We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming local B&B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Il Marchese del Grillo
Ranked #1 of 30 Sulmona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“charming local B&B experience”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

From the moment we were greeted by Marta I felt like I was catching up with an old friend again. It was in the evening when we arrived and after showing us around the charming B&B she led us up to the rooftop terrace where we met her husband and daughter. With a glass of Italian wine we sat under the stars, all around us were hundreds of rooftops of medieval buildings and directly in front of us was the village cathedral spire, with the mountains in the distance. It was very special. Our room was very charming and felt like we had stepped back in time with beautiful old furniture and a very comfortable bed. Great shower with lots of water pressure.

The location of the B&B was perfect. Central location in Sulmona in one of the narrow cobblestone streets and within a few minutes walk there are two of the best local restaurants in Sulmona. Definitely listen to Marta’s recommendations for the local area. She was spot on.

Breakfast was served up on the roof top terrace and the view was spectacular.. the breakfast even better as it was home made with love. Beautiful fresh produce all from the local area.

We would highly recommend this B&B and we would have to say that this was one of the most warm and welcoming places that we stayed in whilst we were holidaying in Italy. We spent 2 nights here in mid August, 2013.

Thank you Marta and Alessandro 

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
154
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coon rapids mn
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I can't truly say any more good than anyone else already has, but I will say I would return in a heart beat. We only spent one night, which is our mistake, bit they made it a fabulous one at that. Marta and Alessandro are as nice as people get, their 'castle' is absolutely fabulous, and the mattress was far and away the most comfortable of our trip. Marta went above and beyond to show us places to see, how to continue our journey, and fed us a spectacular breakfast. Erika, the young lady who served us our breakfast was very special also,and loved to speak english with us, which was fun for both of us. If you visit this area be sure to stay here, and above all, listen to Marta's directions as the gps tried to take us down multiple wrong way streets. And I must add, Alessandro came up to the rooftop and shared some of his wine and special drink of his...most hospitable.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautifully decorated, you can't go wrong. Don't trust BB Planet to pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your town
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Italian hospitality at it's finest. They will go out of their way to accommodate if possible. The breakfast is breathtaking. It sits at the highest point of Sulmona overlooking the city and up at the mountains. It included fresh fruits, cheeses, and honeys from the family farm and cakes made by immediate family ONLY (huge plus).

The streets are old school Italian so plan for everything to be small and parking to be scarce. But the B&B will provide adequate parking whether directly outside or down the hill.

Will recommend this to all of my friends. Not only to people planning to stop there, but will recommend that people stop here just for this place and the town itself.

Room Tip: They let you choose your room if multiple rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMosby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Sulmona is an excellent base for exploring the nearby Majella national park (Italy's newest) in the Appenines, and the towns of southern Abruzzo. We chose Marta and Alessandro's B&B because of the rave reviews. And it's all there: the spectacular breakfasts (Marta's family bake all the cakes, cure the prosciutto, concoct the jams and relishes, and there is local ricotta on offer), the lovely rooms, the quiet, the tremendous helpfulness and stores of advice on sights, restaurants, weather. For instance, a moment in old Italy: Marta noted that at a small alimentaro round the corner, you can buy panini made with mozzarella from the nearby mountain town of Scanno--which we did, for a picnic lunch, for something like 2 euros all told. Best of all is the panoramic view from the roof terrace, with a 360-degree panoply of mountains and a shifting soundscape of wheeling swifts and martens. Sulmona is the birthplace of enigmatic Roman poet Ovid, and its distinguished architecture and tangle of medieval streets, its charming passeggiata and amiable restaurants, give it enough cultural weight to make it a destination in its own right. The excursions possible are many, but the best, we found, was the one we had originally aimed for--into the Majella, with its haze of wildflowers on the upland meadows, protected river valleys, thousands of butterflies, bear, wolves, eagles, Mediterranean foxes and splendid walking. The best, with this B&B, of both worlds.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nisha09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a fabulous B&B in the heart of the city, beautifully designed, where you will be pampered just the right amout. The hosts are wonderful; the breakfast superb (read the other reviews); the bed comfortable, the room very clean and very charming. We loved Sulmona and intend to return. This is the new model for a B&B in Italy - we chose all the #1 B&B's in the cities we visited and our expectations were always surpassed. If you weren't sure about visiting Sulmona, il Marchese del Grillo is a good reason to go. (Driving into the city/parking aren't easy but no small or large city is, and the hosts will help you. A cell phone to call your hosts is far more useful than gps in these instances)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FishBerkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulmona, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Your day begins with a spectacular breakfast which consist of a rich buffet, an explosion of colors and flavors. You will find fruit, yogurt, cereals and wonderful homemade cakes, as well as the ham, salami, lonza and bacon, plus a rich assortment of local cheese. If the weather is good, you'll have breakfast in a terrace full of flowers, which gives you the perfect view of the magnificent beauty of Sulmona. You will be cordially assisted from Marta, the owner of the B&B and Erika, the young but enthusiastic helper of Marta, who will prepare you whatever you desire (cappuccino, caffèlatte, thè, coffee) serving you with a smile and talking with you in a perfect english. Then, after your trip in Sulmona (in which Marta and her husband Alessandro will help you, expecially for the good Restaurants) you'll be cuddled by an incredible room, perfectly clean with antique furniture and a great and soft bed, who will hug you all night long. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Valley, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I was here in June 2013. The rooms are amazing, great bathrooms. The roof top garden is a gem and the breakfast is fantastic. Marta and her husband created a marvelous retreat in a beautiful city, well worth a visit. The food at breakfast was totally delicious, local meats and cheeses and homemade pastries from both of the owner's mothers! Marta is a terrific host. Stay here if you are traveling in this area, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: The downstairs room does not have a AC but is lovely. All the others have ac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sulmona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rojan
Hotel Rojan
#1 of 5 in Sulmona
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#3 of 5 in Sulmona
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Santacroce Meeting
0.2 mi away
B&B Sei Stelle
B&B Sei Stelle
#2 of 30 in Sulmona
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B La Dimora
B&B La Dimora
#3 of 30 in Sulmona
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Marchese del Grillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Marchese del Grillo

Property: B&B Il Marchese del Grillo
Address: Via Corfinio 62 | Centro Storico, 67039, Sulmona, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Sulmona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sulmona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The b & b Il Marchese del Grillo is an historic residence exclusive, based on the principle of slow living, where hospitality, comfort and culture blend harmoniously; consists of 4 charming rooms, all with private bathrooms, floors and ceilings, brickwork or wood and precious antique furniture. For guests there is an elegant breakfast room with fireplace, an independent kitchen, a library room, a wonderful terrace - solarium with view. The warmth of home while on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B&B Il Marchese del Grillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing