We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the little things”
Review of La Torriola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Torriola
Ranked #10 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Todi
South Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just the little things”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

La Torriola and its fine host Mauizio offer so much but when you have travelled a long distance it is the little things that can make such a difference.
For a self catering long stay ie a week or more you expect to buy most of your requirements but for a shorter stay it is frustrating to have to buy soap, tea, sugar, salt & pepper, tissues etc. I would rather pay more and have these essentials included. The magnificent canaloni and Lasagne given us on arrival with one of Maurizzio's own wines was a lovely touch.
It is a great location a short distance from Todi but in a delightful rural setting. We made it our base and undertook day drives to many of the nearby villages, great eating and good wine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torriola, Owner at La Torriola, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
I understand Craig's point of view and agree with it. La Torriola could not be the ideal place for guests travelling for short periods, from a hotel to another (Craig has been making a tour through Turkey, Italy, France, England, Scotland). I have a contract with Craig's travel agent, who made all the bookings for him, and knows everything about my property: maybe there has been a little misunderstanding between them. But this has been a good lesson for me, and I am thankful to Craig: in the future I'll provide all those small things to the guests staying here for a short period
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My partner and I spent a week at Torriola. We were charmed by the beauty of the setting from the time of our arrival till our last day. Set nestled in the heart of the Umbrian countryside the villa is everything and more of what you could ever imagine. While the villa is secluded you can reach the town of Todi within 10 mins. Todi is well worth a visit and has some lovely restaurants for you to choose from or if you want to there is a supermarket close by to obtain supplies.

While the weather did'nt allow us the opportunity to use the pool the location of the villa was perfect for day trips to towns within the region, being in the centre of Umbria.

The owner (Maurizio) was a perfect host and very helpful with tips of places to visit and things to do.

We hope to visit again and would highly recommend the place whether you just want to unwind or use it as a base for visiting the wider area.

Only tip....you may need a 4x4 as access to villa is not great. Our hire car (fiat punto) did'nt cope well with the drive to and drom the villa but caused great amusement.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torriola, Proprietario at La Torriola, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your nice words, you are very kind. It has been a pleasure to host such nice people.
Regarding your tip about the conditions of the road you are quite right. I myself could say even worse: during your stay the road was really awful! But it happened that in the previous 6 weeks there had been a series of showers and storms that made holes and furrows. Last week, as soon as the weather allowed it, we made a complete restoration. The road now is flat and comfortable as usual, so that any car can ride on it (our neighbor has an Audi TT...).
A special discount of 20% on your next stay at La Torriola will reward your patience and tolerance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was a perfect place to unwind after a busy day of sightseeing. The grounds are beautiful and the accommodations are all we could want. We wanted to feel part of Italy and that is exactly how we felt. Maurizio was very gracious and very attentive to our needs. We enjoyed his wine, Grandma's cake, and honey, oil. We certainly felt special.There is so much to see and do in the area. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarisaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

La Torriola is an amazingly beautiful place outside of all of life's bustle. Maurizio is a kind and attentive host. If you're looking for a place with picture perfect views and breathtaking scenery - this is the place to go. I was so entranced by the beauty I didn't feel the need to leave the grounds except to go get some groceries.
If you want the best view request the Il Papavero apartment. I could spend my life on the balcony there.
The fresh produce is wonderful and the apartment has all the comforts of home.

Room Tip: Il Papavero is the room with a view - to say the least. The balcony (and the bedroom) face east and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artistmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Maurizio is a kind and generous host, and offers a wealth of knowledge on Todi and the surrounding area. The property is in a peaceful rural location with wonderful views in all directions. The accommodation was excellent for our family of 5 -- 3 adults and 2 grown children (19 and 21). Beautifully designed and well equipped for self-catering. Great environment for indoor/outdoor living, our morning and evening walks around the property marked a very pleasant start and finish to each day. The basket of fresh food on arrival was delightful and most enjoyable. While Todi is a great tourist destination, be sure to visit the very charming town of Monte Castello di Vibeo nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXRunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Very nice, comfortable accommodation. Property located in the peace and quiet of Umbrian hills. Friendly owner with lots of advice about the surrounding area including visits to Todi. Really enjoyed Grandma's cake and the produce we received on arrival - oil, eggs, coffee etc.

Unforgettable experience cooking with chef Flavia Bi at Hosteria Mattta (the mad inn) nearby where we prepared our dinner for 4 hours and spent another 4 eating it, sampling various wines and so on. Fantastic. A real memory. Todi is a beautiful hill-top town well worth a visit or two.

Nothing negative about this property, the staff or the location. Just one minor point - as we travelled slightly before the main holiday season the property was quiet. We enjoyed the peace and quiet but it meant certain facilities weren't usable, such as the pizza oven outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burton90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We have just arrived home from a 1 weeks stay @ La Torriola.
The standard accomodation which I thought I had booked was a very pleasant surprise.
Not only was the accomodation very clean the views of Todi (a local village) were breathtaking. BBQ area, pool, hot tub what more can you ask for. If your looking for a tranquil location this has got to be it. Mauritzio and his wife Annamaria were delightful hosts. I would definitely recommend to all my friends & family.. Hoping to go back with friends next year..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todi hotels
6.8 mi away
Agriturismo Casale dei Frontini
6.2 mi away
Case Corboli
Case Corboli
#7 of 45 in Todi
38 reviews
5.1 mi away
Il Donnarita
Il Donnarita
#21 of 45 in Todi
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Torre Sangiovanni Albergo e Ristorante
2.2 mi away
Relais Todini
Relais Todini
#1 of 17 in Todi
291 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Bramante
Hotel Bramante
#7 of 17 in Todi
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torriola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torriola

Property: La Torriola
Address: Vocabolo Pian di San Martino 1, 06059, Todi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Todi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Todi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — La Torriola 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid country villa in Umbria,quite near Todi,tailor-made for your comfort and tranquility:only 5 charming self catering apartments,for 4 and 2 people,in a 16 acres secluded property with own production of wine and extra virgin olive oil, using the natural methods and enthusiasm of yesteryear.An organic kitchengarden is available for guests.The villa has pool,hot tube, garden with patio, barbecue, play corner for kids,pingpong, soccer table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Torriola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing