We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miles better than a five star hotel and a fraction of the price”
Review of Il Ghiottone Umbro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Ghiottone Umbro
Ranked #4 of 31 Todi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Miles better than a five star hotel and a fraction of the price”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is truly a magical place. The building is a beautiful old mill, the views are spectacular and the bedrooms are stylish and comfortable. I have stayed in "top" hotels and the breakfast here is the best I have ever had - everything is home made and exquisite. The food and wine is easily the best in Todi - more like a Michelin starred restaurant in miniature.

It has everything you could want from a tiny boutique hotel and none of the corporate rubbish you get in big five star hotels. When the rooms, the views and the food are all perfect, you don't all the stuff big hotels present as luxuries.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayNagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Over a 2 week vacation in April, we covered 6 cities - 2 to 3 nights/city. After the hustle of the tourist cities - Il Ghiottone Umbro was the perfect break. Being a designer, there was nothing not to love! The garden, architecture, rooms, artwork, books, furniture were stunning. Did I mentioned the food? As you might expect - it's like eating (and living) at the freshest, coolest restaurant. Breakfast each morning was such a treat. We had the pleasure of dinner one night. Between the pasta ("Little Hats"), view of the valley and conversation - it ranks as one of the top meals of my life. And finally Thomas & Lisbeth - such wonderful, knowledgeable and friendly hosts. Food, politics, design, shopping - we covered it all! Truly can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

During a recent trip to Italy we spent 5 nights at Il Ghiottone Umbro and we will certainly return ! Lisbeth & Thomas are the perfect hosts providing a very warm welcome on arrival excellent accommodation and superb food !
Il Ghottone Umbro is a credit to Lisbeth & Thomas and the hard work they clearly put into it.We had the ' small room ' which is not really small ( just the smallest they have ) and has all the comforts you could need with a sizable bathroom and glorious views.
The cookery school is a great experience and the perfect opportunity to share great food and wines with like minded people, equally the experience of waking to share the delights of a different breakfast each morning of freshly baked and prepared food was a joy. Thanks for a wonderful stay, can't wait to return. Rob & Lynne

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellerup
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Knowing Thomas and Lisbeth (the owners) for many years from their fantastic restaurant FIASCO in Copenhagen we had very high expectations regarding the location and style of their new place but first and foremost regarding the food. All of our high expectations were exceeded! Thomas & Lisbeth were perfect hosts serving excellent food made from carefully selected raw materials and matching wines in beautiful surroundings. All in a friendly relaxed atmosphere. We had the "small" room which is not that small and has all you can wish for including designer furniture and decoration, very nice soft linen, duvets and high quality towels. And make sure not to miss miss Lisbeths freshly made breakfast after a good nights sleep. We didn't make the cooking school on saturday but enjoyed the dinner that the team had prepared with guidance from Lisbeth and Thomas - A wonderful meal with very nice people. If you want to keep to yourself you can in various small cozy sofas eventually in front of the open fireplace. All in all the perfect getaway for couples or families that enjoy the Italian kitchen and scenery. We will come back VERY soon. Trine & Nico

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todi
4.9 mi away
Torre Sangiovanni Albergo e Ristorante
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bramante
Hotel Bramante
#6 of 17 in Todi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tuder
Hotel Tuder
#5 of 17 in Todi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Agriturismo il Bastione
1.2 mi away
Villa Luisa
Villa Luisa
#3 of 17 in Todi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.2 mi away
Relais Todini
Relais Todini
#1 of 17 in Todi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Ghiottone Umbro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Ghiottone Umbro

Property: Il Ghiottone Umbro
Address: Fraz. San Giorgio 45, Voc. Molino, 06059, Todi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Todi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Todi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House and Cooking School in the old town of Todi in southern Umbria. All 3 rooms are furnished differently with a great mix of Danish classics and modern Italian furniture. We offer different cooking programs from 1-6 days. The house is situated on the historic wall of Todi with great views of the valley and only 5 minutes walk from the city center. English is spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Il Ghiottone Umbro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing