient alleys, staircases and churches was a joy to explore. The only thing that could have made our vacation better was to have arranged for a longer stay! Thanks so much, Joanna, we can hardly wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and rooftop terrace.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
We are so pleased that you both had a great time at Casa Rosa, and thank you very much for your lovely review, its very kind of you. Glad you enjoyed Bugnara, its a lovely friendly village and you are of course very welcome to stay again at Casa Rosa, anytime you like. Thank you again Jo & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house is nestled in the pictureque village of Bugnara - a beautiful mountain village with very friendly inhabitants. In Bugnara we found a nice bar with WIFI, Pizza take out and a supermarket. The village is very close to the city of Sulmona, which is lovely for walking around and having an eleaborate dinner.
What we enjoyed most were the three outdoor seating possibilities. We especially enjoyed the one in the garden. Just outside the front door on the way to the car park is a breathtaking view of the mountains. The beds are wonderfully comfortable with really soft & cozy sheets we slept an hour longer every day just because it was so comfortable. The kitchen has everything one needs. We even cooked and ate in on two of the four nights we were there because the house is just so comfortable.
Jo the owner is so very friendly and really went out of her way to make us feel welcome. She provided us with all the information we needed for having an amazing holiday in this stunningly beautiful part of Italy. We loved it so much we might have to come back next year!
Do yourself a favor and stay here!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die Betten
Liked least: Sauberkeit
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2015
We are so pleased that you and your family had a great time at Casa Rosa, and thank you very much for your lovely review, its very kind of you. Glad you enjoyed Bugnara, its a lovely friendly village and you are of course very welcome to stay again at Casa Rosa, anytime you like. Thank you again Jo & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennieWSu...
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxing”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely, well equipped house and owners who replied promptly to all emails and questions asked before hand. We were lucky to have excellent weather and could sit out on the terraces every day. The surrounding scenery, small towns and lakes were beautiful. The locals were very friendly, from the schoolboy from the village who helped us to get the correct bus in Sulmona, to the locals in Gino's Bar in the morning and evening! We were going to go to Rome for the day but thought better of it and just relaxed at the house.............

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terraces
Liked least: Spiral staircase
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, yes its such a friendly village, so glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Rosa. Thank you again for booking with us, Jo & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place and fantastic hosts.”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really lovely 3 nights at Casa Rosa. The place is beautiful and the hosts are fantastic; going above and beyond what we had expected.

During the booking process Jo responded to all of our questions quickly and thoughtfully. Once we had booked, the procedure for accessing the house was clearly explained by email and in a pack sent by post. In this pack was lots of helpful information about the house, the village, and the (website hidden)'s directions (with photos to help us at potentially tricky junctions!) were really helpful. We were also able to park, as described, in the village car park 20 metres from the house.

On arrival the fridge and cupboards were full with essentials that guests replenish if and when they are used; this saved us from empty stomachs and a lot of potential stress!

The house was perfect with every need catered for. In particular, the roof terrace and 3 different places to sit in the private garden were fantastic. Also, it was nice to have a DVD player for those nights when we didn't walk to the centre of the village for drinks and food (even though it was only 5 mins away!).

Finally, the house was filled with guide books and suggestions of things to do, which meant we had a great time exploring nearby ruins, towns and mountains!

Thank you, Jo, for a fantastic holiday. We'd love to come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
So glad you enjoyed yourselves at Casa Rosa, we try to be helpful as we want everyone to enjoy their stay in Abruzzo. We couldn't have asked for better guests, you are of course very welcome to come again! Thank you for your lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof terrace and dvd collection
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jun 2014
Thank you ever so much for your review and so glad you all had a good time. We too love the garden and roof terrace. Hope to hear from you again soon. Jo and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing