We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais Todini
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Torre Sangiovanni Albergo e Ristorante(Collevalenza)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agriturismo Poponi(Todi)(Great Value!)
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    US$116
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Hotel Bramante(Todi)(Great Value!)
    US$141
    US$137
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Flora Hotel(Todi)(Great Value!)
    US$140
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free Internet
    US$83
    US$71
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (335)
    Filter reviews
    335 results
    Traveller rating
    239
    60
    24
    6
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    239
    60
    24
    6
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsumbrian countrysidebeautiful small hotelfabulous positioncacio e peperestaurant menuvery attentive stafftranquil settinghill topfood and winelovely roomtrufflefirst floorbeautiful placepattersonspahilltopbath
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    48 - 53 of 335 reviews
    Reviewed 19 May 2014

    My wife and I stayed at Todini for four nights, it was just superb. All of team at Todini were just great and extremely helpful . Worthy of special mention are the reception staff who put up with my novice Italian . We spent two nights in the Hotel restaurant and two nights in restaurants suggested by the reception staff.
    The food in the restaurant was of great quality - try the mixed sea food as a starter and the veal and lamb chops were we cooked and presented . The dolce were also of very good value .
    The service was attentive and swift despite the food being freshly prepared . A nice touch were the complimentary glasses of prosecco , and if like us you cannot face a bottle of wine you can get good quality wine by the glass.
    The breakfast selection was good and I must say that the waiters were great and helped to start our day with much laughter .
    Our room was on the first floor and was at the back of the converted farmhouse . The Hotel only has some 12 bedrooms and as you might imagine has a very intimate / family feel to it . Having said this the rooms are well furnished and very comfortable ( ours had a shower rather than bath ) Towels get changed night and morning.
    We had a room that overlooked the pool had splendid views to Todi and would recommend that these rooms to you.
    The seclusion of the Hotel can make it difficult to find so I would suggest that you contact the Hotel in advance to get precise directions.
    The Hotel is about 8km from Todi so within easy driving distance and makes a good centre for visiting Todi ( do visit the underground cistern - not as grand as the one in Istanbul but none the less worth seeing ) also we used the car park at the Orvietana and used the free funicular to the town centre ;Spoleto; Marmore waterfalls ( although the falls can be seen at any time , they release the full force of the waters twice a day for an hour , round about 1200 and late afternoon); Foligno; Tarni; Bevagna ( a hidden gem) and of course Orvieto ( park by the station it is free ) and get the funicular up to the city centre).
    So returning to the Hotel , a great place , tranquil, good food , good accommodation, friendly staff and a very good base for seeing the southern part of Umbria.

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank John M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 May 2014

    We ate here with friends on March 29 this year. The restaurant had been recommended as "the best restaurant in Umbria"....sadly this proved to be a total exaggeration. Beautiful location, beautiful building. But the restaurant was overpriced, the food was poor and the service was dreadful. The waitress arrived at the table chewing gum throughout our meal; she grabbed my husband's plate from under his nose before he had finished his starter. We were met by the desk manager who stated sneeringly: "Oh here you are; we were expecting you at lunchtime....well, never mind, we have a table set for you, anyway". Lovely welcome! It was a really disappointing experience and I will not be returning to eat here. The chef and waiting staff should visit L'Antico Forzière near Deruta to see what a restaurant should be run like, in my humble opinion. And should everyone reading this - now there is a wonderful venue.

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank GualdoCat
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

    We stayed here in the height of the summer, but it was a world away for the crowds. Beautiful location. Excellent food. The family make their own wine on the estate, we tried the red - it was wonderful - so much so we bought a case to take home. The room we stayed in was large, it had a separate sitting room. Todi is a lovely town to visit. You can't not stay here - fabulous.

    • Stayed: July 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank CountryWhey
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 September 2013

    A great welcome at this beautifully located hill top hotel, with 360 degree views towards the nearby town of Todi and the surrounding Umbrian countryside. Friendly staff, comfortable albeit slightly dark/classic Italian bedrooms, and a well positioned outdoor swimming pool.

    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank MrRoutemaster
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 September 2013

    The location of this small hilltop relais is truly marvelous. If you love a view, and adore imagining what it must have been like hundreds of years ago to be living in such a place, this is a 5 star location.

    Overall the experience was marred by a few less-than-friendly interactions with staff, and a truly horrendous experience at the restaurant when, after the kitchen was done cooking for the night it began to burn trash in the fireplace it had just been using to cook our dinners in, including plastic! We couldn't believe our eyes and we later smelled the stench of incinerated plastic in our room. We wondered how the next days' grilled items would taste with residual plastic incinerations burning along with the wood or charcoal... We felt extra grateful that we had opted to stay inside and not dine outside and we wondered why the outside diners didn't complain. Later we found out that the wind was blowing in the direction of our room!


    We booked the suite on the top floor but a regular room would have been just as well as the suite consisted of an adjacent large room with a couch and a window and we just didn't need it.

    Could not get the a/c to work but thankfully we were able to achieve a strong cross-wind by leaving the bathroom window open and propping the door open. (We also couldn't get the remote to work on the TV; seems that the batteries were dead?)

    Once I put the perfume diffuser in the closet, and opened the window, the air quality improved. The structure appears to suffer from mildew or poor air circulation as we noticed perfume diffusers everywhere.

    I was delighted to be sleeping on linen sheets, so hard to come by these days.

    The products were very basic and unremarkable which is stunning since they display a price list of their own cream's and products in the room and which they feature in the spa; why they don't use these as samplers is beyond my comprehension.

    We arrived at around 9pm and had reserved at the restaurant. We were seated and shown the menu which had as a special a fish menu (it was Friday), which we opted out of after having asked the waitress the provenance of the fish and she quipped that it came from the sea right below us. I think she meant to be funny but, as we come from a seaside city, the question was serious and we didn't get the factual response that we had requested. That was enough to direct our choices to non-seafood.

    Again we were amazed when ordering the wine, and asking what types of wines were on the not very varied list, the 'sommelier' didn't know, for sure; he hazarded guesses about the types of grapes composing the wine. When we saw the prosecco glasses on the table, we expected to be offered something to begin, perhaps something produced on the adjacent grounds, but we were not. When the man came to show us the wines, he directed our attention to the cantina of the relais, but why they do not choose to showcase their offerings by offering it tableside to their guests is difficult to comprehend. We ordered a non-relais-produced wine which was very nice, but too warm (it was a red), again quite strange as they must have a proper cellar in the relais.

    For starters, we ordered the flans; mine of peas my husband's of leek and zucchini topped with bacon.

    One of the BEST things I have ever eaten in my entire life was that bacon! It was EXQUISITE and was worth the entire trip, the burning garbage, the warm wine. I would return tomorrow for that bacon.

    The flans were not at all remarkable, and in fact I almost sent mine back because I detected a taste of "gone bad". My bad; peas are way out of season; what was I thinking of? But what were they thinking of too!

    Next we ordered a pasta; mine was the flour and water pasta ombrettine or a similar name; OK but no raving; my husband's I can't even remember. He then had cheese; unremarkable, and I had the brasato di guanciale, with pureè. Being guanciale, which should melt in one's mouth, it was tough, stringy and seemed, again, as if the meat had been prepared days prior, put in a refrigerator, then warmed up in the wine sauce for serving. Or worse; maybe it was microwaved! That could explain the toughening of the guanciale.

    In reviews I had read prior to booking the accommodation and restaurant, I saw that there were
    mixed reviews about the quality of the food, and something about a michelin star.

    If this restuarant has a Michelin star then something must be amiss in stardom.

    Sitting after dinner as the rooms emptied out, sipping our now proper-temperature wine, we concluded that the only really good thing we had eaten was the bacon, the rest was very unremarkable.

    Then I noticed a lot of activity near the fireplace; first the odd piece of brown paper went in the fire, then a paper egg carton, the next thing I knew I saw the assistant chef taking the entire waste basket and, oh so delicately, removing items bit by bit (as opposed to brutally dumping the entire content of the wastebasket in one fell swoop) fed the fire; paper products, a piece of plastic, some more plastic wrapping, wait is that a plastic bottle of water he is throwing in there? As so the fire blazed and the garbage was incinerated, there where someone's chianina had just been grilling, where the seafood special had recently been removed.

    We were really grossed out by this and we also felt that we were patronizing an establishment that practiced unhealthy and environmentally damaging practices. The fact that this was being perpetrated in one of the most beautiful areas in Umbria only made us feel worse.

    I have read other reviews complaining about the paltry breakfast. Allow me to say that the breakfast spread was absolutely on par with any 5 star hotel I have stayed in, and that the selection of freshly baked cakes was nothing short of fabulous. The tarts had amazingly delicious jams, probably from the relais' production, though this was not being touted. There were boiled eggs and fresh eggs that one could boil oneself and I'll bet they were fresh from the relais' azienda. I didn't try them though.

    Another comment about breakfast which is served on the eastern sunny side of the relais; cut the shrubs! The room is completely windowed and once standing one can see the glorious panorama but seated, the panorama disappears behind too-high shrubs; what are those shrubs supposed to become? Trees? Cut them down and let the panorama in.

    Finally a note on the staff we interacted with; we had interactions with 7 different people; 3 in the restaurant, 2 in reception and two bag handlers. Apart from the very nice woman who received us and showed us to our room, and the two young bag handlers, the woman who directed us to a table at breakfast was imperious, as was the woman who checked us out. As in, somewhat bossy, as in "showing us who was in charge", some type of 'aggression' we did not understand, but which we both noted. We talked about it later in the car and were trying to figure out if it was an Umbrian thing. Not a warm, welcoming departure, though the arrival was surely very pleasant and welcoming. People we know who live in Tuscany say the people there are really tough; maybe this is true for Umbrian's too?

    Advice to the management: Showcase your products and use them in the rooms. Offer a drop of your wines and olive oils. We didn't buy anything because we didn't see anything to buy and didn't feel encouraged to ask but we surely would have done so with just a minimum amount of effort. We had an empty car and were going home!

    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank melanieag
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Francesco_Ambrogi, Responsabile reception at Relais Todini, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

    Dear Madam,
    we are really dismayed to hear that you had such a horrible stay as no word was made after dinner with the colleagues of the restaurant or at the reception when you checked out, in your place I would have complained and probably I had left the same evening!
    Your accusations are very serious so please allow us to respond firmly to what appears to be an untruestatement: what you saw burning in the fireplace of our kitchen were scraps of paper and cardboard, to stoke up the fire and have more coal for cooking meat (practice commonly adopted both in Umbria and in the rest of the world), just to avoid the use of chemicals usually chosen to light the fire.
    We just find out now on Tripadvisor that internet was not working regularly since no other guests complained about it during the same time (we had 8 more rooms occupied) and that air conditioning didn’t work ( but only in your room as none of the 8 rooms had similar problems). Each room has a telecontrol (daily checked by the chambermaids) and an information leaflet for the air conditioning use, in case of problems you could contact the reception but we haven’t been informed about it!
    The perfume diffuser, as you called it, is a French fragrance, with the only aim to make more pleasant the entry, and not for balancing the poor air circulation; each room has got at least one window, and in your case having a suite with two rooms, you had two windows.
    Our SPA products come from our vineyards and are exclusively made for the Wellness Center regarding the courtesy products in the rooms we adopt a high quality designer line as in the vast majority of the hotels.
    Dinner: because of your ironic tone, and being Umbria a region far from the sea, the waitress interpreted your question as a joke, anyway you received a serious answer by the Maitre who said that we use only very fresh fish for the Friday night menu, fished in the Adriatic Sea and delivered the same day and anyway,the suggestion has been discarded, as well as the "house-wines" produced in the 600 hectares estate of the Relais, where we mostly grow typical grape varieties of our region like Sangiovese and Grechetto; by the way our wine production is appreciated allover Italy as well as locally.
    Beside that we also have a small selection of Italian wines (both white and red) that offer a wide and various choice.
    Moreover red wines are kept at a controlled temperature of 16/18 degrees Celsius, but you preferred a 7years old red (Barbera) much colder, since the decanter was literally immersed in the ice.
    The dishes you have chosen are some of the most appreciated of our kitchen and we are surprised and disappointed that they have not been praised as always happens, we will try to do better, but we noticed that,it seemed like your prerogative to discard everything we tried to suggest.
    Thank you for noticing that our breakfast is equivalent to a 5-star Relais and there are varieties of sweet and savory dishes, homemade cakes, (cheese flavoured with grape, olives and walnuts), cold cuts and eggs ready for boiling to satisfy the palate of our guests, and with regard to the "savages" bushes , we have a landscape that takes care of the outside area and it is the first time that we are asked to note the height of our plants, it depends on personal preferences , maybe at home you prefer to have a small bush, may be depends on the little green thumb, but what about our gardens, as mentioned, we rely on graduates professionals with many years of experience and not a gardener do-it-yourself. As you know in the outdoor area there are tables with panoramic view as well as in the breakfast room and you could certainly sit right in that area enjoying the 360 degree panorama, breakfast staff would set up a table outdoor if required.
    Our staff receives and responds to customers’ needs and usually they are not found rudes, in this case at the reception just asked, as always at the check-out, if there were consumption of the private bar and if you wanted receipt or invoice.
    She then asked if your holiday was going to continue or not, and since there were no questions or complains from you, the conversation was over and we’re really taken aback by your review.
    The Relais, like any other place, can meet or less tastes of its guests, our aim is to give a unique, enjoy able and relaxing stay, and if we failed, we regret but we are anyway sure of our actions, of our professionalism and of our morality and for these reasons we can’t give stays to someone who criticizes us for some kind of dark interest.
    Regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews