We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Umbria Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Castello di Sismano
Ranked #9 of 33 Todi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Umbria Castle”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Castle - this time with our son and daughter-in-law. While the Castle is a little hard to find, it is definitely worth it when you arrive. It is a genuine medieval castle - like stepping back in time. The views are amazing, it is surrounded by nature and it is the REAL Italy - away from the big cities - yet driving distance to Assisi and other Umbria and Tuscan towns. The restaurant is open to the public as well as guests - with a huge fire place and very personal service. The cook is absolutely amazing - his dishes are outstanding - not to be missed - all home made - outstanding!!!. The owner is very proud of this castle, and takes great pride in maintaining and ensure the decor it befitting to each individually furnished room. If you are looking to experience Italy beyond the big cities, you will fall in love with this Castle and it's owner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELBUG_1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    11
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
52
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent three nights in the Castle, at the recommendation of a friend who clearly understood what we were looking for - THIS is Italy!! Leave Rome and Florence behind and head for the hills. It was so very relaxing and restful, and plenty of tourist spots within a reasonable drive (Assisi just an hour away, Spoleto less than that, and Todi - great town - 15 minutes drive) and even better, you can avoid all the touristy spots and simply soak in the Umbrian hills. This has to be one of the cleanest and inviting places we have ever stayed - anywhere. As a family, we had two rooms, and it worked very well and was easy to move between the two. Plenty of photo opportunities right on the premises. And oh, the dining was exceptional. We dined two nights - and should have dined our third night there, too, but at the time felt we should try a night in Todi proper. You should have a good map with you and some books on the neighboring hill towns - and I suspect hiking opportunities abound, too. We used Terni as a spot to drop our car off before grabbing a train to Rome - very convenient - only about a half-hour from Sismano, and plenty of trains to choose from - no time pressures.

Room Tip: We peaked at many of the rooms besides our room - all were wonderful and inviting. If stairs are an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llama100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I host photography workshops around the world and we recently had an incredible experience of hosting a 6 days/5 nights all-inclusive workshop at Castello di Sismano.

Our Italian workshop coordinators, Max Brunelli and Cris Chiacchierini, https://www.facebook.com/maxbrunelli, did an amazing job finding the perfect location for our workshop and our excursions.

From the moment we arrived, everyone at Castello di Sismano opened their arms and treated us like family. We traveled with our two children ages 13 & 14, and 11 other photographers from around the world. We all had amazing accommodations. Our family stayed in the Suite Verde which nurtured us beautifully.

Ginevra, who is the owner and Marchesa of the castle invited us into her home and hosted the most wonderful meet and greet. She shared stories with us about her family who has owned the castle for over 500 years. She was simply stunning and amazing and we just can't thank her and her staff enough for making our trip perfection.

Before the workshop began, my husband and I also renewed our vows at the castle and it couldn't have been more perfect. The location is absolutely wonderful with tons of character and so beautifully maintained. The food was incredible, every single mean was delicious. Everyone there made us feel right at home.

We had late nights, well past the opening time of the rIstorante, and we were never asked to leave. They were alway accommodating. The pool was wonderful and we sat around there many evenings talking into the wee hours of the morning.

A huge thank you to Max & Cris for finding the dream location. Ginerva and her staff for welcoming all of us with open arms. This experience will never be forgotten. We all shed tears as we were leaving.

If you are looking for a beautiful and quiet location in Umbria, then this is thee BEST place to be! Especially for groups traveling together.

Always an adventure in our life and we can't wait to head back to Castello di Sismano!!!

~ Dawn & Bob Davis
www.davisworkshops.com
www.bobanddawndavis.com

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhotographyWorkshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

like stepping back in time to a genuine medieval castle yet perfectly updated with modern touches. i walked around in a dream the entire time. sophisticated genius.

Room Tip: classing the fitness centre as a pool which is the best Ive ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank not your b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

realyy excellent rooms, incredible restaurant, I really reccomend to those who want high quality and unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This beautiful Agriturismo is the next best thing to owning your own home. A charming street carries one through this magical little borgo, presided over by a beautiful, young Marchesa.....Ginevra Sanminiatelli. Each room is updated, with an artistic eye. Their restaurant, I Due Papi is beautiful and the food is delicious. I highly recommend staying here, for a homey experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Veritable home away from home, Sismano is the perfect place to stay both to visit Umbria and to relax. Located near Todi, it is within easy driving distance from Assisi and Perugia to the north and from Orvieto, Narni and Bomarzo to the south. Sismano's owner, Marchesa Sanminiatelli, has restored the family castello and surrounding medieval town with impeccable taste and great attention to detail and comfort. The rooms and suits are spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed, the bathrooms sumptuous. The swimming pool is a haven of peace and quiet. Sismano has a lovely restaurant where one can lunch or dine, inside or out, on superb Umbrian cuisine, prepared "casalingha" by the family cook. Breakfast is generous and delicious, and the hours are flexible (no stress). The small staff is friendly and efficient – just the right mix of presence and discretion. In short: one of the nicest places I know in Italy.

Room Tip: All good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank contentsparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todi
4.6 mi away
Torre Sangiovanni Albergo e Ristorante
6.6 mi away
Hotel Bramante
Hotel Bramante
#6 of 17 in Todi
454 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Relais Todini
Relais Todini
#1 of 17 in Todi
287 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Tenuta dei Ciclamini
La Tenuta dei Ciclamini
#1 of 1 in Avigliano Umbro
114 reviews
4.7 mi away
Castello Izzalini Todi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Castello di Sismano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Castello di Sismano

Property: Il Castello di Sismano
Address: Via Corsini 12, 05020, Todi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Todi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Todi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle of Sismano gives you the chance to swim in a pool nestled in a medieval village, an exclusive location with a stunning view of the hills. As a historic residence"The castle of Sismano" is located in a medieval village at the foot of the ancient castle. The owner of the Sismano estate runs the agritourism herself, with the help of trusted fellow workers. The village, with its small road skirting the Castle walls, it's a magic, timeless place, where you can relax far away from the hectic and noisy city you live in. Named as on of Europe's Best Affordable hotel in May 2014 issue of Travel &Leisure magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Castello di Sismano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing