We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible beds and un-friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Skien, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible beds and un-friendly staff”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you plan to sleep well, don't stay in this hotel. The beds and, especially, the pillows, are extremely bad. Hotel staff was, in general, somewhat un-friendly, except the pool staff; they were helpful and very friendly.

The location is quite okay, and so is the hotel beach. The hotel garage is 15 Euros per night. Breakfast is average. The hotel is clean but quite worn.

All in all: Our first and last stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kleivgata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    218
    138
    40
    22
See reviews for
168
156
12
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We chose this hotel because of the beautiful pictures without any consideration for proximity to the train station. Since we were touring Europe by train we thought this would a central location to hold our luggage while touring Pisa, Florence, Elba and other nearby locations - this is not the case. When we arrived in Pisa and started looking for trains to Tirrenia, we realized that we had to bus or taxi it - since we did not understand the buses, we took a taxi. This first taxi ripped us off for around 70 euro (we found out later this was not a good/average deal). The hotel and location were beautiful, but they were located too far away from the train for us. We did eventually figure out the bus stop outside of the hotel to take us back to Pisa but the buses do not run late at night.

The hotel and staff were nice but the restaurant is only open at certain times - the entire city appears to be this way. Good luck finding food between 3-6pm especially. We still used the hotel mainly to hold our bags so we didn't get to enjoy the swimming pool or much of the beach - but we were there at the end of May so the water was cold and choppy off the shore anyway and the weather was mostly cloudy and sprinkling rain. Across from the hotel there are sidewalk booths where they sell knock-off name brands and other trinkets like in Mexico. The beach side has ice cream shops, small item shops and what appeared to be a type of casino. When we went inside the "casino" it was few slot type machines but appeared to still be under renovation - nothing special.

The hotel was beautiful but a bit overpriced for the storage we used it for - I think out of 5 days we only spent 1 actual night at the hotel. Our biggest complaint is the inconvenience of getting to the train station. We were informed the hotel does offer a shuttle to the train station, but it is not included in room rate (it is NOT free) - they charge 25 euros per person and since there were 2 of us, that would be ~50 euros. We found out that an honest taxi will take us both to the train station for ~40 euros so we do not understand the shuttle. The bus will take you to the train station for about ~2 euros per person if it is running.

The hotel is beautiful and seems like a great deal if you have a car - although on the weekend the pier gets really busy and appears as though all parking spots are taken as far as the eye can see.

Room Tip: If I were you, I'd avoid the balcony street view of the knock-off vendors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric-Emma_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the outside the hotel looks a bit austere and in need of some aesthetic improvements but the level of customer service was generally very good. The facilities were of a good standard and the swimming pool great but.................. why is it necessary for guests to be forced to wear a swimming cap before being allowed in the water? The pool area looked a bit too clinical and would benefit from being decorated with flowers and plants to give it some colour and character.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Although this hotel looks aged and nothing special from the outside, inside it`s completely different. OK so a good old 30 minute makeover was required in the room to drag it into to 21st century but everything else is very good. the Olympic sized swimming pool was a little cool but very accessible, and the beach was only a matter of minutes away with plenty of lounges readily available for usage by holiday guests. Only issue was the fact the hotel is 10 miles away from Pisa and cost 35 euros from the airport! (cost 2.90 euros on bus to Pisa centre) Overall a very nice alternative to the usual sun/sea weekend breaks, especially as we went in early June when it was 30C+

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave337169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I've stayed a few weeks in Tirrenia for business reasons on 3 different occasions and really enjoy staying at this Hotel. The staff is courteous and professional. The Hotel and location is great, very close to the beach and nearby restaurants. My family also came to visit and the family rooms are spacey and comfortable. Anytime I return to Tirrenia, I'm definitely staying at the GHC. Only negative...rooms don't have many outlets, so you're either charging your phone in the bathroom or a outlet on the far wall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyrone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gengenbach, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

spend a week at the grand hotel continental for vacation. its a typical Italian hotel. I just loved it and I'll definitely return in the summer time. they have a private beach just one minute walking in front of the hotel. the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. good location in Tuscany. we did some day trips to Lucca, Florence, Pisa, Livorno and Sienna. they have a wonderful garden and a big lobby area. Thank you!

Room Tip: book a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClarissaLucia270988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for just one night on business. The communal areas are acceptable. It looks like they're trying to update the hotel but it has been left in areas. For example, the room was modern, wooden floors, great bed, very acceptable. Then you went into the bathroom. Which was so damp the ceiling was flaking off all over the floor and back of the toilet. The floor had water stains which again were from the ceiling as it had dried with white marks around it. The shower head moved with the pressure of the water, the whole room was horrible. But it was one night, I didn't complain. No full length mirror in the room. And be sure to take plug adapters. Italy has this stupid system of 3 pin European plugs, normal 2 pin plugs don't work. They do in some places but not in this hotel. The staff I found abrupt, they hung up the phone on me before I could finish my sentence. This hotel is also coach trip friendly. My room was over the restaurant so from 6.30am you heard chairs scrapping, cutlery scraping against plates. Breakfast was ok, no gluten free or lactose free options. As a Crohn's and celiac sufferer, that left me with scrambled eggs. Hopefully I'll never stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank SpanishScouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tirrenia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
199 reviews
1.9 mi away
Green Park Resort - TH Resorts
9.2 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera Blu
Hotel Riviera Blu
#2 of 7 in Tirrenia
277 reviews
7.9 mi away
Allegroitalia Pisa Tower Plaza
8.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Property: Grand Hotel Continental
Address: Via Belvedere 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing