We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did I stay in another hotel?”
Review of Club Hotel La Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Hotel La Vela
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Torbole
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were booked into the Club Hotel La Vela by the tour company, whose trip also involved three other hotels for overnights, all greatly superior to La Vela. When we entered the entered our room it smelt of nicotine and mustiness which permeated the bedding and the wardrobe paricularly. The room was too small for two persons, black scuff marks on the walls and plaster had been knocked a wall corner. We complained, but there was no other room avaliable. The hotel's solution was to change all the bedding and keep the door and the balcony door open and air fresheners. The first night we got stuck in the slow, antiquated lift, which we did not trust; my partner (who has slight mobility problems) and I used the stairs to the 3rd floor. I had read the reviews before our holiday and challenged the hoiliday company, who assured me that the hotel had been inspected recently and also rely on coach drivers' (?) reports. There was no room service, no laundry - how can this hotel justify 4 stars? Judging by some reviews on this place, I must have been at another hotel..

Room Tip: If you have to stay in this hotel, ask for the annex.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bob_mcloughlin4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Club Hotel La Vela
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel from the 25th April to the 30th April 2014 and our room was well furnished and very clean. The food in the restaurant was very good with plenty of variety and the staff were friendly and attentive. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: The annexe is a newer building and therefore more up to date i.e. Shower cubicles are slightly large...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very nicely and conveniently located hotel with great swimming pool in short distance from the beach. Staff is friendly, breakfast is great. The only one thing - wifi doesn't work in rooms - only in lounge. Has own parking.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariaSHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 8 nights end of sept/oct with 45 other people who had booked a tour with a certain company who in their wisdom put us up in this hotel. Room on 1st floor where until midnight every night had to listen to chairs being scraped across dining room floor whilst they cleaned the room, kept me awake most nights. Cannot complain about state of room as was clean all be it small, unlike other members of the group, plenty of storage twin beds not double but will push together and make up as a double if asked, large balcony. As others have stated small shower but i coped and even managed to wash my feet. BBC world news only english channel on TV. Noisy water pipes and from other rooms woken up different times through night from people flushing toilets or having showers.
Reception staff friendly which is more than can be said about bar and restaurant staff, there wasn't enough of them for amount of guests the barman doubling up as a waiter or table clearer sometimes taking ages to get a drink at the bar because he kept disappearing. Breakfast not of a 4*, bacon was more like heated sliced ham, scrambled egg look like it was made from powdered eggs very unappetising so it was a bowl of tinned fruit, yoghurt and honey for me every morning not keen on the meats and cheese, there are croissants but no cake or brioches.
We had to sit at a certain set of tables every night after 2nd night we didn't have to ask for water a carafe was put on table before we sat down. But noticing other tables apart from our group were getting carafes of wine every night ??? Evening meals consisted of a pasta dish under cover, hot and a couple more dishes of pasta lukewarm a meat either pork or chicken a fish dish and vegetables, salad bar and a few puddings same old cake or blancmange type puddings. We ate out one night when choice was horrible. Plates took ages to be cleared off table our groups anyway. I must say one thing though the lady sitting at my table was on a gluten free diet they did make her a very large toasted bun every morning and pasta in tomato sauce every night until i suggested they cook the fish or meat without the sauce and gravy for her to give her a change, but even then she felt awkward having to ask every day even though they knew she was there for 8 nights.
No lounge to sit in only bar with tables and chairs no sofas or comfy chairs in an area to relax in, wifi is free but you have to sit in the bar to get it and then its hit and miss we couldn't get on internet unless we sat by the main entrance door. There is only one lift quicker to go up stairs sometimes long queues. Didn't use pool area so cannot comment. No entertainment whatsoever provided by hotel.
From Hotel its a short walk through park gates to beach or further round through the very small town of Torbole with some lovely restaurants and shops, took about 45 mins to walk along beach to Riva pretty town. There are water taxis to take you around lake timetable for these or buses can be got from hotel reception. There is a Co op supermarket more or less next to hotel.
We had a fantastic holiday/tour Lake Garda is so pretty and so is Torbole and thankfully only had to use hotel to sleep in as there is no way this is a 4* maybe a 2* and would never pay to stay here again but have not let it spoil an otherwise fantastic holiday, just hope tour operator thinks twice about sending guests there again.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the first floor, noise from dining room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PandaSue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Trying to shower in a 26" box, is not something I would recommend, impossible to bend and touch your toes, never mind wash them, and the fixed showerhead means if you want to wash your private bits, it is best to take a sponge, unless you have access to a small ladder. If you are from the UK it is advisable to take a travel kettle for your morning or nighttimes cup of tea or coffee. Also required is an AC 250V Italy Plug to US UK AU EU Socket Travel Adapter, as the 3 pin Italian sockets are smaller than the standard EU ones. the hotel rooms were OK, and they have changed to a help you self at meal times in the restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 604 in the annex with our balcony overlookin the pool
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 442Ronniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed in this excuse of a hotel for a week book via the Travel Department who should be ashamed to let people pay out big money to stay here.

The hotel was old dirty with the sink in the room cracked. The bed lined was not changed for the week, the bed spreads had stains on them and holes in the curtains.

The Breakfast was ok what one expects on the continent. The Dinner which was included was poor the so called hot food was barely luke warn and no staff on in the dining room faulty towers at its best.

Has to be one of the worst hotels I have even set foot in and would not recommend this place to any one and it should be visited by hotel and health inspectors.

I know and knew when booking a four star in Italy would not be the same as a four star in Ireland but my god this place took the biscuit.

Avoid this place at all costs if you want to enjoy your holiday

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank buletide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

spent 8 days at this so called 4 star hotel Sept/Oct this year. The food was poor in the extreme, overcooked or undercooked and the staff were totally indifferent to complaints.The room was small, cleaned occasionally and the the shower was so small that it was impossible to bend down to wash ones feet.The cracked wash basin added little to the ambience.There is no lounge and the bar offers little in the way of welcome. The barman is offhand and slow bordering on rudeness. The dining room is too small for the number guests and used crockery is not cleared . I coiuld not recommend this hotel to anyone/.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torbole hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel
Hotel Caravel
#7 of 33 in Torbole
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Mondo Hotel
Piccolo Mondo Hotel
#8 of 33 in Torbole
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Torbole
Hotel Residence Torbole
#5 of 33 in Torbole
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santoni Freelosophy
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#32 of 33 in Torbole
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lido Blu Surf & Bike
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel La Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel La Vela

Address: Strada Granda 2, 38069 Torbole, Nago-Torbole, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Nago-Torbole > Torbole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torbole
Price Range: £74 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Hotel La Vela 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing and friendly atmosphere, a welcoming hotel to spend your holidays. Discover the pleasure of spending time with your family, because Club Hotel La Vela answers all your needs in terms of relaxation and fun, thanks to our smooth operation and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Hotel La Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Vela
La Vela Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing