We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rojan(Sulmona)
US$172
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Stella(Sulmona)
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Giovina(Pratola Peligna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Le Ginestre(Roccacasale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Il Maniero(Rocca Pia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Di Piero(Caramanico Terme)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Terme Maiella(Caramanico Terme)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
239
128
24
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
128
24
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingbuffet breakfastwifi receptionlovely hotel in a great locationcomfortable hotelwould stay againvery friendly and helpful staffcould not have been morefew minutes walkgood sizesurrounding areaenjoyed our stayjacuzzicentretownpoetbase
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Loved it !! - Not like the usual basic Italian Hotels but not clinical like a chain hotel. Right in the heart of Sulmona a town larger than you might think and next to the church and football ground.
Food was very good and the rooms not less than excellent. Staff worked hard to make the stay most enjoyable and was probably the best of the six hotels was stayed in italy in May 2014.
IAt the entrance to the restaurant is an old french mantle clock photo attached not working but with a bit of love and oiling with clock oil I am sure it's a runner again - thank you for a nice time.
Cleanliness spotless - rooms spacious - service well up to expectations please stay here !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santacroce-Hotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Martyn C,
thank you so much for your amazing feedback.
We are so glad and proud about your comments on staff, rooms and food.
We work so hard for our customers so that they could enjoy their stay in Sulmona in our hotel.
As you suggested to us, we will put some oil to our old French mantle clock and try to let it start again.
We are looking forward to seeing you again
Best regards,
Hotel Santacroce Ovidius Management & Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A sincere thank you to all the staff of Hotel Ovidius for treating our large group so well. You made us feel as if we were family and were very patient with our special requests. I recommend this hotel (and the city of Sulmona) for anyone looking for a relaxing, authentic stay in the heart of Italy. I will return! The spa is a definite bonus!!!!!!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the place!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 401,320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santacroce-Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear 401320,
Thank you so much for you gorgeous feedback. We feel honoured 
We are glad you have appreciated also our SPA. It is our flagship.

I was a very pleasure host you in Sulmona.
You are the welcome in Hotel Ovidius, we wait you as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Ovidius Management and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for a total of ten days over the last fortnight. Mariadora, Antonio, Denisia, Stefania and Federica were so good to us. Also the breakfast and restaurant staff were so genuinely helpful.They tried so hard to make us comfortable and to help us with recommendations, suggestions and solutions, always with a high level of heartfelt care and never with any pressure. They certainly succeeded. The restaurant is extremely good, especially the authentic abruzzese pasta and meat dishes. We have stayed at many hotels around the world over the last thirty years but never have we experienced the warmth and care shown to us at this hotel. We appreciate this type of approach, especially when we are in a foreign country.
Even Francesco, the night caretaker at the front desk was so pleasant and supportive m of huge, snow capped mountains from our bedroom as well as from the breakfast room.
Parking is so easy and free of charge. The staff went to a lot of trouble to help us travel to the hotel in the most comfortable and stress free manner. Antonio even drove us to the post office, train station and the bus stop...free of charge. Close by is a beautiful Cathedral, a great fruit shop, a hot bread shop, a shopping centre(Il Borgo), a barber (Peppino) and a wonderful cafe(Bar Il Gardino), all just a short stroll away. The most gorgeous stone hilltop villages such as Pacentro, Pettorano sul Gizio and Introdacqua only minutes away by car or by bus. Stunning forests such as il bosco di San Antonio and il bosco di Santa Chiara, not far away by car. Sulmona is a magnificent mediaeval town, with a Wednesday and Saturday market. We loved the market for the food, the clothes, the hand bags and the opportunity to mix with the very friendly and kind locals. This hotel is an excellent base for exploring much of this very beautiful, incredibly mountainous and authentically Italian part of Italy, known as Abruzzo, without having to wrestle your way through hoards of tourists. Thank you to everyone at Hotel Ovidius for making
our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely be back.
We really do miss them. In addition, In Sulmona, we feel we are in an authentic Italian town.

Room Tip: We love the bedrooms at the rear of the building that have views of the beautiful mountains.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 627Benjiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santacroce-Hotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear 627Benjib,
We feel honored by receiving your gorgeous feedback. Our thanks will be not enough 
We are very satisfied and proud that your stay by us in Sulmona was so beautiful.
When you come in Abruzzo next time, you will be always welcome in Hotel Ovidius.
Many thanks. We hope to see you very soon.
Kindest Regards,
Hotel Ovidius and all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This weekend we stayed a night in this hotel, which we found through TripAdvisor. We received a warm welcome, got a good price and were offered coffee. When we talked about how we got there, we told the owner that we fell in love with Abruzzo after seeing the film The American with George Clooney. Then the owner told us that she had the crew staying in her hotel and that she even could be seen in a movie scene with George Clooney. My wife loves George Clooney, so she was jealous that the owner met him and she has not. Strange start of our stay, isn't it?
But the room was clean and had everything we needed, the bed was good and the diner in the hotel tasted great. So if we return to Sulmona, we know where to go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank René v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santacroce-Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Mr. Van Oevelen,
We would like to thank you for your lovely feedback on our hotel.
It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to have you again as our guest.

The next time Mr. Clooney comes to Sulmona, we will let you know ;)

Thank you once again
Best Regards
Hotel Santacroce Ovidius
Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Ovidius for one night this August, and returned for two nights this weekend. We very much enjoyed our stay on both occasions. The hotel is really well placed and is very pleasant inside. We had a lovely view of the mountains from our room, which was spacious and even had a kettle. The spa is new and of a high standard. The breakfast is good. The receptionist and her assistant were most helpful on arrival and departure.

We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews