We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Il Marchese del Grillo
Ranked #1 of 30 Sulmona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“simply perfect”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent three days in the B&B during easter holidays. A very profesional and well managed B&B. Breakfast is personally served by the owner, Marta: local selected products and hand made cakes and jam togheter with perfect espresso. Marta can suggest you good places to visit. Do not miss Boviananco to visit wonderfull XII affrescos.
Marchese del Grillo is place where to stay in order to taste the italian excellence.

Room Tip: All rooms have been well refurbished. If you want to choose ask for those either downstairs which ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossana1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
147
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed for four nights in the lovely town of Sulmona. This is one of the very best places we have ever stayed. Marta said that we should feel at home and that was certainly how we felt. The place is absolutely beautiful and very relaxed. The room was very large, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was fantastic with a wonderful choice of home-made cakes, cereals and some local and unusual cheeses and meats. i cannot imagine there being a better place to stay in the whole of Abruzzo. GO!

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms but ours was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zincpot1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our stay at BB II Marchese del Grillo was perfect from start to finish.
The rooms are tastefully decorated in keeping with the period of the building,
the beds are very comfortable with high quality bedding.
The breakfast was wonderful and Marta went out her way to accommodate my father in law, who is diabetic.Thank you Marta and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieragray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our stay at Il Marchese del Grillo was our favorite of all our travels in Italy, and we stayed at a convent hotel in Rome and a five star in Capri!! The comfortable bed, the gorgeous decor, the fabulous breakfast and, most of all, the gracious Marta, made our time there just perfect. We will definitely be back, this time in summer so we can enjoy the spectacular rooftop views for breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strega54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
122 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have stayed in B&B Il Marchese del Grillo for the New Years Eve.
Nice rooms, great location, locally produced food for breakfast, Marta is always available to help. One of the best B&B I have ever stayed at.
Very much recommended place to stay in Sulmona.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our stay at Il Marchese del Grillo was a highlight of our fabulous trip to Abruzzo. Marta greeted our group of 8 with open arms and a warm smile. The B & B has been lovingly restored by Marta andher husband. My husband and I had a beautifully imagined room of ancient stone and modern furnishing, and a spectacular stone shower! The bed was incredibly comfortable,
our room full of creature comforts, a mini fridge full of water, huge armoire to hold our belongings a nd and a sweet on the pillow. Breakfast full of delicious treats prepared by Marta, Marta's mom, her assistant Monica....only sorry we did not have time to linger. Marta went out of her way to make terrific recommendations around town and organized a "truffle hunt" with Ivo and his fabulous dogs Molly and Mindi-expert noses since they uncovered many truffles!
Thank you Marta, we look forward to another visit to Abruzzo and a stay at Il Marchese del Grillo!
Hope to enjoy the panoramic views from your roof next time!

Room Tip: I would take any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank absadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay, beautiful rooms with vintage furniture and beds. Very nice and clean bathroom. Absolutely friendly and helpful owners. Located in old city center, close to restaurants and shops. Amazing view from the terrace. Breakfast is very good with selection of local pastry, cheese and ham.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomasz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sulmona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rojan
Hotel Rojan
#1 of 5 in Sulmona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa
2.8 mi away
Hotel Santacroce Meeting
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#3 of 5 in Sulmona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Sei Stelle
B&B Sei Stelle
#2 of 30 in Sulmona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B La Dimora
B&B La Dimora
#3 of 30 in Sulmona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Marchese del Grillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Marchese del Grillo

Property: B&B Il Marchese del Grillo
Address: Via Corfinio 62 | Centro Storico, 67039, Sulmona, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Sulmona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sulmona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The b & b Il Marchese del Grillo is an historic residence exclusive, based on the principle of slow living, where hospitality, comfort and culture blend harmoniously; consists of 4 charming rooms, all with private bathrooms, floors and ceilings, brickwork or wood and precious antique furniture. For guests there is an elegant breakfast room with fireplace, an independent kitchen, a library room, a wonderful terrace - solarium with view. The warmth of home while on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your B&B Il Marchese del Grillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing