We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you want the Best !! Fonte Cesia is the place to stay”
Review of Hotel Fonte Cesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fonte Cesia
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Todi
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When you want the Best !! Fonte Cesia is the place to stay”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I travel the world and have stay in 100's of Hotels around the world. Hands down this is one of the finest hotels I have stayed in. I was with Mamma (88) and one of my sisters. We enjoyed their finest suite and the entire time of our 6 day stay we were treated like Family. It is the way I take care of guest who stay at my ranch in Texas. Everyone who worked for the hotel treated us like family. The quality of the hotel was also great. I look at the detail in a Hotel. The wood, the floors the paint. Everything. When you see this attention to detail around the entire hotel, you see why the staff has the same attention to detail to their guest's needs. It is close to everything, and parking. Breakfast was as good as the Ritz, lunch was very good and dinner was Italian all the way. Not so in most hotel restaurants. If you want to feel like family, this is the place to stay when in Umbria. Todi is close to all of the cities that you would want to tour.
Ciao, Maestro Bruno Santo

Room Tip: The junior suite has the best views and large enough for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maestro Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    103
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
25
146
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few nights and absolutely loved it. The hotel is centrally located. Everything is a couple minutes walk. The staff are extremely friendly and service is excellent. The hotel has a besutiful terrase as well. The food is great. Breakfast is your typical Italian breakfast. Dinner is lovely though. The rooms are comfortable, and YES they have towels and not sheets in the bathroom :)). I found the room was not as soundproof, but it was great waking up to hearing people on the street say Buonjorno :). Im sure they have quiet rooms on the otherside. All in all, a great experience. Would I return here??? YESSS :)))

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank opasna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for several days/nights while touring the area. Close to town square and you feel as though you are part of the local atmosphere. The service was great and the staff was very accommodating . A great location to stay and daytrip out to Assisi and unwind.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksconz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and it is always reliable. Rooms are comfortable, the staff very friendly, it's reasonably priced and the breakfast is quite nice and substantial. Best of all, the hotel is located at the very top of Todi, allowing you to walk out the door and begin exploring the town. There are at least three great restaurants (that I've been to) within very easy walking distance, and beautiful views over the valley can be seen from several nearby spots. Be sure to browse through the photo album in the lobby. It shows how the hotel was resurrected from ruins.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I recently stayed three nights in Todi in the Fonte Cesia with my girlfriend. The hotel is located in the heart of Todi, which is a beautifully peaceful hilltop town in the region of Umbria, Italy. Unfortunately as we arrived the whole town was engulfed in a heavy rain downpour so we couldn't see the view. Once at the hotel, the on duty receptionist provided us an umbrella as we made our way to the front desk to check in. Check in was seamless and we were left to our own devices to find our room, which I thought was a bit unusual.

The room was snug, but comfortable, with a queen size bed and side tables, wardrobe, desk, luggage rack and ensuite. The room came equipped with LCD TV, HD Sky tuner and a multi-charger station for your phones/cameras etc. The hotel also provides a laundry service. The mini-bar, which is built into the desk (in our room) was very reasonable priced, for a mini bar.

The ensuite was neatly presented and equipped with shower, basin, toilet and bidet. The hotel has its own dedicated parking for 10 Euros a night, which is within easy walking distance from the hotel.

The room had a great view. As it had been raining when we arrived, it made it even more of a surprise to see just how high up in the hills we were; with a panoramic view of the Umbrian valley below and mountains as the backdrop. We also overlooked a little square where you could listen to the noises of the locals going about their day to day business.

The staff were generally very nice, with one wonderfully helpful receptionist in particular (Anna) who was more than willing to divulge local attractions and things to do and see in and around Todi. The rooms were always kept tidy and cleaned during the day while we were out exploring.

Detractions:
1) We had to port our own bags to our room on arrival. Other four star hotels we've stayed in have provided this service.
2) You have to ask for the safe-deposit box key, even though it is a free service. Why not just give it to the guests at check in and take it back at checkout, like the door key?
3) The room did need a bit of a touch up, with water marks in places on the ceiling. (likely from the air conditioning duct).

Overall the Fonte Cesia is a very nice hotel. The location was very good, within 100m of the main square in Todi and the seemingly endless number of wonderful restaurants, shops, bars and lookouts.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace, the view would be even more spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prob_been_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

A party of friends stayed here for a wedding, and the quality of the rooms varied enormously. The suites are ridiculously nice, with a huge terrace, while the standard rooms are really not up the the claimed 4* standard (no safe, no refrigerator, no iron (anywhere in the hotel!), and fairly dated decor). The breakfast is good nonetheless.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Hotel Fonte Cesia, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Chrisco79, thank you for your review.
Is very strange that you did not find frigo, safe, because all rooms are provide byregional law.
In any case the concierge service is available 24 hours, you shoul be call, I am shure that we would help you to find it.

Regards

Angelo Felice
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

A great hotel in a gem of a town in Umbria the location wonderful in the center of activity with easy access to explore the surrounding areas.
Very good service from the front desk and the restaurant was excellent in both service and quality both for breakfast and dinner.
Easy parking which is a real plus in a town with so little available parking space
We could walk the town easily with lots of time for exploring

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or patio to get a view of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfcasey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bramante
Hotel Bramante
#7 of 17 in Todi
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Luisa
Villa Luisa
#3 of 17 in Todi
283 reviews
4.0 mi away
Relais Todini
Relais Todini
#1 of 17 in Todi
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Torre Sangiovanni Albergo e Ristorante
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tuder
Hotel Tuder
#5 of 17 in Todi
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agriturismo Poponi
Agriturismo Poponi
#9 of 17 in Todi
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonte Cesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonte Cesia

Property: Hotel Fonte Cesia
Address: Via Lorenzo Leoni 3, 06059, Todi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Todi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Todi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fonte Cesia 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fonte Cesia is set in the heart of the medieval town of Todi, just 200 metres from the cathedral. It features a traditional restaurant, air-conditioned rooms, and free Wi-Fi throughout. Set in a renovated 17th-century building, rooms at the Cesia include a TV and minibar. The private bathroom comes with a shower. Some rooms boast a balcony. The elegant restaurant for banqueting has ancient, domed ceilings. It also features a terrace overlooking the city centre. In the Hotel there is Saint Benedict non consacrated Church of the 13th century, perfect place for conferences,wedding and concerts. Perfect place to visit Umbria , just 40 km from all the mai umbrian attractions: Assisi, Orvieto, Spello, Spoleto, Perugia, Terni ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fonte Cesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonte Cesia Hotel
Fonte Cesia Todi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing